$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tessie46
Business
London
May 14, 2013

Good conference hotel

Overall it was a good position for the conference a short work to the convention area. Staff very helpful. Room was a little noisy for me with the constant drone of the air conditioning unit. Restaurant and bar very good excellent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AwesomeBostonian
Business
Boston
May 14, 2013

Wonderful Place to Stay

Right in Downtown New Orleans--close to Warehouse district, CBD, French quarter (1mi), the Marigny (2mi) walking distance (2mi) to the Treme, easy cab ride uptown for music at Tipitina's or the Maple Leaf Bar. Great hotel bar with expert mixologist on staff; also, hotel has a parrot. Herbsaint and Cochon less than a mile away, for amazing meals (make a reservation!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Herbsaint (on St. Charles) and Cochon (on Tchoupitoulas)--easy walks, amazing chefs.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FemmeJr
Business
New York, NY
May 10, 2013

Not centrally located but great bar and restaurant

Pros: -Lovely boutique hotel -Close to the convention center -Excellent bar and restaurant (Tivoli & Lee; Bellaoq) -Friendly bellhops and front desk staff -Friendly parrot roams the front desk and lobby! Cons: -Can't check in before 3 PM -Not close to the French Quarter or downtown area; cabs are a must -Tiny rooms and shower - I had to call more than once when ordering room service or toiletries -Advertises complimentary wine and water at front desk, but either wasn't there or no glasses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely enjoy cocktails at Tivoli & Lee and Belloq.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M. F. Martini
Business
San Antonio
May 1, 2013

Loved the Warehouse District!

This hotel is newely redone. BBar tenders practice great mixology! We liked the atmosphere of the location much better that when we stayed closer to Burbon St. We had a convention to attend and we could walk to the convention center with no problem. The one minus--there is valet parking available @ $30 a night, 3 blocks away, or you can self park RIGHT BEHIND THE HOTEL for $20!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The bar tenders were great! They are really into the whole "mixology" thing and have some really wonderful drinks to try--the Earl Grey Garden was at the top of the list.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well Traveled Pair
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
Apr 17, 2013

A nice place, but at least one "miss" every day

The hotel is nice and the location is convenient to the streetcar system. The stop is just a block away. Taxis to/from the French Quarter will be under $10 each way. Every day that we stayed (3 nights) had a minor error that was easily fixed, but could have been eliminated with better oversight. For example, we were given a nice coffee pot, but no cups. A call to the front desk, and we had cups 10 minutes later. On the second night, we discovered that we had no towels. Once again, a call to the front desk and we hotels in 10 minutes. On the third night, we experienced technical difficulties with our room key cards and had to make three trips downstairs to get the problem resolved so that we could enter out room. Overall, the hotel was fine and the staff was very nice, but at an average price of $165 per night, it wasn't the best value in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kmactravel
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 6, 2013

Good first time stay in NOLA

Good, friendly service. Location not bad, right in front of WWII museum, and a relatively short rail car ride to French quarter area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JoeybiggunzCaronna
Business
Enfield, CT
Apr 3, 2013

Awesome hotel!!! Newly weds had a great time staying here!!!!

We found this hotel on internet while in our honey moon. The reviews were good so we stayed. Really great clean hotel. It's a hotel in a modern style so if your looking for the ultra traditional this is not. We loved it the staff was helpful and friendly. The parking was not to far. The beds were comfy and the rooms were very clean. This was our favorite hotel on our honey moon by far. We walked everyday and night to the French quarter not a bad walk at all. We felt safe even walking at 2 in the morning from bourbon st. The coolest part is that this place has bikes that you can rent for free. That was awesome to ride around on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Spirits on bourbon as seem on bar rescue. Mona Lisa's Italian restaurant

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minivacay superhero
Business
Baton Rouge
Mar 30, 2013

Lovely location for authentic New Orleans

Overall I enjoyed my stay for a one night trip. The staff was friendly and the feel of the hotel is nice. The room was could have used more cleaning concerning the bed. There were stains on the pillow cases and fuzz in the bed when covers where pushed back. The location is perfect and far enough from the bourbon riff raff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daisy Dukes!!!!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bennett Ledet
Business
Lafayette, Louisiana
Mar 26, 2013

First Night Away

Very nice room and staff. Great for a short get away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pensley
Business
dallas, Texas
Mar 25, 2013

GREAT HOTEL! NICE AND CLEAN!

This hotel was awesome it is a little further away from the Quarter but a street car stop is right by the hotel so no big deal! The check in is a little slow, but its expected of a small business. Their staff is not like your big chains (Holiday Inn, Marriot, etc.) but they are very accomodating! There was self parking right behind the hotel for $20 a night and that was a + Overall it was a great stay at a reall shabby chic hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Catch the street car to the Katrina exhibit in Lincoln square!!

Back to menu Return to top