The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was... See full review

  • Carri the travelista
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great place to stay in New Orleans

Easy access to streetcar. With in walking distance of nice restaurants, nice,clean rooms, quiet. See full review

  • JJBranch
  • Apr 21, 2014
Old-world appeal and modern conveniences near Mississippi River

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is a stylish smoke-free haven with tastefully decorated guestrooms designed with modern aesthetics. Tourists staying at this contemporary hotel can easily visit the historic collections at the nearby National World War II Museum. At The Hotel Modern New Orleans, guest can sample regional specialties at Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink or enjoy fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge on site.

Highlights
  • Fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge
  • Complimentary wireless Internet in guestrooms
Location

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is ideally situated in the heart of New Orleans, just a short walk from galleries, shops and local museums. While in the area, guests can check out the restaurants and shopping stores at Riverwalk Marketplace or watch concerts at Lafayette Square.

Rooms

All 135 spacious rooms and suites at The Hotel Modern New Orleans blend old-world appeal and modern appointments. Aside from the vintage collections and books draped in the rooms, guests can also enjoy convenient amenities such as large LCD TV, iPod docking station, work desk, and free wireless Internet access.

Features

The pet-friendly Hotel Modern New Orleans offers a cozy lounge area at Bellocq. Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink invites diners to feast on sumptuous farm-to-table menus made from fresh local ingredients. The hotel also provides room service, limousine service, valet parking (fees apply) and in-room spa treatments.

Breakfast is served from 7am – 11am, while lunch and dinner are from 11am – 11pm.

Transportation
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Attractions
  • National World War II Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Contemporary Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • Valet parking is $30.00 plus tax.
  • $50 non-refundable pet cleaning fee
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
  • The hotel's modern restaurant, Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink, is opening in March 2013. Until the restaurant opens, room service is available for breakfast (7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.) and dinner (5:00 p.n to 10:00 p.m). The hotel lounge, Bellocq, also serves small plates from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel has an ATM as well as a 24-hour fitness center on site.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Hotel Modern New Orleans Rooms

Small
(155 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2 through 9 and offer a Queen bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37" LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Medium
(165 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Large
(220 sq ft) Spacious guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Most rooms have a window seating area. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Double
(215 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10, offer 2 Double beds and unobstructed views of Lee Circle and St. Charles Avenue, or downtown New Orleans. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Hotel Map

29.9437 -90.0719
Area served
New Orleans, Kenner, Metairie, Westbank, French Quarter
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport - 15 miles (20 minutes) Cab Fee $33.00 (one way) Airport Shuttle $20.00 (per person-one way).
Area description
New Orleans' Warehouse-Arts district is an exciting, newly revitalized neighborhood. Attractions include the Contemporary Arts Center, The Ogden Museum of Southern Art and The National World War II Museum, in addition to Julia Street's thriving gallery scene. Restaurants and bars continue to open in the neighborhood, joining mainstays such as Emeril's from renowned chef Emeril Lagasse. The Hotel Modern New Orleans is located at Lee Circle, home to the monument of American Civil War general Robert E. Lee. The St. Charles Avenue Streetcar stops at Lee Circle, offering hotel guests a quick ride to and from the legendary French Quarter.

Nearby points of interest

  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Tivoli & Lee
Modern Southern Food and Drink, features a neighborhood focused, farm-to-table bistro with a heavy emphasis on the freshest local ingredients for their take on local regional southern food.
Bellocq
The cocktail lounge will also feature a rotating menu of drink specials.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Masha
Key West, FL, USA
Oct 1, 2011

It was very nice! Best chose you can possibly make!

We were staying at Le Cirque with my sister, 26 years old females. Stuff was very friendly, rooms nice and clean. It's really close to French District \

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ask front desk about that nice breakfast place.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vince manuel
texas
Jul 29, 2013

good room

Very good. Staff was excellent! !!! Ckean rooms.staff was very helpful on places to eat and party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos Miller
Houston-TX
May 21, 2012

Excelente experience

Great staff, great service, no complains whatsoever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wilikoki
Business
Hawaii, USA
Jan 23, 2012

fun night in the Big Easy!.

Beautiful hotel! A great location in all the fun without being in in it! We stayed only one nite was our bigggest regret. Awesome staff with a fun casual formal setting. Definately going back for a nice looooong stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rozmica
Denver, Colorado
Feb 9, 2013

New Orleans Stop-over

We had a great time in New Orleans. Although not in the heart of the Jazz, this hotel was a nice walk to the French Quarter. We found some fun places to listen to great jazz. The hotel is also, a stones throw from some great museums and the atmosphere was warm & friendly. The hotel has a lot of character, and the staff was very helpful. It was a little difficult to find, but it is right off the freeway so that made it easy to get in and out of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Webb
parts unknown
Sep 20, 2011

New Orleans Saints 30 - Chicago Bears 13

I was in town for the Saints/Bears game (Who Dat!) for one Saturday night and I enjoyed my stay. I've read a few comments in regards to parking so I wanted to address that first. There is a pay lot behind the hotel and it costs about $20.00 a day. Not bad considering that you can get towed if you park on the street. There is free parking close to the hotel but check with the staff. They can advise you better. The staff was pretty cool and helpful. They were attentive and professional. I thought the location was great. About a 10 minute walk to the French Quarter, maybe a 10 minute walk to the Superdome. The National WWII Museum is right there. There is a nice convenience store across the street. And the streetcars can get you to a lot of points of interest. The room was comfortable and clean, definitely big enough for two even though I was by myself. The hotel is under renovation. The staff told me that it would be completed before the end of the year. The biggest issue I had were the lights outside the building. There was a row of lights right below my window. I woke up a few times thinking it it dawn, then the room would change to another color. But in retrospect I think it was funny. I didn't lose any sleep over it. All and all, a fun and great place. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Also check out the St Charles Tavern, about 4 blocks away. Open 24/7. Great food! Great staff! Great prices! Don't forget to tip!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Wow...

This newly remodeled hotel was a perfect distance from the convention center and the best dining NOLA had to offer. The rooms were modern and sleek, loved the C.O. Bigelow toiletries and the bed was so comfy. I would definately stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the trolley service that stops just outside the hotel $3.00 will get you an all day pass.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Webb
parts unknown
Sep 20, 2011

New Orleans Saints 30 - Chicago Bears 13

I was in town for the Saints/Bears game (Who Dat!) for one Saturday night and I enjoyed my stay. I've read a few comments in regards to parking so I wanted to address that first. There is a pay lot behind the hotel and it costs about $20.00 a day. Not bad considering that you can get towed if you park on the street. There is free parking close to the hotel but check with the staff. They can advise you better. The staff was pretty cool and helpful. They were attentive and professional. I thought the location was great. About a 10 minute walk to the French Quarter, maybe a 10 minute walk to the Superdome. The National WWII Museum is right there. There is a nice convenience store across the street. And the streetcars can get you to a lot of points of interest. The room was comfortable and clean, definitely big enough for two even though I was by myself. The hotel is under renovation. The staff told me that it would be completed before the end of the year. The biggest issue I had were the lights outside the building. There was a row of lights right below my window. I woke up a few times thinking it it dawn, then the room would change to another color. But in retrospect I think it was funny. I didn't lose any sleep over it. All and all, a fun and great place. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Also check out the St Charles Tavern, about 4 blocks away. Open 24/7. Great food! Great staff! Great prices! Don't forget to tip!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deltaboy2
Madison,MS
Aug 19, 2013

Picture perfect

They gave me a early check in @12:30 pm, walked right into the WWII museum at 2pm. The staff was friendly and courteous, room was comfortable. Good food and drinks. Weather was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, new york
Sep 15, 2012

great hotel

this hotel was a great place to get around the areas of New Orleans from. Friendly & Helpful staff. If you need to get around they also offer a bike with lock. Will be back here when i stay in the CBD again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

you can take a streetcar , bus , cheap taxi ride or just walk to the french quater from the hotel

Back to menu Return to top