$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was... See full review

  • Carri the travelista
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great place to stay in New Orleans

Easy access to streetcar. With in walking distance of nice restaurants, nice,clean rooms, quiet. See full review

  • JJBranch
  • Apr 21, 2014
Old-world appeal and modern conveniences near Mississippi River

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is a stylish smoke-free haven with tastefully decorated guestrooms designed with modern aesthetics. Tourists staying at this contemporary hotel can easily visit the historic collections at the nearby National World War II Museum. At The Hotel Modern New Orleans, guest can sample regional specialties at Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink or enjoy fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge on site.

Highlights
  • Fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge
  • Complimentary wireless Internet in guestrooms
Location

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is ideally situated in the heart of New Orleans, just a short walk from galleries, shops and local museums. While in the area, guests can check out the restaurants and shopping stores at Riverwalk Marketplace or watch concerts at Lafayette Square.

Rooms

All 135 spacious rooms and suites at The Hotel Modern New Orleans blend old-world appeal and modern appointments. Aside from the vintage collections and books draped in the rooms, guests can also enjoy convenient amenities such as large LCD TV, iPod docking station, work desk, and free wireless Internet access.

Features

The pet-friendly Hotel Modern New Orleans offers a cozy lounge area at Bellocq. Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink invites diners to feast on sumptuous farm-to-table menus made from fresh local ingredients. The hotel also provides room service, limousine service, valet parking (fees apply) and in-room spa treatments.

Breakfast is served from 7am – 11am, while lunch and dinner are from 11am – 11pm.

Transportation
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Attractions
  • National World War II Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Contemporary Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • Valet parking is $30.00 plus tax.
  • $50 non-refundable pet cleaning fee
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
  • The hotel's modern restaurant, Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink, is opening in March 2013. Until the restaurant opens, room service is available for breakfast (7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.) and dinner (5:00 p.n to 10:00 p.m). The hotel lounge, Bellocq, also serves small plates from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel has an ATM as well as a 24-hour fitness center on site.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9437 -90.0719
Area served
New Orleans, Kenner, Metairie, Westbank, French Quarter
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport - 15 miles (20 minutes) Cab Fee $33.00 (one way) Airport Shuttle $20.00 (per person-one way).
Area description
New Orleans' Warehouse-Arts district is an exciting, newly revitalized neighborhood. Attractions include the Contemporary Arts Center, The Ogden Museum of Southern Art and The National World War II Museum, in addition to Julia Street's thriving gallery scene. Restaurants and bars continue to open in the neighborhood, joining mainstays such as Emeril's from renowned chef Emeril Lagasse. The Hotel Modern New Orleans is located at Lee Circle, home to the monument of American Civil War general Robert E. Lee. The St. Charles Avenue Streetcar stops at Lee Circle, offering hotel guests a quick ride to and from the legendary French Quarter.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Modern New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

The Hotel Modern New Orleans Rooms

Small
(155 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2 through 9 and offer a Queen bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37" LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Medium
(165 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Large
(220 sq ft) Spacious guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Most rooms have a window seating area. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Double
(215 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10, offer 2 Double beds and unobstructed views of Lee Circle and St. Charles Avenue, or downtown New Orleans. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Storyville: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 0.9 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.9 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Storyville: 1.1 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 1.3 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.8 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 2.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.4 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 11 mi

Dining

Tivoli & Lee
Modern Southern Food and Drink, features a neighborhood focused, farm-to-table bistro with a heavy emphasis on the freshest local ingredients for their take on local regional southern food.
Bellocq
The cocktail lounge will also feature a rotating menu of drink specials.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoeybiggunzCaronna
Enfield, CT
Apr 3, 2013

Awesome hotel!!! Newly weds had a great time staying here!!!!

We found this hotel on internet while in our honey moon. The reviews were good so we stayed. Really great clean hotel. It's a hotel in a modern style so if your looking for the ultra traditional this is not. We loved it the staff was helpful and friendly. The parking was not to far. The beds were comfy and the rooms were very clean. This was our favorite hotel on our honey moon by far. We walked everyday and night to the French quarter not a bad walk at all. We felt safe even walking at 2 in the morning from bourbon st. The coolest part is that this place has bikes that you can rent for free. That was awesome to ride around on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spirits on bourbon as seem on bar rescue. Mona Lisa's Italian restaurant

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJBranch
Memphis, TN
Apr 21, 2014

Great place to stay in New Orleans

Easy access to streetcar. With in walking distance of nice restaurants, nice,clean rooms, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carri the travelista
Evansville, IN
Jun 2, 2014

Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was friendly, easy to get around the city from this hotel. My room was in front of the elevator but very quiet. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

20 minute walk to bourbon.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fariha
Edison, NJ
Sep 2, 2013

Great Stay

The hotel is beautiful, well decorated with art and a parrot! The staff was very helpful. We opted for a small room and there was plenty of space. They had CO Bigelow products (shampoos and wash, lotion, shower cap) which are always great. The courtyard is pretty and a pleasant, shaded place to relax. We didn't have a chance to try to the restaurant, but it looked good. We really liked the location. It was our first time to NOLA and we went during Labor Day weekend. We initially wanted to stay in the French Quarter, but everything was booked. We ended up finding a deal for Hotel Modern and previous reviews said it was in a safe area so we took it. Once we got here, we realized we made the right choice. The French Quarter is a lot of fun, but we were happy to be able to sleep in a quieter neighborhood. It's also right between the French Quarter, which is a very easily walkable distance away (we only cabbed it at night just to be on the safe side) and the Garden District with all the beautiful homes and Lafayette Cemetery. And if you want to experience the trolley, it's right on the green line which can take you in either direction. I would definitely stay here again. The one thing it was missing was an iron.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley is fun to experience as a one time sort of thing, but it's also pretty slow because it makes frequent stops. if you are up for a nice walk during the daytime, you can easily walk to the French Quarter or in the opposite direction towards the Garden District to some of the restaurants along the way.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Masha
Key West, FL, USA
Oct 1, 2011

It was very nice! Best chose you can possibly make!

We were staying at Le Cirque with my sister, 26 years old females. Stuff was very friendly, rooms nice and clean. It's really close to French District \

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask front desk about that nice breakfast place.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Desire knows best
Lake Charles , la
Mar 18, 2013

Awesome

The hotel was great the only thing that went wrong was that my name was put in backwards other than that perfect! I would def recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HENRY SPSP
Business
PALO ALTO, CALIFORNIA
Jan 20, 2013

Super Good

It was very comfortable. Very helpful staff! I was lost because it was my first time around and they helped me find my way around - places to eat, how to get around, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AwesomeBostonian
Boston
May 14, 2013

Wonderful Place to Stay

Right in Downtown New Orleans--close to Warehouse district, CBD, French quarter (1mi), the Marigny (2mi) walking distance (2mi) to the Treme, easy cab ride uptown for music at Tipitina's or the Maple Leaf Bar. Great hotel bar with expert mixologist on staff; also, hotel has a parrot. Herbsaint and Cochon less than a mile away, for amazing meals (make a reservation!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Herbsaint (on St. Charles) and Cochon (on Tchoupitoulas)--easy walks, amazing chefs.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philosan
Business
Lawrence, Kansas
Oct 5, 2013

Good hotel, little bit far, nice bar

The hotel is nice and clean, everything is neat, but simple. A little bit far away from all the bars and convention center. But there are 2 bars inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pensley
dallas, Texas
Mar 25, 2013

GREAT HOTEL! NICE AND CLEAN!

This hotel was awesome it is a little further away from the Quarter but a street car stop is right by the hotel so no big deal! The check in is a little slow, but its expected of a small business. Their staff is not like your big chains (Holiday Inn, Marriot, etc.) but they are very accomodating! There was self parking right behind the hotel for $20 a night and that was a + Overall it was a great stay at a reall shabby chic hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch the street car to the Katrina exhibit in Lincoln square!!

Back to menu Return to top