$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 1, 2015 Check-out: Mar 3, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
108 reviews
Couples getaway

Very modern comfy stay! Love the bar! And it's location. See full review

  • Coco and tio
  • Nov 28, 2014
Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was... See full review

  • Carri the travelista
  • Jun 2, 2014
Old-world appeal and modern conveniences near Mississippi River

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is a stylish smoke-free haven with tastefully decorated guestrooms designed with modern aesthetics. Tourists staying at this contemporary hotel can easily visit the historic collections at the nearby National World War II Museum. At The Hotel Modern New Orleans, guest can sample regional specialties at Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink or enjoy fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge on site.

Highlights
  • Fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge
  • Complimentary wireless Internet in guestrooms
Location

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is ideally situated in the heart of New Orleans, just a short walk from galleries, shops and local museums. While in the area, guests can check out the restaurants and shopping stores at Riverwalk Marketplace or watch concerts at Lafayette Square.

Rooms

All 135 spacious rooms and suites at The Hotel Modern New Orleans blend old-world appeal and modern appointments. Aside from the vintage collections and books draped in the rooms, guests can also enjoy convenient amenities such as large LCD TV, iPod docking station, work desk, and free wireless Internet access.

Features

The pet-friendly Hotel Modern New Orleans offers a cozy lounge area at Bellocq. Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink invites diners to feast on sumptuous farm-to-table menus made from fresh local ingredients. The hotel also provides room service, limousine service, valet parking (fees apply) and in-room spa treatments.

Breakfast is served from 7am – 11am, while lunch and dinner are from 11am – 11pm.

Transportation
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Attractions
  • National World War II Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Contemporary Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • Valet parking is $30.00 plus tax.
  • $50 non-refundable pet cleaning fee
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
  • The hotel's modern restaurant, Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink, is opening in March 2013. Until the restaurant opens, room service is available for breakfast (7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.) and dinner (5:00 p.n to 10:00 p.m). The hotel lounge, Bellocq, also serves small plates from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel has an ATM as well as a 24-hour fitness center on site.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Modern New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Hotel Modern New Orleans Rooms

Small
(155 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2 through 9 and offer a Queen bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37" LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Medium
(165 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Large
(220 sq ft) Spacious guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Most rooms have a window seating area. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Double
(215 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10, offer 2 Double beds and unobstructed views of Lee Circle and St. Charles Avenue, or downtown New Orleans. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Tivoli & Lee
Modern Southern Food and Drink, features a neighborhood focused, farm-to-table bistro with a heavy emphasis on the freshest local ingredients for their take on local regional southern food.
Bellocq
The cocktail lounge will also feature a rotating menu of drink specials.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deltaboy2
Business
Madison,MS
Aug 19, 2013

Picture perfect

They gave me a early check in @12:30 pm, walked right into the WWII museum at 2pm. The staff was friendly and courteous, room was comfortable. Good food and drinks. Weather was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fariha
Business
Edison, NJ
Sep 2, 2013

Great Stay

The hotel is beautiful, well decorated with art and a parrot! The staff was very helpful. We opted for a small room and there was plenty of space. They had CO Bigelow products (shampoos and wash, lotion, shower cap) which are always great. The courtyard is pretty and a pleasant, shaded place to relax. We didn't have a chance to try to the restaurant, but it looked good. We really liked the location. It was our first time to NOLA and we went during Labor Day weekend. We initially wanted to stay in the French Quarter, but everything was booked. We ended up finding a deal for Hotel Modern and previous reviews said it was in a safe area so we took it. Once we got here, we realized we made the right choice. The French Quarter is a lot of fun, but we were happy to be able to sleep in a quieter neighborhood. It's also right between the French Quarter, which is a very easily walkable distance away (we only cabbed it at night just to be on the safe side) and the Garden District with all the beautiful homes and Lafayette Cemetery. And if you want to experience the trolley, it's right on the green line which can take you in either direction. I would definitely stay here again. The one thing it was missing was an iron.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley is fun to experience as a one time sort of thing, but it's also pretty slow because it makes frequent stops. if you are up for a nice walk during the daytime, you can easily walk to the French Quarter or in the opposite direction towards the Garden District to some of the restaurants along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJBranch
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 21, 2014

Great place to stay in New Orleans

Easy access to streetcar. With in walking distance of nice restaurants, nice,clean rooms, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carri the travelista
Business
Evansville, IN
Jun 2, 2014

Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was friendly, easy to get around the city from this hotel. My room was in front of the elevator but very quiet. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

20 minute walk to bourbon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Masha
Business
Key West, FL, USA
Oct 1, 2011

It was very nice! Best chose you can possibly make!

We were staying at Le Cirque with my sister, 26 years old females. Stuff was very friendly, rooms nice and clean. It's really close to French District \

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask front desk about that nice breakfast place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Webb
Business
parts unknown
Sep 20, 2011

New Orleans Saints 30 - Chicago Bears 13

I was in town for the Saints/Bears game (Who Dat!) for one Saturday night and I enjoyed my stay. I've read a few comments in regards to parking so I wanted to address that first. There is a pay lot behind the hotel and it costs about $20.00 a day. Not bad considering that you can get towed if you park on the street. There is free parking close to the hotel but check with the staff. They can advise you better. The staff was pretty cool and helpful. They were attentive and professional. I thought the location was great. About a 10 minute walk to the French Quarter, maybe a 10 minute walk to the Superdome. The National WWII Museum is right there. There is a nice convenience store across the street. And the streetcars can get you to a lot of points of interest. The room was comfortable and clean, definitely big enough for two even though I was by myself. The hotel is under renovation. The staff told me that it would be completed before the end of the year. The biggest issue I had were the lights outside the building. There was a row of lights right below my window. I woke up a few times thinking it it dawn, then the room would change to another color. But in retrospect I think it was funny. I didn't lose any sleep over it. All and all, a fun and great place. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Also check out the St Charles Tavern, about 4 blocks away. Open 24/7. Great food! Great staff! Great prices! Don't forget to tip!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coco and tio
Business
Houma louisiana
Nov 28, 2014

Couples getaway

Very modern comfy stay! Love the bar! And it's location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yummy food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romance night
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Comfy bed!

Came here with my boyfriend & the hotel was great bed was amazingly comfortable and the bathroom was soo night little small and they were renovating but all in all great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romance night
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Weekend away from home

It was a great experience my 2nd time staying here in under a month...beds are sooo comfy only thing is the place is being renovated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MDMZ
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Feb 4, 2012

Hotel Modern (Formerly La Cirque)

They just remodeled the hotel. I did not stay there prior, but it seems like they are trying to create a unique experience. When you arrive they give you a glass of wine while they get your information together. There is a gregarious parrot in the lobby that they receptionist is usually holding. The connoisseur are young and less experienced, but very very helpful and attentive. With the remodeling they seemed to have changed some logistics, so they are working out a few hiccups in the process, which they are very attentive to. There is a bar and restaurant attached to the hotel, which are quality spots. They don't have a gym, but they arranged for their guests to use the St Charles gym, which is about 6 blocks away, at no cost. I actually appreciated this. Instead of using the limited or poor quality equipment that usually makes up a hotel gym, the St Charles gym had lots of equipment and space in a great atmosphere. If you are like me and don't mind the walk, you are 0.5 mile from the French Quarter. For the money, I don't think there is a better spot in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top