$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
102 reviews
Couples getaway

Very modern comfy stay! Love the bar! And it's location. See full review

  • Coco and tio
  • Nov 28, 2014
Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was... See full review

  • Carri the travelista
  • Jun 2, 2014
Old-world appeal and modern conveniences near Mississippi River

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is a stylish smoke-free haven with tastefully decorated guestrooms designed with modern aesthetics. Tourists staying at this contemporary hotel can easily visit the historic collections at the nearby National World War II Museum. At The Hotel Modern New Orleans, guest can sample regional specialties at Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink or enjoy fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge on site.

Highlights
  • Fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge
  • Complimentary wireless Internet in guestrooms
Location

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is ideally situated in the heart of New Orleans, just a short walk from galleries, shops and local museums. While in the area, guests can check out the restaurants and shopping stores at Riverwalk Marketplace or watch concerts at Lafayette Square.

Rooms

All 135 spacious rooms and suites at The Hotel Modern New Orleans blend old-world appeal and modern appointments. Aside from the vintage collections and books draped in the rooms, guests can also enjoy convenient amenities such as large LCD TV, iPod docking station, work desk, and free wireless Internet access.

Features

The pet-friendly Hotel Modern New Orleans offers a cozy lounge area at Bellocq. Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink invites diners to feast on sumptuous farm-to-table menus made from fresh local ingredients. The hotel also provides room service, limousine service, valet parking (fees apply) and in-room spa treatments.

Breakfast is served from 7am – 11am, while lunch and dinner are from 11am – 11pm.

Transportation
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Attractions
  • National World War II Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Contemporary Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • Valet parking is $30.00 plus tax.
  • $50 non-refundable pet cleaning fee
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
  • The hotel's modern restaurant, Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink, is opening in March 2013. Until the restaurant opens, room service is available for breakfast (7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.) and dinner (5:00 p.n to 10:00 p.m). The hotel lounge, Bellocq, also serves small plates from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel has an ATM as well as a 24-hour fitness center on site.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Modern New Orleans also booked these hotels.

The Hotel Modern New Orleans Rooms

Small
(155 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2 through 9 and offer a Queen bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37" LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Medium
(165 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Large
(220 sq ft) Spacious guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Most rooms have a window seating area. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Double
(215 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10, offer 2 Double beds and unobstructed views of Lee Circle and St. Charles Avenue, or downtown New Orleans. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Tivoli & Lee
Modern Southern Food and Drink, features a neighborhood focused, farm-to-table bistro with a heavy emphasis on the freshest local ingredients for their take on local regional southern food.
Bellocq
The cocktail lounge will also feature a rotating menu of drink specials.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
a.r.j.r.
Business
Houma, LA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Wait about a year

This hotel experience was pretty disappointing. It is currently undergoing renovation. Visqueen and cardboard are everywhere. There is not even a vending machine. The hotel might be okay once everything is complete but for now... stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nesta
Business
St Louis, MO, USA
Dec 13, 2011

This is a Joke, right????????

The hotel was going through a total renovation !!! Most of the time I had to enter the hotel through the kitchen??? What a great impression!! And to think I had to pay for something like this, you should be ashamed for charging me to stay there!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nikki plunkett
Business
New Orleans
Feb 13, 2012

the Hotl Mondern horrbile getaway

The room colors were very loud, the hall were a red orgage. There was no ice machine nd the staff was rude. My back is still sour from the bed. I would not recomend this hotel when staying in New Orleans there are alot of hotels in the city and this was a horrible stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

mardi gras parades

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suling
Business
Mississippi
May 23, 2012

our 6 day stay at this hotel

First of all, this building use to me the old YMCA. The bathroom is so small two adults can not use it at the same time ( 6ft x 4ft), there is almost NO place to put your toiletries and the very small closet has little room to hand cloths for 2. What they call large room is very, very small. The staff was average at best and not very helpful. There is a $25.00 per day charge to valet your car and if you try to park in front of the hotel YOU WILL BE TOWED. There is one very strange restaurant in the hotel, where it is refered to as, FRENCH - VIETNAMESE cuisine, what a JOKE and the prices were ridiculous high. New Orleans is a GREAT city, plan to stay ANYWHERE else to ensure your trip if fun and hassle free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOLA visitor 2014
Business
San Francisco
Mar 23, 2014

Horrible Experience

I stayed here for 5 nights and had to move to a different room twice! 1st room: Light was emitting a loud buzzing sound, shampoo/conditioner rack was broken so I couldn't squeeze content out (showered the first night w/o shampoo and conditioner). Lastly, found an opened soda bottle in the mini frig!! Gross!!! 2nd room: People next door was loud and inconsiderate. At 1am, they were partying as if it was their own home. I had to wake up early next morning for a conference so I had to call and request to move to another room. Again, packed all my belongings and moved out. 3rd room: Everything was actually good, except the bathroom faucet drain was clogged up. Next time I'm in NOLA, I think I would book something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aarongza2000
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 6, 2012

Tiny room & very expensive valet

The valet is very expensive ($40) per day. The hotel can charge whatever they want because there is no public parking lot close by. My room is 155 square feet with no windows. It was like sleeping in a match box. My suitcase took up the little available walking space by the bed. The room was clean though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sharondewey
Business
Baton Rouge
Nov 26, 2012

Overnight stay

The hotel is kinda on the dark and weird side. No one is there to greet you. Your credit card is taken to the back out of your view to complete the transaction. Then, your room key is given to you. The hotel staff lacks friendliness, and their non-inviting. The room is cute & unique! It was decent, fit for two people. Overall, hotel is cool, the staff needs to work customer service. It would make this hotel a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
4 kings
Business
jackson,ms
Jan 30, 2013

QUICK GET AWAY

VERY NICE FOR ONE NIGHT STAY. SMALL RESTURANT NOT MUCH FOOD TO CHOOSE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed Dame
Business
NY, NY
Jul 9, 2013

Needs a lesson on cleanliness and customer service

The hotel is in a prime location, just blocks from the convention center and a decent walk from the dome and french quarter. The hotel was totally booked and the internet reviews were good. We got to the hotel room only to find that the bathroom was not properly cleaned - feces under the seat! There was a leak in the bathroom and we were told that a roll out was one price only to get charged a per night fee that was eventually waived due to the inconvenience. The maintenance man flooded the toilet and housekeeping left soaked towels in the bathroom. There is no real front desk, just staff that sits in a room behind a bookcase. Throughout the weekend, we witnessed several complaints and were told by acquaintance who had stayed at the hotel before that customer service was bad. To the hotel's defense, I found the staff to be amicable and willing to accomodate and help. I just think that they need more training and the hotel needs to rethink its strategy on accomodating customers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant in the hotel is decent and decently priced

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lockwave
Business
pensacola fl
Sep 18, 2013

It was okay considering

We arrived and check in was easy. Valet parking is $30 a day, and the first time I called them To bring my car around, I went downstairs and waited 20 minutes, no car.. The valet attendant was told the wrong Valley number by the desk clerk... Toilet bowl flushed and shop water out of toilet bowl onto floor... The rest of the room was nice, But the pictures on the Internet are not the same as the room. I called valet the second day, and went downstairs and there was no car... I had to wait an additional 15 minutes, Desk clerk forgot to tell valet to get my car. In the middle of the second night we stayed, the fire alarm went off. We were all removed out of the building at 2:30 in the morning... It was a false alarm. This hotel Needs to get their act together Before Allstate again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hoshun Japanese open till 2 am. Awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top