$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
View map of 600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andy M.
Couples
bellaire
Feb 4, 2015

Close and more affordable

Convenient location with a 10-15 minute walk to all major tourist areas. Parking is expensive but there are lots close by that are cheaper to keep your car overnight. Room is a good size, very clean with a nice bathroom. The only thing I would've liked are more comfortable pillows (too soft) and a bed comforter (sheets/blankets were thin).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Abbey B.
Friends
Mandeville
Jan 14, 2015

Great Stay

It was a good value for the price. I very much enjoyed my stay. The location is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shopaholic Florida
Couples
Ireland
Oct 13, 2014

Don't hesitate to book

Excellent experience in hotel. Wi Fi a bit slow but otherwise top class . No breakfast so bear in mind coffee bar very near.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dine in hotel the food was superb. Also cable car stops outside. 3 dollars for day pass brilliant runs until 3am hrs

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keoni Meli
Business
Guelph, Ontario
Aug 9, 2014

Good Place to Stay Just Outside the French Quarter

The hotel is undergoing renovations and in the future it will be even better. Most of the staff were extremely helpful and the manager did everything she could to accommodate my "business" (academic) needs while I was there. They are planning to improve computer access but due to construction there was no access in many of the rooms and there was only one public computer in the mezzanine. Luckily, most travelers were there as tourists and only needed to use the computer for printing out air tickets. I very much enjoyed my super spacious suite and having so much room allowed me to really get a lot of work done, reading and writing. I was there for an academic conference. While the hotel is a bit far away from the core of the French Quarter for anyone who is not used to walking I found the walk refreshing after several hours of intense work. Daisey Duke cafe' has a breakfast special before 9:00. It must be one of the safest cafe's in town because I often saw many police officers eating there! All in all I would recommend anyone who does not need five star treatment to go to this excellent 3 1/2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Museum downtown is very helpful. They had a special free seminar on Satchmo and I thoroughly enjoyed listening to several excellent presentations about jazz in general and New Orleans style jazz in particular. Look for similar free events at the Museum, where the permanent display has interesting information about the mint.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig Pleased Traveler
Couples
Craig Lightcap Palestine Texas
Jul 30, 2014

Great Location

We were very pleased with our stay at the Lafayette Hotel. Friendly Staff, Clean & Comfortable rooms, with a GREAT location to the French Quarter. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend Mothers restaurant for REAL Cajun food for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CalTex Gal
Business
San antonio
Jul 10, 2014

Great Experience for the value!

Had to travel to New Orleans for hearing at the Appeals Court. Great 5 min walk to courthouse and cute coffee house just around the corner. The staff was very courteous and very attentive. The restaurant and bar were under renovation but both looked very inviting with great New Orleans ambiance. Friends from New Orleans stayed the night too and had never heard of this hidden gem. They had a nice suite which was situated between the two elevator bays...no noise surprisingly. I was impressed. I had a double room on the street, 4th floor. There was noise from the street cars below, but it didn't bother me too much, and if you are coming from another city, city noise was low. I live in a quiet area, so next time will request room on backside of hotel. The rooms had character but bathroom was a little worn, grout was missing around bathroom faucets...no biggie. Carpets and bedding was very clean and not worn. Will definitely book again. Easy walk to Bourbon Street and French Quarter. Not as fancy as Lowe's but super great for value. I would stay again!!!! Cute restaurants across the street. had after dinner drinks at one, cheese platter was awesome but service was terrible. Nice area with nice little restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Great find, if you aren't a hotel snob. Only stayed for one night and only spent time there sleeping and showering. Who wants to stay in a hotel room when there is so much to do and see in New Orleans.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SaraSara22
Business
New York,NY
Jun 4, 2014

A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place I was interviewing with. The staff was very nice and we had a chat about NYC. They were extremely attentive. The room was beautiful and I'm so glad that I stayed there. Checkout was easy and they even gave me great directions to my interview.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs. Charlie
Single
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 10, 2014

So much potential

The staff was very friendly. This is a beautiful building that needs attention to detail. I was concern that the upholstery showed old stains, the blanket between the sheets had an old stain too and a small hole. The lamps were nice but one was cracked and one electrical outlet was coming off the wall. Even the beautiful antique dresser in the hallway was missing a handle. It was clean but those details made me uncomfortable. The entrance was not well care for . If they can fix these details it would make a huge difference. Building is from 1916 not well insulated for noise. TV had a really bad connection in half of the channels. --Location was great, staff was great, price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Find the Trolley routes and enjoy the ride, it's cheap, picturesque and it goes to lots of places.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazy4swayze
Couples
philadelphia, pa
Mar 20, 2014

great location, friendly staff

we were looking to stay near the french quarter but not in it. this hotel was nice, cleanly and staffed with friendly people who were happy to provide good recommendations. most importantly, it was a short walk to the french quarter and a reasonable walk to magazine street and the garden district. to go anywhere else, it was easy to grab a cab or hop on the street car that stopped right out front. the only drawback was that at times the street car could be a little loud and you could hear it from the hotel room. but it didn't keep us up at night. i would definitely recommend the lafayette hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mother's next door is a nearby restaurant with amazing creole food- crawfish, grits, po boys, jambalaya....we had a meal there 3 out of the 5 days we stayed in new orleans.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mchancie
Couples
New Orleans, Louisana
Mar 7, 2014

Wasn't what I expected

Not so great. The rooms are small and out of date badly. The tv did not work at all. The room kept making strange sounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top