$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deltaboy2
Couples
Madison,MS
Aug 19, 2013

Picture perfect

They gave me a early check in @12:30 pm, walked right into the WWII museum at 2pm. The staff was friendly and courteous, room was comfortable. Good food and drinks. Weather was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fariha
Family
Edison, NJ
Sep 2, 2013

Great Stay

The hotel is beautiful, well decorated with art and a parrot! The staff was very helpful. We opted for a small room and there was plenty of space. They had CO Bigelow products (shampoos and wash, lotion, shower cap) which are always great. The courtyard is pretty and a pleasant, shaded place to relax. We didn't have a chance to try to the restaurant, but it looked good. We really liked the location. It was our first time to NOLA and we went during Labor Day weekend. We initially wanted to stay in the French Quarter, but everything was booked. We ended up finding a deal for Hotel Modern and previous reviews said it was in a safe area so we took it. Once we got here, we realized we made the right choice. The French Quarter is a lot of fun, but we were happy to be able to sleep in a quieter neighborhood. It's also right between the French Quarter, which is a very easily walkable distance away (we only cabbed it at night just to be on the safe side) and the Garden District with all the beautiful homes and Lafayette Cemetery. And if you want to experience the trolley, it's right on the green line which can take you in either direction. I would definitely stay here again. The one thing it was missing was an iron.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley is fun to experience as a one time sort of thing, but it's also pretty slow because it makes frequent stops. if you are up for a nice walk during the daytime, you can easily walk to the French Quarter or in the opposite direction towards the Garden District to some of the restaurants along the way.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carri the travelista
Couples
Evansville, IN
Jun 2, 2014

Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was friendly, easy to get around the city from this hotel. My room was in front of the elevator but very quiet. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

20 minute walk to bourbon.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Masha
Friends
Key West, FL, USA
Oct 1, 2011

It was very nice! Best chose you can possibly make!

We were staying at Le Cirque with my sister, 26 years old females. Stuff was very friendly, rooms nice and clean. It's really close to French District \

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask front desk about that nice breakfast place.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Webb
Family
parts unknown
Sep 20, 2011

New Orleans Saints 30 - Chicago Bears 13

I was in town for the Saints/Bears game (Who Dat!) for one Saturday night and I enjoyed my stay. I've read a few comments in regards to parking so I wanted to address that first. There is a pay lot behind the hotel and it costs about $20.00 a day. Not bad considering that you can get towed if you park on the street. There is free parking close to the hotel but check with the staff. They can advise you better. The staff was pretty cool and helpful. They were attentive and professional. I thought the location was great. About a 10 minute walk to the French Quarter, maybe a 10 minute walk to the Superdome. The National WWII Museum is right there. There is a nice convenience store across the street. And the streetcars can get you to a lot of points of interest. The room was comfortable and clean, definitely big enough for two even though I was by myself. The hotel is under renovation. The staff told me that it would be completed before the end of the year. The biggest issue I had were the lights outside the building. There was a row of lights right below my window. I woke up a few times thinking it it dawn, then the room would change to another color. But in retrospect I think it was funny. I didn't lose any sleep over it. All and all, a fun and great place. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Also check out the St Charles Tavern, about 4 blocks away. Open 24/7. Great food! Great staff! Great prices! Don't forget to tip!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coco and tio
Couples
Houma louisiana
Nov 28, 2014

Couples getaway

Very modern comfy stay! Love the bar! And it's location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yummy food

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adrian A.
Couples
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

One-night stop in the coolest part of town

Our second time staying at Hotel Modern. Most appealing thing is the location. Staying right on Lee Circle, you have access to both St. Charles streetcar lines (toward French Quarter and toward Garden District/Uptown). We are always lucky to find free street parking!!! And we never have to take the car anywhere to get where we need to go. Circle Bar, also on the Circle, is an awesome dive with live music almost every night. The best museums in the city - Ogden, CAC, WWII - are steps away. Staff was amazing, welcoming. The welcome cocktail was such a nice touch. And the rooms are clean, cool and just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JesseCBrooks
Couples
Hammond, LA
Jan 2, 2014

Interesting

Very unique hotel. Both stylish and comfortable. My negative to take from it is that it seemed understaffed and getting help at the front desk or valet can sometimes be complicated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo On the Go
Single
Philadelphia
Mar 11, 2014

Not so bad if you don;t mind the commute

I happened to arrive right when a parade was coming down St Charles Street, so getting through the Police Barricades was a challenge. Once there, the clerk was pleasant but the bell hops did not even hold door open for you as you dragged your luggage in. The room was pleasant, the window small with a higher than average sill. There was no iron! Housekeeping did not empty coffee or refresh until I left a tip. I found that the trash cans without bags was not sanitary. Location is good if you are a city person who does not mind taking trolley into French Quarter. The hotel is right next to art museum so that is a plus. I did not think the price matched the experience - I paid premium due to time of year. The restaurant is good but pricey as is all of New Orleans eateries. The Beet Salad was to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Art Museum/ St Charles Trolley

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Love 3
Friends
Pensacola, FL
Apr 29, 2014

Very helpful staff

This hotel isn't too far from downtown New Orleans. The street car conveniently stops right by the hotel so it's easy to get downtown. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was kind and more than helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top