The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnnyK1
Business
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Feb 6, 2012

Great Stay, Great Value

I would surely return here, beautiful view of Lee Circle. My room was newly renovated and had a fridge, the hotel bar was classy, plenty parking nearby. I paid 40.00 for Friday thru Sunday to park. It is easy to catch the streetcar and ride to Canal Street if you wanted, the weather was so nice we always walked. I have stayed in NOLA many times in the last 6 years, this is a great value. My girlfriend called room service for coffee at 5:00 AM, the kitchen wasn't open yet so they picked up coffee from a nearby shop and it was delivered steaming hot. Thanks for the great service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Long Gone
Business
Dallas, Texas
Feb 24, 2012

Good Value !!

Enjoyed the hotel. I do think they need an "official front desk" Good value for your money. The hotel is clean and looks great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atl88
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 23, 2012

great mardi gras location!!

Very Clean. Very nice. Would have been better if there was room service but it's ok! The entire staff were very attentive! I got the smallest room but I still think it was a pretty good size. I would definitely return. As with other surrounding hotels in New Orleans, valet sucks. Do not waste your $38 a night for valet. There's this parking garage on Howard which is 5 min away from the hotel ON FEET I'd suggest you use. Only $10 and you can make a deal with them for in and out service if you pay for your complete stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Jackson Square The Riverwalk Bourbon Street

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickey826
Business
Providence, RI
Feb 27, 2012

Amazing Mardi Gras Experience

This hotel was in THE perfect location for getting a great spot at the parades!! Orpheus and Rex went right in front of it in Lee Circle! The *only problem* I had was that parking was not included in the price I paid for the reservation. When I arrived, I expected that it was, and was quickly informed that it would be $40 extra per night, to have the car valet parked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daisy Dukes has great breakfast, and free refills on bloody Marys :)

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arline
Business
naperville il
Mar 8, 2012

big easy

It was very nice and clean however we had to remind them to freshen our room twice on one day. The restaurant had wonderful food very enjoyable meal. The wine upon arrival was very welcoming We would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cindy Z.
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 15, 2012

First Getaway!

Most important, the bed was to die for!!! My fiance and I had the best sleep of our lives before and after a night on Bourbon street. The location was far enough from the noise but walking distance from all the entertainment New Orleans has to offer. The price was reasonable. I only wish we would have been more informed about different parking prices due to a high price on valet. This was our first trip as a couple and we can't wait to go back and visit The Hotel Modern New Orleans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to stop by Decatur St. to watch the acrobatic show of four humorous men flipping and jumping over people. It was about a 30min show and a nice break from walking.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moldol08
Business
Denver, CO, USA
Mar 26, 2012

I would go back.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting New Orleans. The staff is super friendly, and the rooms were very clean. Easy walk to get over to the French Quarter and Bourbon Street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Freebird1945
Business
Wadsworth, Ohio
Apr 11, 2012

Great but needs a few tweeks

Room price was reasonable, but valet parking much higher ($42+) than average in this area, bringing room/parking to approach $200 per day. No sensible alternatives exist and they know it. Maid service a bit iffy, forgetting to replace some items. Bed comfortable. Room small but certainly large enough for two. Front desk personnel excellent. Access to the trolley excellent. Close to art galleries, WWII and art museum. Restaurant food good but needs more variety. Restaurant noisy, but aren't they all in N.O.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the trolley. Cheap. Stops about 1 block from hotel. Ride to the Quarter only takes about 5 minutes. Don't drive your own vehhicle or you'll spend $$$ for downtown lots.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel G.
Business
Georgia
Apr 18, 2012

Good start, with a rough ending.

I am a business traveler that basically spends the vast majority of my time on the road and in hotels. I was travelling from Georgia to Texas and decided to spend the night in New Orleans on 4/17/12. My wife booked the room for me, so other than where it was located and that the parking was supposed to be secure, I knew nothing about the hotel. When I arrived at the Hotel Modern, I was immediately impressed with the appearence of the hotel and its surroundings. My work truck, which is packed with expensive equipment, was valet parked in a secure area which is monitored 24/7 for $18.00 a day. When I entered the lobby, I was immediate greeted by the staff. After asking my name and inviting me to sit down, I was offered a glass of wine while I was checked in. During the check in process, the staff members chatted with me and explained the various amenities and offerings of the hotel. I planned to do some computer work in the morning and check out somewhat early, so I asked about breakfast and room service and was told that they began serving at 7 am. I was assigned room 906, which turned out to be on the front of the hotel and had an impressive view. The room is small, but stylish and provided all the comforts of home except for in-room coffee maker and there are no ice machines, but if you call room service, they will bring a bucket to your room. The hotel itself is not in the French Quarter, but is right on a trolly line, which runs every few minutes, and brings you directly to all the areas of interest. That evening, I had dinner in the French Quarter and did some siight-seeing, and after several hours, returned to the hotel. I woke up about 6 am, did some business related work, took a shower and about 7:20 am, I began trying to order room service. From that time, until about 9 am, I attempted to contact room service and kept reaching a recording. I called the front desk and explained what was happening and they assured me that they would contact room service directly, and have them call me back. It never happened. When I went to check out, I observed that the restaurant was open and a few people were inside having coffee, so I am unsure what the issue was that morning. I informed the person that checked me out of the problems that I had encountered and surprisingly, they offered nothing other than a half hearted apology and no explanation for the breakdown in service that morning. No coffee, no breakfast and a bad ending to an otherwise good stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ss42
Business
Houma, Louisiana
Apr 24, 2012

French Quarter Fest Overnight

We were pleasantly surprised. Great location, great staff and the hotel was quite nice. We would absolutely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top