$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 22, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss O
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 16, 2013

Great family visit

My experience at the hotel was great overall. The service is what made it enjoyable. I travel with my son all the time so it is important that the hotel possess children-friendly attributes. The staff here were great with accomadting any needs. I had a few issues with my first room but the staff gladly switched me to another room. Parking was $30 a night, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
muscibymark
Business
upper peninsula of Michigan
Mar 5, 2013

Great place; super streetcar access to Canal/Bourbon St.

Really liked the modern renovation which was done well, smooth plaster work, professionally painted, decorated w/ nice touches if you like modern, but also some old paintings. Staff were top notch, friendly & effortful like they were personally invested in the success of the hotel & customer satisfaction. hard to find employees like that! Neat parrot in lobby. I was on 9th floor w/ decent view. Street cars go right up to the circle the hotel is on - VERY convenient ($1.25 trip / $3 all day, but best deal is to buy a week or 5 day pass I think at the drug stores (not available on streetcar). Cars are 1800s I'm told, stilll running. Stop on Canal (Main drag) right near start of Bourbon St. FEATHER beds are nice too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Palace Cafe on Canal, near St. Charles intersection was great, sort of upscale old Diner motif, but very good staff, food, atmosphere. Great import beers for sale individually, etc. at good price on Decatur. Frenchman St. has nightlife, & is less "college drunks", more locals probably, but fewer restaurants than Bourbon/Canal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neil the rocketman
Business
minnesota
Mar 1, 2013

Great fun

Riding the street car to bourban street was hours of fun each day!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Bourban street is awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Runner Mo
Business
Oklahoma City, OK
Feb 25, 2013

Out of the way.

Stayed here for RNR Marathon. Close to the start, restaurants, C-Stores and the Convention Center. Reasonable price for that weekend. One small problem with Heater, but fixed within 30 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to RNR Marathon Start.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Junghwan
Business
Clinton, MS
Feb 12, 2013

Great location but understaffed for events

I went during Mardi Gras weekend and they were severely understaffed. The rooms were fairly clean and the beds were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jennifer I Travel For Fun
Business
Birmingham, Al
Feb 11, 2013

Nice hotel but...

This is a very nice hotel with a friendly staff. The only issues I had with it was there was no microwave and iron with ironing board in the room. They did have dry cleaning and ironing services though and an ironing board and iron were brought to my room when I requested it. Also I didnt like that there was no trash can in the restroom... Other than that the hotel is clean and it looks nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great for Mardi Gras and a 10-15 minute walk from Bourbon St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rozmica
Business
Denver, Colorado
Feb 9, 2013

New Orleans Stop-over

We had a great time in New Orleans. Although not in the heart of the Jazz, this hotel was a nice walk to the French Quarter. We found some fun places to listen to great jazz. The hotel is also, a stones throw from some great museums and the atmosphere was warm & friendly. The hotel has a lot of character, and the staff was very helpful. It was a little difficult to find, but it is right off the freeway so that made it easy to get in and out of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
4 kings
Business
jackson,ms
Jan 30, 2013

QUICK GET AWAY

VERY NICE FOR ONE NIGHT STAY. SMALL RESTURANT NOT MUCH FOOD TO CHOOSE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doc Jam
Business
Tennessee
Jan 28, 2013

New Orleans Modern

Nice Hotel, I didnt like my credid card going to the back. They do this because of little space for a real front desk. The self park is 3 blocks away. You would think a deal could be cut with the lot behind the hotel. Other than that Nice Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HENRY SPSP
Business
PALO ALTO, CALIFORNIA
Jan 20, 2013

Super Good

It was very comfortable. Very helpful staff! I was lost because it was my first time around and they helped me find my way around - places to eat, how to get around, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top