$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
108 reviews
Couples getaway

Very modern comfy stay! Love the bar! And it's location. See full review

  • Coco and tio
  • Nov 28, 2014
Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was... See full review

  • Carri the travelista
  • Jun 2, 2014
Old-world appeal and modern conveniences near Mississippi River

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is a stylish smoke-free haven with tastefully decorated guestrooms designed with modern aesthetics. Tourists staying at this contemporary hotel can easily visit the historic collections at the nearby National World War II Museum. At The Hotel Modern New Orleans, guest can sample regional specialties at Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink or enjoy fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge on site.

Highlights
  • Fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge
  • Complimentary wireless Internet in guestrooms
Location

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is ideally situated in the heart of New Orleans, just a short walk from galleries, shops and local museums. While in the area, guests can check out the restaurants and shopping stores at Riverwalk Marketplace or watch concerts at Lafayette Square.

Rooms

All 135 spacious rooms and suites at The Hotel Modern New Orleans blend old-world appeal and modern appointments. Aside from the vintage collections and books draped in the rooms, guests can also enjoy convenient amenities such as large LCD TV, iPod docking station, work desk, and free wireless Internet access.

Features

The pet-friendly Hotel Modern New Orleans offers a cozy lounge area at Bellocq. Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink invites diners to feast on sumptuous farm-to-table menus made from fresh local ingredients. The hotel also provides room service, limousine service, valet parking (fees apply) and in-room spa treatments.

Breakfast is served from 7am – 11am, while lunch and dinner are from 11am – 11pm.

Transportation
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Attractions
  • National World War II Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Contemporary Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • Valet parking is $30.00 plus tax.
  • $50 non-refundable pet cleaning fee
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
  • The hotel's modern restaurant, Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink, is opening in March 2013. Until the restaurant opens, room service is available for breakfast (7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.) and dinner (5:00 p.n to 10:00 p.m). The hotel lounge, Bellocq, also serves small plates from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel has an ATM as well as a 24-hour fitness center on site.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Modern New Orleans also booked these hotels.

The Hotel Modern New Orleans Rooms

Small
(155 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2 through 9 and offer a Queen bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37" LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Medium
(165 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Large
(220 sq ft) Spacious guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Most rooms have a window seating area. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Double
(215 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10, offer 2 Double beds and unobstructed views of Lee Circle and St. Charles Avenue, or downtown New Orleans. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Tivoli & Lee
Modern Southern Food and Drink, features a neighborhood focused, farm-to-table bistro with a heavy emphasis on the freshest local ingredients for their take on local regional southern food.
Bellocq
The cocktail lounge will also feature a rotating menu of drink specials.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 108
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wilikoki
Business
Hawaii, USA
Jan 23, 2012

fun night in the Big Easy!.

Beautiful hotel! A great location in all the fun without being in in it! We stayed only one nite was our bigggest regret. Awesome staff with a fun casual formal setting. Definately going back for a nice looooong stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Wow...

This newly remodeled hotel was a perfect distance from the convention center and the best dining NOLA had to offer. The rooms were modern and sleek, loved the C.O. Bigelow toiletries and the bed was so comfy. I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the trolley service that stops just outside the hotel $3.00 will get you an all day pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HENRY SPSP
Business
PALO ALTO, CALIFORNIA
Jan 20, 2013

Super Good

It was very comfortable. Very helpful staff! I was lost because it was my first time around and they helped me find my way around - places to eat, how to get around, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDMZ
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Feb 4, 2012

Hotel Modern (Formerly La Cirque)

They just remodeled the hotel. I did not stay there prior, but it seems like they are trying to create a unique experience. When you arrive they give you a glass of wine while they get your information together. There is a gregarious parrot in the lobby that they receptionist is usually holding. The connoisseur are young and less experienced, but very very helpful and attentive. With the remodeling they seemed to have changed some logistics, so they are working out a few hiccups in the process, which they are very attentive to. There is a bar and restaurant attached to the hotel, which are quality spots. They don't have a gym, but they arranged for their guests to use the St Charles gym, which is about 6 blocks away, at no cost. I actually appreciated this. Instead of using the limited or poor quality equipment that usually makes up a hotel gym, the St Charles gym had lots of equipment and space in a great atmosphere. If you are like me and don't mind the walk, you are 0.5 mile from the French Quarter. For the money, I don't think there is a better spot in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel G.
Business
Georgia
Apr 18, 2012

Good start, with a rough ending.

I am a business traveler that basically spends the vast majority of my time on the road and in hotels. I was travelling from Georgia to Texas and decided to spend the night in New Orleans on 4/17/12. My wife booked the room for me, so other than where it was located and that the parking was supposed to be secure, I knew nothing about the hotel. When I arrived at the Hotel Modern, I was immediately impressed with the appearence of the hotel and its surroundings. My work truck, which is packed with expensive equipment, was valet parked in a secure area which is monitored 24/7 for $18.00 a day. When I entered the lobby, I was immediate greeted by the staff. After asking my name and inviting me to sit down, I was offered a glass of wine while I was checked in. During the check in process, the staff members chatted with me and explained the various amenities and offerings of the hotel. I planned to do some computer work in the morning and check out somewhat early, so I asked about breakfast and room service and was told that they began serving at 7 am. I was assigned room 906, which turned out to be on the front of the hotel and had an impressive view. The room is small, but stylish and provided all the comforts of home except for in-room coffee maker and there are no ice machines, but if you call room service, they will bring a bucket to your room. The hotel itself is not in the French Quarter, but is right on a trolly line, which runs every few minutes, and brings you directly to all the areas of interest. That evening, I had dinner in the French Quarter and did some siight-seeing, and after several hours, returned to the hotel. I woke up about 6 am, did some business related work, took a shower and about 7:20 am, I began trying to order room service. From that time, until about 9 am, I attempted to contact room service and kept reaching a recording. I called the front desk and explained what was happening and they assured me that they would contact room service directly, and have them call me back. It never happened. When I went to check out, I observed that the restaurant was open and a few people were inside having coffee, so I am unsure what the issue was that morning. I informed the person that checked me out of the problems that I had encountered and surprisingly, they offered nothing other than a half hearted apology and no explanation for the breakdown in service that morning. No coffee, no breakfast and a bad ending to an otherwise good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NO insider
Business
New Orleans
May 16, 2012

Great location and Cool setting

Very good location on Lee Circle within walking distance to several New Orleans landmarks (WWII museum, etc.). Very nice restaurant and upscale bar on site. Some rooms are small, but a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To save money, self-park and do not valet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FlatCoatFilms
Business
Middleburg, VA
Jul 19, 2012

Great place

Loved it. So cool that they offer wine when you check in. Will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jmh54
Business
Kingsport, TN
Sep 14, 2012

Great Experience Overall

Great experience. The staff was very helpful with recommendations to restaurants and activities. They went above and beyond on personal service. The hotel has a very non-traditional approach to check-in/ check-out procedure. There really isn't a front desk but the staff are always around to answer any questions or help in any way. The one thing I didn't like was that the air conditioning in the room is motion detection activated. So at night while you are still it turns off and can get warm rather quickly. You wake up hot and have to wave an arm or a leg to turn it back on. It is very energy conscious but inefficient cooling system.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
flying duck
Business
Cincinnati Ohio
Nov 17, 2012

Slept great

Best hotel bed ever. Close to convention center but a good walk to the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RossC
Business
San Diego
Dec 10, 2012

Cool hotel and nice staff.

Nice rooms, very friendly staff. Very modern/retro theme. Fun place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top