$110 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
View map of 600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Billiam jack
Business
New Orleans
Dec 17, 2012

Great hotel

This was a great value hotel. The rooms were clean and very large. I got a room for myself and one for my girlfriend and we were both surprised to find that they both had living rooms. The only complaint is that if you are planning to walk to the French quarter and especially the French market it provides exercise that may not be enjoyable for all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Renee
Business
Colorado
Dec 8, 2012

Perfect for business trip combined with vacation

The location of this hotel is really fantastic. It is located conveniently in the central business district, but is a short walk from pretty much everything you would want to do in New Orleans: the French Quarter, the Warehouse District, and superdome. It is also very close to the medical center, which made it ideal for my trip. It is an older hotel and is quite charming, but don't expect more modern amenities like a pool. They have wireless internet for a small cost, but because it is an old building, it can take some finesse to get a signal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mister Mo
Business
Dallas, TX
Nov 23, 2012

nice quiet get away

Perks are the location and the value and the Louisiana charm of the hotel. Downsides are the parking is $31/day or go find a lot. And that check in time isn't until 4pm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

This place is right on the street car/bus route so you can get to and downtown all day for $3!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WhoDat from the Nati
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 13, 2012

Nawleans: for Saints game, this is The Spot

Only bad part of our trip was the shuttle to the hotel, paid the round trip deal and waited in the bus in front of the airport for literally an hour before departing to hotel, which sucked since we got in at midnight. Got to hotel at about 120am. The guy working the front desk (sorry I missed his name) was about as nice as you could get. Super location for a Saints game and a short 10 minute walk to French Quarter or the river. I liked being a little out of the way in order to avoid any real loud partying all night. Only drawback is that there is not much night life close to the hotel, but we walked up to Harrah's (since Manning's had an hour wait) Sunday after the game to watch other football, and walked back perfectly safe at about 11pm. This hotel is older, but I slept like a log. Pillows were actually surprisingly comfortable. I didn't come to Nawleans to stay in a hotel, so this was perfect for us...sleep at night, get up early do some walking tours all day and night on Saturday, Saints game on Sunday, sleep at night, airport shuttle picked us up early Monday 515am. WHo Dat! Can't wait to get back to Nawleans next year for another game and will DEFINITELY stay at the Lafayette.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the Superdome. Short walk to French Quarter. Away from the madness of the French Quarter. Safe walk back at night from French Quarter and also from dining at Harrah's on Sunday night after the game....(it was "early" about 9pm but still safe). It is a city, so be aware of your surroundings, but this place is lovely and can't wait to do it again!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MRGRFN
Business
St. Louis, MO
Sep 8, 2012

Really good deal

The front staff made the stay worth while. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gregonbass
Business
Md.
Aug 17, 2012

Quaint, convienient

Staff was helpful, location close to downtown, and french quarters, wi-fi was pitiful though. no microwave, no refrigirator....parking I on-street, or in their lot around corner for a fee...ok for short term visit, 2-3 days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
utlb44
Business
dallas, texas
Jul 23, 2012

good place to stay

The hotel was a good stay and the rooms where clean! I really loved the location because it made it a very easy walk to look around and hit the main spots! The price was good for the hot.el and the stay! The only thing that sucked was the parking! $31 a night is just way to expensive. It is almost as high as staying at the Ritz and they are a 5 star hotel! They really need to come down but other than that, the place was great and I wouldn't mind staying again but would Def take a taxi and not drive this time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to jimmy's for breakfast and get the French toast Monte cristo! Best breakfast hands down

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
valvolunteer
Business
Suwanee, GA, USA
Mar 31, 2012

one night stay

hot water, comfortable bed, spacious room. no breakfast served, had to walk to find somewhere for breakfast. Dining room dosn't open untill lunch time. Be aware, parking is not free! $29-00 per night! No pool, no lounge to sit in. Upstairs hallways smelled foisty. Location, great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

tram line stop right outside the hotel. $3.00 for an all day pass. Can also be used for the buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
skinny69
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 26, 2012

watch out for hidden fees...

front desk was rude. 31 dollars per night parking was a suprize. they wanted 5 dollars per night for wifi. room smelled funky. over all just a dump.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

dont go to new orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brosemama
Business
Park City, UT, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Nice hotel for the money

Large rooms, good housekeeping services and friendly staff. Parking was a bit sketchy....Valet service was short handed or non-existent but front desk happily retrieved our car or let us park in front of the hotel for a couple of hours. No coffee pot in our coffee maker but we weren't bothered by that...maybe someone else would want to fix lousy coffee in their room instead of drinking great New Orleans coffee down the street but not us! Hotel is conveniently located to the Quarter and the access to the freeway was about 5 blocks away. I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top