$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Gone
Business
Dallas, Texas
Feb 24, 2012

Good Value !!

Enjoyed the hotel. I do think they need an "official front desk" Good value for your money. The hotel is clean and looks great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roxs321
Business
Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Great time for Mardi Gras!!!

I was in New Orleans for Mardi Gras and this hotel was great!! Easy walk to the French Quarter and the bed was super comfy, the room was small but for 2 people it is plenty of space, the only issue was when I needed to have the valet bring my car to the hotel after I checked in they were unable to and I just wished they would have let me know beforehand that cars cannot be brought to you shortly before, during, or shortly after a parade. Other than that it was a great stay. When going back to NOLA I would definetly choose the Hotel Modern again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atl88
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

great mardi gras location!!

Very Clean. Very nice. Would have been better if there was room service but it's ok! The entire staff were very attentive! I got the smallest room but I still think it was a pretty good size. I would definitely return. As with other surrounding hotels in New Orleans, valet sucks. Do not waste your $38 a night for valet. There's this parking garage on Howard which is 5 min away from the hotel ON FEET I'd suggest you use. Only $10 and you can make a deal with them for in and out service if you pay for your complete stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Jackson Square The Riverwalk Bourbon Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickey826
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 27, 2012

Amazing Mardi Gras Experience

This hotel was in THE perfect location for getting a great spot at the parades!! Orpheus and Rex went right in front of it in Lee Circle! The *only problem* I had was that parking was not included in the price I paid for the reservation. When I arrived, I expected that it was, and was quickly informed that it would be $40 extra per night, to have the car valet parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daisy Dukes has great breakfast, and free refills on bloody Marys :)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arline
Business
naperville il
Mar 8, 2012

big easy

It was very nice and clean however we had to remind them to freshen our room twice on one day. The restaurant had wonderful food very enjoyable meal. The wine upon arrival was very welcoming We would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Z.
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 15, 2012

First Getaway!

Most important, the bed was to die for!!! My fiance and I had the best sleep of our lives before and after a night on Bourbon street. The location was far enough from the noise but walking distance from all the entertainment New Orleans has to offer. The price was reasonable. I only wish we would have been more informed about different parking prices due to a high price on valet. This was our first trip as a couple and we can't wait to go back and visit The Hotel Modern New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to stop by Decatur St. to watch the acrobatic show of four humorous men flipping and jumping over people. It was about a 30min show and a nice break from walking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wolp
Business
Cape Girardeau, MO, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great hotel, great location

Wonderfully comfortable hotel designed on the modern concept - few amenities, small lobby, simple decorations, and good price. Room small, but very comfortable. No coffee, but plenty of snacks and drinks, if you want to pay extra. Located next to WWII Museum and street car outside that can take you down scenic St. Charles St. or directly to Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

WWII Museum a must when in NO, but new film and 9/11 exhibit disappointing. Civil War Museum also next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wolp
Business
Cape Girardeau, MO, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Good vaule, but

A great value with great staff, next to WWII museum and public transportation. But be aware of a couple of surprises - no coffe pot in room, no coffee downstairs, and almost $50/night for parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is excellent. Everything we tried had unique taste and was wonderful. Trolley takes you directly to Bourbon Street for other restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moldol08
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 26, 2012

I would go back.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans. The staff is super friendly, and the rooms were very clean. Easy walk to get over to the French Quarter and Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Freebird1945
Business
Wadsworth, Ohio
Apr 11, 2012

Great but needs a few tweeks

Room price was reasonable, but valet parking much higher ($42+) than average in this area, bringing room/parking to approach $200 per day. No sensible alternatives exist and they know it. Maid service a bit iffy, forgetting to replace some items. Bed comfortable. Room small but certainly large enough for two. Front desk personnel excellent. Access to the trolley excellent. Close to art galleries, WWII and art museum. Restaurant food good but needs more variety. Restaurant noisy, but aren't they all in N.O.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the trolley. Cheap. Stops about 1 block from hotel. Ride to the Quarter only takes about 5 minutes. Don't drive your own vehhicle or you'll spend $$$ for downtown lots.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top