$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roadtripper rebel
Business
Around
Sep 29, 2014

Meh

The hotel looked charming on the website, and although it is not too bad when you get there, after the first night we realized it was not a four star hotel. When they made the room, they forgot to take out the trash, restack toilet paper and although we did not ask for new towels (they say they have that green approach), they took our old towels and didn't leave enough in their place. We weren't sure how many nights we'd be staying, but when we wanted to check for availability for another night or two, they said they'd get back to us but didn't. Also, the description in the app says there is a spa, well, there isn't. And parking was very problematic. On the upside, their soaps smell great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DynamicDuo
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 15, 2014

Modern people use irons right?

The Hotel Modern has a welcoming ambience. Scarlet the parrot was a nice touch. Couldn't get towels in middle of the night. There was no iron

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good selections

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike PNS
Business
Pensacola, FL
Sep 4, 2014

Great Labor Day Weekend

Staff at this place are wonderful! Only if other hotels had these type of workers. The hotel is unique and upscale for a very reasonable price. The location was perfect as we could get on the street car out front and in 5 minutes be on canal st. Quiet rooms, low traffic and walking places is no problem. This will be my Favorite hotel to stay in New Orleans for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant is wonderful. Full service with bar. Breakfast was awesome !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Roast
Business
Louisiana
Jun 9, 2014

Great Location

This hotel is located a few blocks away from the noisy French Quarter. The World War II museum is a block away. The historic St. Charles Streetcar line runs right in front of the hotel. $3.00 will get you a day pass on the streetcars that will give you all sorts of options for traveling around the city. The brunch and build your own Bloody Mary bar are great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

WWII Museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carri the travelista
Business
Evansville, IN
Jun 2, 2014

Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was friendly, easy to get around the city from this hotel. My room was in front of the elevator but very quiet. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

20 minute walk to bourbon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middie
Business
Middletown, Ohio
May 9, 2014

Perfect for my short stay.

Location, location, location... This hotel met my travel needs perfectly. Great location! Tivoli and Lee Cafe served me wonderful breakfasts, too. I had a very fine experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a one day trolly pass. For $3 you can travel all over town on New Orleans wonderful trolly system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Love 3
Business
Pensacola, FL
Apr 29, 2014

Very helpful staff

This hotel isn't too far from downtown New Orleans. The street car conveniently stops right by the hotel so it's easy to get downtown. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was kind and more than helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJBranch
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 21, 2014

Great place to stay in New Orleans

Easy access to streetcar. With in walking distance of nice restaurants, nice,clean rooms, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting Tulane U.
Business
New York, New York
Apr 14, 2014

Too expensive for what you get!

The veneer of new, hip decor is as thin as the walls. Cool building, great location, but needs a deeper-level renovation to be as cool as it's trying to be. Not terrible, but minor annoyances (noise, no remote for the tv, no coffee cups in the room the second morning) made it not worth the $250/night I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOLA visitor 2014
Business
San Francisco
Mar 23, 2014

Horrible Experience

I stayed here for 5 nights and had to move to a different room twice! 1st room: Light was emitting a loud buzzing sound, shampoo/conditioner rack was broken so I couldn't squeeze content out (showered the first night w/o shampoo and conditioner). Lastly, found an opened soda bottle in the mini frig!! Gross!!! 2nd room: People next door was loud and inconsiderate. At 1am, they were partying as if it was their own home. I had to wake up early next morning for a conference so I had to call and request to move to another room. Again, packed all my belongings and moved out. 3rd room: Everything was actually good, except the bathroom faucet drain was clogged up. Next time I'm in NOLA, I think I would book something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top