$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
108 reviews
One-night stop in the coolest part of town

Our second time staying at Hotel Modern. Most appealing thing is the location. Staying right on Lee... See full review

  • Adrian A.
  • Apr 25, 2015
Couples getaway

Very modern comfy stay! Love the bar! And it's location. See full review

  • Coco and tio
  • Nov 28, 2014

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is a stylish smoke-free haven with tastefully decorated guestrooms designed with modern aesthetics. Tourists staying at this contemporary hotel can easily visit the historic collections at the nearby National World War II Museum. At The Hotel Modern New Orleans, guest can sample regional specialties at Tivoli & Lee

Location

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is ideally situated in the heart of New Orleans, just a short walk from galleries, shops and local museums. While in the area, guests can check out the restaurants and shopping stores at Riverwalk Marketplace or watch concerts at Lafayette Square.

Dining
Modern Southern Food + Drink or enjoy fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge on site.

Rooms

All 135 spacious rooms and suites at The Hotel Modern New Orleans blend old-world appeal and modern appointments. Aside from the vintage collections and books draped in the rooms, guests can also enjoy convenient amenities such as large LCD TV, iPod docking station, work desk, and free wireless Internet access.

Property features
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Transportation
  • National World War II Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Contemporary Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Entertainment

The pet-friendly Hotel Modern New Orleans offers a cozy lounge area at Bellocq. Tivoli & Lee

Recreation
Modern Southern Food + Drink invites diners to feast on sumptuous farm-to-table menus made from fresh local ingredients. The hotel also provides room service, limousine service, valet parking (fees apply) and in-room spa treatments.

Breakfast is served from 7am – 11am, while lunch and dinner are from 11am – 11pm.

Fees
Modern Southern Food + Drink, is opening in March 2013. Until the restaurant opens, room service is available for breakfast (7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.) and dinner (5:00 p.n to 10:00 p.m). The hotel lounge, Bellocq, also serves small plates from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel has an ATM as well as a 24-hour fitness center on site.
  • This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed The Hotel Modern New Orleans also booked these hotels.

    The Hotel Modern New Orleans Rooms

    Small
    (155 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2 through 9 and offer a Queen bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37" LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
    Medium
    (165 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
    Large
    (220 sq ft) Spacious guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Most rooms have a window seating area. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
    Double
    (215 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10, offer 2 Double beds and unobstructed views of Lee Circle and St. Charles Avenue, or downtown New Orleans. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Activities
    Fitness center or spa
    Spa
    Night club
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible Rooms/Facilities
    Service dogs allowed
    Service animals allowed

    Nearby points of interest

    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
    • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
    • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
    • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
    • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
    • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
    • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
    • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
    • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
    • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
    • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
    • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
    • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
    • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.7 mi
    • Bywater Historic District: 2.8 mi
    • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
    • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
    • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
    • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
    • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
    • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
    • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

    Dining

    Tivoli & Lee
    Modern Southern Food and Drink, features a neighborhood focused, farm-to-table bistro with a heavy emphasis on the freshest local ingredients for their take on local regional southern food.
    Bellocq
    The cocktail lounge will also feature a rotating menu of drink specials.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    11:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Overall score

    3.7 / 5
    5.01.0
    23 out of 108
    Amenities:
    3.7
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4.2
    Comfort:
    3.6
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3.9

    87% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    wilikoki
    Business
    Hawaii, USA
    Jan 23, 2012

    fun night in the Big Easy!.

    Beautiful hotel! A great location in all the fun without being in in it! We stayed only one nite was our bigggest regret. Awesome staff with a fun casual formal setting. Definately going back for a nice looooong stay!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Chicago, IL, USA
    Feb 10, 2012

    Wow...

    This newly remodeled hotel was a perfect distance from the convention center and the best dining NOLA had to offer. The rooms were modern and sleek, loved the C.O. Bigelow toiletries and the bed was so comfy. I would definately stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

    Take advantage of the trolley service that stops just outside the hotel $3.00 will get you an all day pass.

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    HENRY SPSP
    Business
    PALO ALTO, CALIFORNIA
    Jan 20, 2013

    Super Good

    It was very comfortable. Very helpful staff! I was lost because it was my first time around and they helped me find my way around - places to eat, how to get around, etc.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    MDMZ
    Business
    Cincinnati, OH, USA
    Feb 4, 2012

    Hotel Modern (Formerly La Cirque)

    They just remodeled the hotel. I did not stay there prior, but it seems like they are trying to create a unique experience. When you arrive they give you a glass of wine while they get your information together. There is a gregarious parrot in the lobby that they receptionist is usually holding. The connoisseur are young and less experienced, but very very helpful and attentive. With the remodeling they seemed to have changed some logistics, so they are working out a few hiccups in the process, which they are very attentive to. There is a bar and restaurant attached to the hotel, which are quality spots. They don't have a gym, but they arranged for their guests to use the St Charles gym, which is about 6 blocks away, at no cost. I actually appreciated this. Instead of using the limited or poor quality equipment that usually makes up a hotel gym, the St Charles gym had lots of equipment and space in a great atmosphere. If you are like me and don't mind the walk, you are 0.5 mile from the French Quarter. For the money, I don't think there is a better spot in New Orleans.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Travel G.
    Business
    Georgia
    Apr 18, 2012

    Good start, with a rough ending.

    I am a business traveler that basically spends the vast majority of my time on the road and in hotels. I was travelling from Georgia to Texas and decided to spend the night in New Orleans on 4/17/12. My wife booked the room for me, so other than where it was located and that the parking was supposed to be secure, I knew nothing about the hotel. When I arrived at the Hotel Modern, I was immediately impressed with the appearence of the hotel and its surroundings. My work truck, which is packed with expensive equipment, was valet parked in a secure area which is monitored 24/7 for $18.00 a day. When I entered the lobby, I was immediate greeted by the staff. After asking my name and inviting me to sit down, I was offered a glass of wine while I was checked in. During the check in process, the staff members chatted with me and explained the various amenities and offerings of the hotel. I planned to do some computer work in the morning and check out somewhat early, so I asked about breakfast and room service and was told that they began serving at 7 am. I was assigned room 906, which turned out to be on the front of the hotel and had an impressive view. The room is small, but stylish and provided all the comforts of home except for in-room coffee maker and there are no ice machines, but if you call room service, they will bring a bucket to your room. The hotel itself is not in the French Quarter, but is right on a trolly line, which runs every few minutes, and brings you directly to all the areas of interest. That evening, I had dinner in the French Quarter and did some siight-seeing, and after several hours, returned to the hotel. I woke up about 6 am, did some business related work, took a shower and about 7:20 am, I began trying to order room service. From that time, until about 9 am, I attempted to contact room service and kept reaching a recording. I called the front desk and explained what was happening and they assured me that they would contact room service directly, and have them call me back. It never happened. When I went to check out, I observed that the restaurant was open and a few people were inside having coffee, so I am unsure what the issue was that morning. I informed the person that checked me out of the problems that I had encountered and surprisingly, they offered nothing other than a half hearted apology and no explanation for the breakdown in service that morning. No coffee, no breakfast and a bad ending to an otherwise good stay

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    NO insider
    Business
    New Orleans
    May 16, 2012

    Great location and Cool setting

    Very good location on Lee Circle within walking distance to several New Orleans landmarks (WWII museum, etc.). Very nice restaurant and upscale bar on site. Some rooms are small, but a good value.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

    To save money, self-park and do not valet.

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    FlatCoatFilms
    Business
    Middleburg, VA
    Jul 19, 2012

    Great place

    Loved it. So cool that they offer wine when you check in. Will definitely stay there again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    flying duck
    Business
    Cincinnati Ohio
    Nov 17, 2012

    Slept great

    Best hotel bed ever. Close to convention center but a good walk to the French Quarter.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    muscibymark
    Business
    upper peninsula of Michigan
    Mar 5, 2013

    Great place; super streetcar access to Canal/Bourbon St.

    Really liked the modern renovation which was done well, smooth plaster work, professionally painted, decorated w/ nice touches if you like modern, but also some old paintings. Staff were top notch, friendly & effortful like they were personally invested in the success of the hotel & customer satisfaction. hard to find employees like that! Neat parrot in lobby. I was on 9th floor w/ decent view. Street cars go right up to the circle the hotel is on - VERY convenient ($1.25 trip / $3 all day, but best deal is to buy a week or 5 day pass I think at the drug stores (not available on streetcar). Cars are 1800s I'm told, stilll running. Stop on Canal (Main drag) right near start of Bourbon St. FEATHER beds are nice too!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

    The Palace Cafe on Canal, near St. Charles intersection was great, sort of upscale old Diner motif, but very good staff, food, atmosphere. Great import beers for sale individually, etc. at good price on Decatur. Frenchman St. has nightlife, & is less "college drunks", more locals probably, but fewer restaurants than Bourbon/Canal

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    heyjoe
    Business
    barcelona, spain
    Mar 17, 2013

    Very pleasant place

    I was very happy with this hotel. Stayed there for a conference. It is in walking distance to the French Quarter and the Convention Center. The rooms are a bit small, but equipped with all you need and nicely set-up. Staff is very welcoming and nice, and they have a great breakfast

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Back to menu Return to top