$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DynamicDuo
Couples
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 15, 2014

Modern people use irons right?

The Hotel Modern has a welcoming ambience. Scarlet the parrot was a nice touch. Couldn't get towels in middle of the night. There was no iron

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good selections

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
merryvarr
Business
rhode island
Oct 14, 2014

Not bad

Small, boutique feel. Rooms small and minimal but clean. Bathrooms are nice. Location was good, close to Julia street and walk to French Quarter. Staff was pleasant. Restaurant was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason C.
Couples
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Good stay

We were in town for thd sugar bowl and stayed here. The only problem we had was a delay in check in. Room was good. Location is not a bad walk to Bourbon street and other amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessica F.
Business
Fayetteville
Jan 16, 2015

Quick Business Stay

I stayed here for only a single night as I was in and out for business pretty quickly. I would not recommend this hotel. While it was in a great location, particularly for Mardi Gras events, most other elements were disappointing. The decor seemed lacking, good idea to go a bit hipster, but everything looked haphazard. The mattress was sunk down in the middle and would be uncomfortable if more than owner person was sleeping there. The room did not have an iron/ironing board. I requested these items and the staff was quick to bring them, but the iron had junk melted on it. I had to request a second iron and the staff was again quick. I was appreciative of the in-room keurig, but found only decaf coffee options upon waking. Again, I called down to the front desk and they promptly brought additional options. After showering, I found that the blow-dryer was broken. So, again, I called down to the front for a replacement. This time the service was very slow. It took an hour for them to bring the blow dryer causing me to have to leave for work events with wet hair. Very unsatisfactory! Besides this, the bathroom was too dim for make-up application. If you want a place on Lee circle for Mardi Gras, but have no other standards, this might be the place for you. If you expect certain other amenities, maybe look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JACQUES B.
Couples
N/A
Jul 8, 2015

Not so great

The hotel was not so clean. I needed an iron and could not get ine. a guest called my room at 1am asking if i had an iron to give her. i called the front desk several times but they never picked up. The parking was too expensive. I was very disappointed with the restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JesseCBrooks
Couples
Hammond, LA
Jan 2, 2014

Interesting

Very unique hotel. Both stylish and comfortable. My negative to take from it is that it seemed understaffed and getting help at the front desk or valet can sometimes be complicated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo On the Go
Single
Philadelphia
Mar 11, 2014

Not so bad if you don;t mind the commute

I happened to arrive right when a parade was coming down St Charles Street, so getting through the Police Barricades was a challenge. Once there, the clerk was pleasant but the bell hops did not even hold door open for you as you dragged your luggage in. The room was pleasant, the window small with a higher than average sill. There was no iron! Housekeeping did not empty coffee or refresh until I left a tip. I found that the trash cans without bags was not sanitary. Location is good if you are a city person who does not mind taking trolley into French Quarter. The hotel is right next to art museum so that is a plus. I did not think the price matched the experience - I paid premium due to time of year. The restaurant is good but pricey as is all of New Orleans eateries. The Beet Salad was to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Art Museum/ St Charles Trolley

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Love 3
Friends
Pensacola, FL
Apr 29, 2014

Very helpful staff

This hotel isn't too far from downtown New Orleans. The street car conveniently stops right by the hotel so it's easy to get downtown. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was kind and more than helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romance night
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Comfy bed!

Came here with my boyfriend & the hotel was great bed was amazingly comfortable and the bathroom was soo night little small and they were renovating but all in all great stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Romance night
Couples
Houston, TX, USA
Nov 21, 2011

Weekend away from home

It was a great experience my 2nd time staying here in under a month...beds are sooo comfy only thing is the place is being renovated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top