$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arline
Business
naperville il
Mar 8, 2012

big easy

It was very nice and clean however we had to remind them to freshen our room twice on one day. The restaurant had wonderful food very enjoyable meal. The wine upon arrival was very welcoming We would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Z.
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 15, 2012

First Getaway!

Most important, the bed was to die for!!! My fiance and I had the best sleep of our lives before and after a night on Bourbon street. The location was far enough from the noise but walking distance from all the entertainment New Orleans has to offer. The price was reasonable. I only wish we would have been more informed about different parking prices due to a high price on valet. This was our first trip as a couple and we can't wait to go back and visit The Hotel Modern New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to stop by Decatur St. to watch the acrobatic show of four humorous men flipping and jumping over people. It was about a 30min show and a nice break from walking.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wolp
Business
Cape Girardeau, MO, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Great hotel, great location

Wonderfully comfortable hotel designed on the modern concept - few amenities, small lobby, simple decorations, and good price. Room small, but very comfortable. No coffee, but plenty of snacks and drinks, if you want to pay extra. Located next to WWII Museum and street car outside that can take you down scenic St. Charles St. or directly to Bourbon St.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

WWII Museum a must when in NO, but new film and 9/11 exhibit disappointing. Civil War Museum also next door.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wolp
Business
Cape Girardeau, MO, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Good vaule, but

A great value with great staff, next to WWII museum and public transportation. But be aware of a couple of surprises - no coffe pot in room, no coffee downstairs, and almost $50/night for parking!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant is excellent. Everything we tried had unique taste and was wonderful. Trolley takes you directly to Bourbon Street for other restaurants.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moldol08
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 26, 2012

I would go back.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans. The staff is super friendly, and the rooms were very clean. Easy walk to get over to the French Quarter and Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Freebird1945
Business
Wadsworth, Ohio
Apr 11, 2012

Great but needs a few tweeks

Room price was reasonable, but valet parking much higher ($42+) than average in this area, bringing room/parking to approach $200 per day. No sensible alternatives exist and they know it. Maid service a bit iffy, forgetting to replace some items. Bed comfortable. Room small but certainly large enough for two. Front desk personnel excellent. Access to the trolley excellent. Close to art galleries, WWII and art museum. Restaurant food good but needs more variety. Restaurant noisy, but aren't they all in N.O.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the trolley. Cheap. Stops about 1 block from hotel. Ride to the Quarter only takes about 5 minutes. Don't drive your own vehhicle or you'll spend $$$ for downtown lots.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel G.
Business
Georgia
Apr 18, 2012

Good start, with a rough ending.

I am a business traveler that basically spends the vast majority of my time on the road and in hotels. I was travelling from Georgia to Texas and decided to spend the night in New Orleans on 4/17/12. My wife booked the room for me, so other than where it was located and that the parking was supposed to be secure, I knew nothing about the hotel. When I arrived at the Hotel Modern, I was immediately impressed with the appearence of the hotel and its surroundings. My work truck, which is packed with expensive equipment, was valet parked in a secure area which is monitored 24/7 for $18.00 a day. When I entered the lobby, I was immediate greeted by the staff. After asking my name and inviting me to sit down, I was offered a glass of wine while I was checked in. During the check in process, the staff members chatted with me and explained the various amenities and offerings of the hotel. I planned to do some computer work in the morning and check out somewhat early, so I asked about breakfast and room service and was told that they began serving at 7 am. I was assigned room 906, which turned out to be on the front of the hotel and had an impressive view. The room is small, but stylish and provided all the comforts of home except for in-room coffee maker and there are no ice machines, but if you call room service, they will bring a bucket to your room. The hotel itself is not in the French Quarter, but is right on a trolly line, which runs every few minutes, and brings you directly to all the areas of interest. That evening, I had dinner in the French Quarter and did some siight-seeing, and after several hours, returned to the hotel. I woke up about 6 am, did some business related work, took a shower and about 7:20 am, I began trying to order room service. From that time, until about 9 am, I attempted to contact room service and kept reaching a recording. I called the front desk and explained what was happening and they assured me that they would contact room service directly, and have them call me back. It never happened. When I went to check out, I observed that the restaurant was open and a few people were inside having coffee, so I am unsure what the issue was that morning. I informed the person that checked me out of the problems that I had encountered and surprisingly, they offered nothing other than a half hearted apology and no explanation for the breakdown in service that morning. No coffee, no breakfast and a bad ending to an otherwise good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ss42
Business
Houma, Louisiana
Apr 24, 2012

French Quarter Fest Overnight

We were pleasantly surprised. Great location, great staff and the hotel was quite nice. We would absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RedThunder
Business
Boston, MA
May 8, 2012

Good Price/Value Flightly Staff

Overall.. great experience! A few things were a bit off however... The toiletries in the bathroom were an assortment of random soaps from other hotel brands. A little odd. The staff was sooooo nice. However there was a disconnect somewhere in the staffing. We asked for taxi's to be called... They were not. Wake up calls never happend. Staff didn't seem to be professionaly trained in hotel management. They were still so lovely and happy to help. It was just odd... it seemed like there was a lack of communication between departments and the front desk. Otherwise a great experience. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Have drinks and snacks at the hotel bar. Perhaps one of my favorite spots in NOLA!!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NO insider
Business
New Orleans
May 16, 2012

Great location and Cool setting

Very good location on Lee Circle within walking distance to several New Orleans landmarks (WWII museum, etc.). Very nice restaurant and upscale bar on site. Some rooms are small, but a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

To save money, self-park and do not valet.

Back to menu Return to top