$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 3, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJPWWP
Business
New Orleans, La
Oct 4, 2013

Convenient and comfortable

Nice experience no problems close to the convention center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philosan
Business
Lawrence, Kansas
Oct 5, 2013

Good hotel, little bit far, nice bar

The hotel is nice and clean, everything is neat, but simple. A little bit far away from all the bars and convention center. But there are 2 bars inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MyPointofView
Business
Houston
Oct 5, 2013

Nice hotel in nice location - good value

I enjoyed my stay. The staff is very nice, the hotel is located in a good spot to downtown museums, and the price was right. However they seemed to be going through a management change...while I got there at 9 - room was not ready till 10 because of laundry, towels for my room didn't arrive till 11 one night, and the halls had the same trash in them 3 days in a row. Given that the bar tender was nice, the front desk, helpful and everyone friendly. Also the small room is truely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the World War II and Civil War Museums.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Roast
Business
Louisiana
Jun 9, 2014

Great Location

This hotel is located a few blocks away from the noisy French Quarter. The World War II museum is a block away. The historic St. Charles Streetcar line runs right in front of the hotel. $3.00 will get you a day pass on the streetcars that will give you all sorts of options for traveling around the city. The brunch and build your own Bloody Mary bar are great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

WWII Museum

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC), 210 S Rio Grande St, Salt Lake City, UT 84101-1104, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Great for the price

Hotel is under reno so it was a bit dusty and noisy but the staff was excellent, location was perfect, and the bed was comfy....which was super important after a long night on Burbon. Overall...nice spot and I'd stay again but preferably after the remodel:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a day pass for the cablecar!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middie
Business
Middletown, Ohio
May 9, 2014

Perfect for my short stay.

Location, location, location... This hotel met my travel needs perfectly. Great location! Tivoli and Lee Cafe served me wonderful breakfasts, too. I had a very fine experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a one day trolly pass. For $3 you can travel all over town on New Orleans wonderful trolly system.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike PNS
Business
Pensacola, FL
Sep 4, 2014

Great Labor Day Weekend

Staff at this place are wonderful! Only if other hotels had these type of workers. The hotel is unique and upscale for a very reasonable price. The location was perfect as we could get on the street car out front and in 5 minutes be on canal st. Quiet rooms, low traffic and walking places is no problem. This will be my Favorite hotel to stay in New Orleans for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant is wonderful. Full service with bar. Breakfast was awesome !!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tryler
Business
Sydney, Australia
Nov 6, 2014

Would Happily Stay Longer

The name "Modern" is suitable. I only stayed one night and whilst the room wasn't big it was comfortable and clean. I't didn't have an iron and ironing board which I may have needed for a longer stay but these may be available on request. I appreciated the easy to use coffee maker and adequate number of well place power outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's located right on the border of Uptown and Downtown and very handy to a few museums. It's on the route of the Hop on Hop off city sights bus which stop at the WW2 Museum nearby. Tickets are reasonable and last for three days for the standard price.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yo Daddy666
Business
Tucson, AZ
Nov 20, 2014

Nice, small room, great service

The room is nice, but small and minimalistic. I think that is what the "modern" is code for. The service was great. Very helpful, great attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to several dining establishments.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victoria C.
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 8, 2015

Great hotel good location

Hotel was great for its value good location, further from bourbon street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top