$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, new york
Sep 15, 2012

great hotel

this hotel was a great place to get around the areas of New Orleans from. Friendly & Helpful staff. If you need to get around they also offer a bike with lock. Will be back here when i stay in the CBD again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

you can take a streetcar , bus , cheap taxi ride or just walk to the french quater from the hotel

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmh54
Business
Kingsport, TN
Sep 14, 2012

Great Experience Overall

Great experience. The staff was very helpful with recommendations to restaurants and activities. They went above and beyond on personal service. The hotel has a very non-traditional approach to check-in/ check-out procedure. There really isn't a front desk but the staff are always around to answer any questions or help in any way. The one thing I didn't like was that the air conditioning in the room is motion detection activated. So at night while you are still it turns off and can get warm rather quickly. You wake up hot and have to wave an arm or a leg to turn it back on. It is very energy conscious but inefficient cooling system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Duchesne Family
Business
Jackson, MS
Jul 30, 2012

Great for couples looking for a value getaway

We loved this place. It's perfect for a weekend in New Orleans, located right between Uptown and the French Quarter. You can't beat this location in the St. Charles roundabout. Plus, the service is excellent, and the hotel is very charming and unique. If you're looking for a place to crash for a week with the kids, this may not be the place though. The valet parking is $25/night, and the rooms are cozier, so it's really just perfect for a couple on a short stay - with or without a pet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is great food everywhere and plenty of attractions for all people, adults or family.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlatCoatFilms
Business
Middleburg, VA
Jul 19, 2012

Great place

Loved it. So cool that they offer wine when you check in. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jwilly
Business
phila
Jul 9, 2012

a Modern experience

The room was very small hence small room so make sure you booked the appropriate size. Too many items offered at ridicoulous costs especially with a gas station across the street with the same things for much less-overall the experience was fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SRQ Traveller
Business
Sarasota, FL
Jun 20, 2012

Location/Value make up for Staff

Front desk staff - day shift and night shift - need to get on same page. Day staff was friendly whereas the night staff seemed put-off by the slightest thing. We asked three times for a map of the city (once to the concierge and twice to the front desk) and never received it. The continental breakfast is pathetic but for the cost of the room it's standard - Hotel Modern obviously doesn't believe in giving "over-and-above" service all around. The cleaning staff were the best part of the paid staff, in my opinion. If you plan on reserving a room here during the weekend, request a room in the main tower NOT above the bar/restaurant area - the music at the bar is blaring until around 1:30am or so and travels to the rooms above. With the abundance of Hotel choices in the area at the same nightly price as Hotel Modern, I personally would not book another stay in this hotel - I would try my chances with another equally-priced hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amanda05
Business
Stamford, CT
Jun 10, 2012

Great Hotel

Great hotel, a little bit of a walk to canal/burbon st but the street cars run all day and night and an all day pass is only $3! Street car stops right by the hotel so it's very convenient

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you arrive late at night, buy a $3 day pass for the trolly after midnight, head down to Burbon st for the night and the pass won't expire until 4am the next day (28 hrs later)!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lacky
Business
tacoma, washington
Jun 4, 2012

Family wedding

The staff and amenities were fine. Access was difficult and I expected to be closer to the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

stay closer to the French Quarter

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jedah21
Business
Macon, GA
May 29, 2012

Nicely Surprised!

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night and had a great experience. The room was a decent size and the decor was fresh and modern. The bathroom had plenty of space and the linens were as viewed in the picture, nice! Also the hotel is right across from the trolly so you can hop right on it and it'll take you to bourbon street in less than 2 minutes & it comes around every 15 minutes. The service was also good although I would have appreciated the lady that checked me in giving me more information. When I gave her my card for deposit she came back and just handed me the room keys, next time it'd be good if she let me know where the room was and like I saw another employee do give out a map of the city and make sure I didn't have any questions. Just a tip not a big deal though. The concierge was great though and gave some tips of where to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Oceana off of bourbon street had a delicious seafood platter for about $22.00 & enough for 2 to share. Pier 424 on bourbon had great cocktails freshly made not with mixes but it'll cost about $9-10. Deanie's was a disappointment had bland and fishy crawfish etoufee & a long wait.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suling
Business
Mississippi
May 23, 2012

our 6 day stay at this hotel

First of all, this building use to me the old YMCA. The bathroom is so small two adults can not use it at the same time ( 6ft x 4ft), there is almost NO place to put your toiletries and the very small closet has little room to hand cloths for 2. What they call large room is very, very small. The staff was average at best and not very helpful. There is a $25.00 per day charge to valet your car and if you try to park in front of the hotel YOU WILL BE TOWED. There is one very strange restaurant in the hotel, where it is refered to as, FRENCH - VIETNAMESE cuisine, what a JOKE and the prices were ridiculous high. New Orleans is a GREAT city, plan to stay ANYWHERE else to ensure your trip if fun and hassle free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top