$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo On the Go
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 11, 2014

Not so bad if you don;t mind the commute

I happened to arrive right when a parade was coming down St Charles Street, so getting through the Police Barricades was a challenge. Once there, the clerk was pleasant but the bell hops did not even hold door open for you as you dragged your luggage in. The room was pleasant, the window small with a higher than average sill. There was no iron! Housekeeping did not empty coffee or refresh until I left a tip. I found that the trash cans without bags was not sanitary. Location is good if you are a city person who does not mind taking trolley into French Quarter. The hotel is right next to art museum so that is a plus. I did not think the price matched the experience - I paid premium due to time of year. The restaurant is good but pricey as is all of New Orleans eateries. The Beet Salad was to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Art Museum/ St Charles Trolley

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Love 3
Business
Pensacola, FL
Apr 29, 2014

Very helpful staff

This hotel isn't too far from downtown New Orleans. The street car conveniently stops right by the hotel so it's easy to get downtown. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was kind and more than helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romance night
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Comfy bed!

Came here with my boyfriend & the hotel was great bed was amazingly comfortable and the bathroom was soo night little small and they were renovating but all in all great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romance night
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Weekend away from home

It was a great experience my 2nd time staying here in under a month...beds are sooo comfy only thing is the place is being renovated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDMZ
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Feb 4, 2012

Hotel Modern (Formerly La Cirque)

They just remodeled the hotel. I did not stay there prior, but it seems like they are trying to create a unique experience. When you arrive they give you a glass of wine while they get your information together. There is a gregarious parrot in the lobby that they receptionist is usually holding. The connoisseur are young and less experienced, but very very helpful and attentive. With the remodeling they seemed to have changed some logistics, so they are working out a few hiccups in the process, which they are very attentive to. There is a bar and restaurant attached to the hotel, which are quality spots. They don't have a gym, but they arranged for their guests to use the St Charles gym, which is about 6 blocks away, at no cost. I actually appreciated this. Instead of using the limited or poor quality equipment that usually makes up a hotel gym, the St Charles gym had lots of equipment and space in a great atmosphere. If you are like me and don't mind the walk, you are 0.5 mile from the French Quarter. For the money, I don't think there is a better spot in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnnyK1
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Great Stay, Great Value

I would surely return here, beautiful view of Lee Circle. My room was newly renovated and had a fridge, the hotel bar was classy, plenty parking nearby. I paid 40.00 for Friday thru Sunday to park. It is easy to catch the streetcar and ride to Canal Street if you wanted, the weather was so nice we always walked. I have stayed in NOLA many times in the last 6 years, this is a great value. My girlfriend called room service for coffee at 5:00 AM, the kitchen wasn't open yet so they picked up coffee from a nearby shop and it was delivered steaming hot. Thanks for the great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Gone
Business
Dallas, Texas
Feb 24, 2012

Good Value !!

Enjoyed the hotel. I do think they need an "official front desk" Good value for your money. The hotel is clean and looks great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roxs321
Business
Lawrenceville, GA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

Great time for Mardi Gras!!!

I was in New Orleans for Mardi Gras and this hotel was great!! Easy walk to the French Quarter and the bed was super comfy, the room was small but for 2 people it is plenty of space, the only issue was when I needed to have the valet bring my car to the hotel after I checked in they were unable to and I just wished they would have let me know beforehand that cars cannot be brought to you shortly before, during, or shortly after a parade. Other than that it was a great stay. When going back to NOLA I would definetly choose the Hotel Modern again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atl88
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

great mardi gras location!!

Very Clean. Very nice. Would have been better if there was room service but it's ok! The entire staff were very attentive! I got the smallest room but I still think it was a pretty good size. I would definitely return. As with other surrounding hotels in New Orleans, valet sucks. Do not waste your $38 a night for valet. There's this parking garage on Howard which is 5 min away from the hotel ON FEET I'd suggest you use. Only $10 and you can make a deal with them for in and out service if you pay for your complete stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Jackson Square The Riverwalk Bourbon Street

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickey826
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 27, 2012

Amazing Mardi Gras Experience

This hotel was in THE perfect location for getting a great spot at the parades!! Orpheus and Rex went right in front of it in Lee Circle! The *only problem* I had was that parking was not included in the price I paid for the reservation. When I arrived, I expected that it was, and was quickly informed that it would be $40 extra per night, to have the car valet parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daisy Dukes has great breakfast, and free refills on bloody Marys :)

Back to menu Return to top