$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
4 kings
Business
jackson,ms
Jan 30, 2013

QUICK GET AWAY

VERY NICE FOR ONE NIGHT STAY. SMALL RESTURANT NOT MUCH FOOD TO CHOOSE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Dame
Business
NY, NY
Jul 9, 2013

Needs a lesson on cleanliness and customer service

The hotel is in a prime location, just blocks from the convention center and a decent walk from the dome and french quarter. The hotel was totally booked and the internet reviews were good. We got to the hotel room only to find that the bathroom was not properly cleaned - feces under the seat! There was a leak in the bathroom and we were told that a roll out was one price only to get charged a per night fee that was eventually waived due to the inconvenience. The maintenance man flooded the toilet and housekeeping left soaked towels in the bathroom. There is no real front desk, just staff that sits in a room behind a bookcase. Throughout the weekend, we witnessed several complaints and were told by acquaintance who had stayed at the hotel before that customer service was bad. To the hotel's defense, I found the staff to be amicable and willing to accomodate and help. I just think that they need more training and the hotel needs to rethink its strategy on accomodating customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel is decent and decently priced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lockwave
Business
pensacola fl
Sep 18, 2013

It was okay considering

We arrived and check in was easy. Valet parking is $30 a day, and the first time I called them To bring my car around, I went downstairs and waited 20 minutes, no car.. The valet attendant was told the wrong Valley number by the desk clerk... Toilet bowl flushed and shop water out of toilet bowl onto floor... The rest of the room was nice, But the pictures on the Internet are not the same as the room. I called valet the second day, and went downstairs and there was no car... I had to wait an additional 15 minutes, Desk clerk forgot to tell valet to get my car. In the middle of the second night we stayed, the fire alarm went off. We were all removed out of the building at 2:30 in the morning... It was a false alarm. This hotel Needs to get their act together Before Allstate again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hoshun Japanese open till 2 am. Awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbnbr
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

hotel renovation??

Not very happy when we got to the hotel to find that entire bottom floor was under construction. We stayed at the hotel based upon raving reviews from a friend that lives in NOLA, said the bar was great. Well, we would have loved to know that our stay would be "without" bar ahead of time. Deal or not, I should have known about the construction. I would have paid a higher price to stay somewhere that would have been better suited to my wants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roadtripper rebel
Business
Around
Sep 29, 2014

Meh

The hotel looked charming on the website, and although it is not too bad when you get there, after the first night we realized it was not a four star hotel. When they made the room, they forgot to take out the trash, restack toilet paper and although we did not ask for new towels (they say they have that green approach), they took our old towels and didn't leave enough in their place. We weren't sure how many nights we'd be staying, but when we wanted to check for availability for another night or two, they said they'd get back to us but didn't. Also, the description in the app says there is a spa, well, there isn't. And parking was very problematic. On the upside, their soaps smell great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Horizon407
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Comfortable Hotel

Hotel was under construction when I was there. No room service. Room was comfortable and freshly painted. Not a lavish hotel by far, but a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
albertsulfur
Business
Alpen, Germany
Jan 16, 2012

simple but ok.

The hotel changed it´s name, so it was not to find at the first attempt. But there was a friendly staff waiting outside to catch the guests who got astray. The first View was quite nice - a small and personally looking hotel. Staff at the reception was also extraordinary friendly. The Hotel seemed to be under new and young management here and there on the floors not finished but quite clean. 10 Minutes walk to Burbon Street was ok for me. The Room was also ok, comfortable king size bed, but had only a small window. My grade of room comfort is caused by a noisy maschine which startes running outside somewhere on the floor every few minutes. In total it is a quite good Hotel if you don´t need special luxury. But in case of the comfort the rate was little to high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

historic streetcar stoppes near the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
alfromiowa
Business
Iowa
Apr 10, 2012

A surprise bargain!

The Modern Hotel was a pleasant surprise and the staff was really a big help. The location, one block from the Trolley made getting around New Orleans an easy treat! Located in the arts district and five minutes from the Garden District....what a treat. Room was a bit small, but for two nights it was livable. A truly helpful staff that made a genuine effort to help us find our way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

An Irish restaurant just two blocks away on St. Charles. Good food, live entertainment on Friday and Saturday night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Stacyemac
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Simple, but nice

The whole concept of this hotel is elegant simplicity. They have a wonderful staff, but It could use a little "polishing." There is no iron or ironing board in the room, and the color schemes are a little drab. The elevator is a little dark and it is scary that you can walk off the street at 2:00 and there is no code or lock, and there is no one at the "makeshift" front desk. Lastly, you have great access to the street car and the garden district, however you are too far from the French Quarter and Borbon Street if that's what you want to see. Overall, still a nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head to Trolley Stop on St. Charles for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lacky
Business
tacoma, washington
Jun 4, 2012

Family wedding

The staff and amenities were fine. Access was difficult and I expected to be closer to the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

stay closer to the French Quarter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top