$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

The Lafayette Hotel

3 stars
600 St. Charles Ave., New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
95 reviews
A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place... See full review

  • SaraSara22
  • Jun 4, 2014
Great get away

the staff were all personable and very helpful as to what to see and how to get there. See full review

  • jersey shore
  • Apr 19, 2014
Top amenities and services easy for historic New Orleans’ arts district

The Lafayette Hotel provides guests with immediate and convenient access to Lafayette Square in New Orleans.  The Lafayette Hotel is perfectly positioned as a base for exploration of many of the top sights in New Orleans. It is also a quiet romantic retreat, complete with all the comforts of top class amenities and hotel services.  There is hardly a better place from which to discover the real New Orleans.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • Excellent location for historic New Orleans' attractions, convenient for the world renowned streetcar line
  • Top class amenities and the best in world class service
  • Splendid landmark hotel with restored historic features and a signature restaurant
The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

In each of the 44 rooms and suites, guests at the Lafayette Hotel in New Orleans can delight in the best of hotel amenities and luxuries, in surroundings that have been carefully restored from original historic furnishings. Wireless Internet access is available for a fee, and the hotel rooms are equipped with everything that guests have come to expect from such world class accommodation, including access to Mike's on the Avenue; which serves a contemporary cuisine with a breadth of influences from New Orleans' culinary traditions. 

Things To Do
  • Lafayette Square (0.04 mi/0.1 km)
  • Wyndham Riverfront  (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • French Quarter New Orleans  (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • New Orleans Superdome  (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Convention Center New Orleans  (0.9 mi/1.4 km)

 

Hotel Map

29.9483 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
Louis Armstron Intl APO -MSY- 12mi/Lakefront APO -NEW- 9mi
Area description
Located on fashionable St Charles Avenue

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Lafayette Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

The Lafayette Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Guest room with one king size bed.

Amenities

General
Concierge
Pet friendly
Dining
Restaurant

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.8 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.3 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.5 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.4 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for The Lafayette Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KentuckyBasketballFans
Montgomery, TX
Mar 11, 2012

Walk Everywhere from Here

Efficient, caring staff. Clean, elegant rooms. We could only book one night on-line but another night was available once we arrived. Lovely colonial hotel located within walking distance to many popular sites. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to many local attractions, the arena and Superdome.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keoni Meli
Business
Guelph, Ontario
Aug 9, 2014

Good Place to Stay Just Outside the French Quarter

The hotel is undergoing renovations and in the future it will be even better. Most of the staff were extremely helpful and the manager did everything she could to accommodate my "business" (academic) needs while I was there. They are planning to improve computer access but due to construction there was no access in many of the rooms and there was only one public computer in the mezzanine. Luckily, most travelers were there as tourists and only needed to use the computer for printing out air tickets. I very much enjoyed my super spacious suite and having so much room allowed me to really get a lot of work done, reading and writing. I was there for an academic conference. While the hotel is a bit far away from the core of the French Quarter for anyone who is not used to walking I found the walk refreshing after several hours of intense work. Daisey Duke cafe' has a breakfast special before 9:00. It must be one of the safest cafe's in town because I often saw many police officers eating there! All in all I would recommend anyone who does not need five star treatment to go to this excellent 3 1/2 star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Museum downtown is very helpful. They had a special free seminar on Satchmo and I thoroughly enjoyed listening to several excellent presentations about jazz in general and New Orleans style jazz in particular. Look for similar free events at the Museum, where the permanent display has interesting information about the mint.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craig Pleased Traveler
Craig Lightcap Palestine Texas
Jul 30, 2014

Great Location

We were very pleased with our stay at the Lafayette Hotel. Friendly Staff, Clean & Comfortable rooms, with a GREAT location to the French Quarter. We will stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend Mothers restaurant for REAL Cajun food for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CalTex Gal
Business
San antonio
Jul 10, 2014

Great Experience for the value!

Had to travel to New Orleans for hearing at the Appeals Court. Great 5 min walk to courthouse and cute coffee house just around the corner. The staff was very courteous and very attentive. The restaurant and bar were under renovation but both looked very inviting with great New Orleans ambiance. Friends from New Orleans stayed the night too and had never heard of this hidden gem. They had a nice suite which was situated between the two elevator bays...no noise surprisingly. I was impressed. I had a double room on the street, 4th floor. There was noise from the street cars below, but it didn't bother me too much, and if you are coming from another city, city noise was low. I live in a quiet area, so next time will request room on backside of hotel. The rooms had character but bathroom was a little worn, grout was missing around bathroom faucets...no biggie. Carpets and bedding was very clean and not worn. Will definitely book again. Easy walk to Bourbon Street and French Quarter. Not as fancy as Lowe's but super great for value. I would stay again!!!! Cute restaurants across the street. had after dinner drinks at one, cheese platter was awesome but service was terrible. Nice area with nice little restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Great find, if you aren't a hotel snob. Only stayed for one night and only spent time there sleeping and showering. Who wants to stay in a hotel room when there is so much to do and see in New Orleans.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SaraSara22
Business
New York,NY
Jun 4, 2014

A great time

The Lafayette Hotel was beautiful nestled in the business District. It was very close to the place I was interviewing with. The staff was very nice and we had a chat about NYC. They were extremely attentive. The room was beautiful and I'm so glad that I stayed there. Checkout was easy and they even gave me great directions to my interview.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jersey shore
NJ
Apr 19, 2014

Great get away

the staff were all personable and very helpful as to what to see and how to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mrs. Charlie
Alpharetta, GA
Apr 10, 2014

So much potential

The staff was very friendly. This is a beautiful building that needs attention to detail. I was concern that the upholstery showed old stains, the blanket between the sheets had an old stain too and a small hole. The lamps were nice but one was cracked and one electrical outlet was coming off the wall. Even the beautiful antique dresser in the hallway was missing a handle. It was clean but those details made me uncomfortable. The entrance was not well care for . If they can fix these details it would make a huge difference. Building is from 1916 not well insulated for noise. TV had a really bad connection in half of the channels. --Location was great, staff was great, price was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Find the Trolley routes and enjoy the ride, it's cheap, picturesque and it goes to lots of places.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazy4swayze
philadelphia, pa
Mar 20, 2014

great location, friendly staff

we were looking to stay near the french quarter but not in it. this hotel was nice, cleanly and staffed with friendly people who were happy to provide good recommendations. most importantly, it was a short walk to the french quarter and a reasonable walk to magazine street and the garden district. to go anywhere else, it was easy to grab a cab or hop on the street car that stopped right out front. the only drawback was that at times the street car could be a little loud and you could hear it from the hotel room. but it didn't keep us up at night. i would definitely recommend the lafayette hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mother's next door is a nearby restaurant with amazing creole food- crawfish, grits, po boys, jambalaya....we had a meal there 3 out of the 5 days we stayed in new orleans.

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mchancie
New Orleans, Louisana
Mar 7, 2014

Wasn't what I expected

Not so great. The rooms are small and out of date badly. The tv did not work at all. The room kept making strange sounds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Acme Chef
Niagara Falls, NY
Jan 2, 2014

New Years in Nawlins

The hotel is a beauty. Perfect location to be near, but, not in the middle of everything; ie; the Warehouse District, the French Quarter, the Waterfront and the Canal Street shops. A very nice restaurant, Desi Vega's, on premise, too. But, Herbsaint, Luke and Pesce are all within walking distance. Rouse's Supermarket is also nearby for easy groceries. See the Roosevelt Hotel's Sazerac Bar for libations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The Allways Bar

Review of The Lafayette Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JDA in Norwalk
Monterey, CA, USA
Nov 28, 2013

First time in New Orleans

I was upgraded to a suite! Loved it! Very friendly staff. Great value for the price. I was in walking distance to the French Quarter. Parking is very limited on the street so be prepared to add parking to the cost. Other than that, I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search