$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, new york
Sep 15, 2012

great hotel

this hotel was a great place to get around the areas of New Orleans from. Friendly & Helpful staff. If you need to get around they also offer a bike with lock. Will be back here when i stay in the CBD again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

you can take a streetcar , bus , cheap taxi ride or just walk to the french quater from the hotel

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jwilly
Business
phila
Jul 9, 2012

a Modern experience

The room was very small hence small room so make sure you booked the appropriate size. Too many items offered at ridicoulous costs especially with a gas station across the street with the same things for much less-overall the experience was fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SRQ Traveller
Business
Sarasota, FL
Jun 20, 2012

Location/Value make up for Staff

Front desk staff - day shift and night shift - need to get on same page. Day staff was friendly whereas the night staff seemed put-off by the slightest thing. We asked three times for a map of the city (once to the concierge and twice to the front desk) and never received it. The continental breakfast is pathetic but for the cost of the room it's standard - Hotel Modern obviously doesn't believe in giving "over-and-above" service all around. The cleaning staff were the best part of the paid staff, in my opinion. If you plan on reserving a room here during the weekend, request a room in the main tower NOT above the bar/restaurant area - the music at the bar is blaring until around 1:30am or so and travels to the rooms above. With the abundance of Hotel choices in the area at the same nightly price as Hotel Modern, I personally would not book another stay in this hotel - I would try my chances with another equally-priced hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Junghwan
Business
Clinton, MS
Feb 12, 2013

Great location but understaffed for events

I went during Mardi Gras weekend and they were severely understaffed. The rooms were fairly clean and the beds were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Doc Jam
Business
Tennessee
Jan 28, 2013

New Orleans Modern

Nice Hotel, I didnt like my credid card going to the back. They do this because of little space for a real front desk. The self park is 3 blocks away. You would think a deal could be cut with the lot behind the hotel. Other than that Nice Hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss O
Business
Dallas, Texas
Mar 16, 2013

Great family visit

My experience at the hotel was great overall. The service is what made it enjoyable. I travel with my son all the time so it is important that the hotel possess children-friendly attributes. The staff here were great with accomadting any needs. I had a few issues with my first room but the staff gladly switched me to another room. Parking was $30 a night, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minivacay superhero
Business
Baton Rouge
Mar 30, 2013

Lovely location for authentic New Orleans

Overall I enjoyed my stay for a one night trip. The staff was friendly and the feel of the hotel is nice. The room was could have used more cleaning concerning the bed. There were stains on the pillow cases and fuzz in the bed when covers where pushed back. The location is perfect and far enough from the bourbon riff raff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daisy Dukes!!!!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Well Traveled Pair
Business
Kansas City, Missouri
Apr 17, 2013

A nice place, but at least one "miss" every day

The hotel is nice and the location is convenient to the streetcar system. The stop is just a block away. Taxis to/from the French Quarter will be under $10 each way. Every day that we stayed (3 nights) had a minor error that was easily fixed, but could have been eliminated with better oversight. For example, we were given a nice coffee pot, but no cups. A call to the front desk, and we had cups 10 minutes later. On the second night, we discovered that we had no towels. Once again, a call to the front desk and we hotels in 10 minutes. On the third night, we experienced technical difficulties with our room key cards and had to make three trips downstairs to get the problem resolved so that we could enter out room. Overall, the hotel was fine and the staff was very nice, but at an average price of $165 per night, it wasn't the best value in town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FemmeJr
Business
New York, NY
May 10, 2013

Not centrally located but great bar and restaurant

Pros: -Lovely boutique hotel -Close to the convention center -Excellent bar and restaurant (Tivoli & Lee; Bellaoq) -Friendly bellhops and front desk staff -Friendly parrot roams the front desk and lobby! Cons: -Can't check in before 3 PM -Not close to the French Quarter or downtown area; cabs are a must -Tiny rooms and shower - I had to call more than once when ordering room service or toiletries -Advertises complimentary wine and water at front desk, but either wasn't there or no glasses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely enjoy cocktails at Tivoli & Lee and Belloq.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pintoticus
Business
Milwaukee, WI
May 27, 2013

Solid

Nice location, walkable to Burbon & other attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DynamicDuo
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 15, 2014

Modern people use irons right?

The Hotel Modern has a welcoming ambience. Scarlet the parrot was a nice touch. Couldn't get towels in middle of the night. There was no iron

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good selections

Back to menu Return to top