$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo On the Go
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 11, 2014

Not so bad if you don;t mind the commute

I happened to arrive right when a parade was coming down St Charles Street, so getting through the Police Barricades was a challenge. Once there, the clerk was pleasant but the bell hops did not even hold door open for you as you dragged your luggage in. The room was pleasant, the window small with a higher than average sill. There was no iron! Housekeeping did not empty coffee or refresh until I left a tip. I found that the trash cans without bags was not sanitary. Location is good if you are a city person who does not mind taking trolley into French Quarter. The hotel is right next to art museum so that is a plus. I did not think the price matched the experience - I paid premium due to time of year. The restaurant is good but pricey as is all of New Orleans eateries. The Beet Salad was to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Art Museum/ St Charles Trolley

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JesseCBrooks
Business
Hammond, LA
Jan 2, 2014

Interesting

Very unique hotel. Both stylish and comfortable. My negative to take from it is that it seemed understaffed and getting help at the front desk or valet can sometimes be complicated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philosan
Business
Lawrence, Kansas
Oct 5, 2013

Good hotel, little bit far, nice bar

The hotel is nice and clean, everything is neat, but simple. A little bit far away from all the bars and convention center. But there are 2 bars inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MyPointofView
Business
Houston
Oct 5, 2013

Nice hotel in nice location - good value

I enjoyed my stay. The staff is very nice, the hotel is located in a good spot to downtown museums, and the price was right. However they seemed to be going through a management change...while I got there at 9 - room was not ready till 10 because of laundry, towels for my room didn't arrive till 11 one night, and the halls had the same trash in them 3 days in a row. Given that the bar tender was nice, the front desk, helpful and everyone friendly. Also the small room is truely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the World War II and Civil War Museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJPWWP
Business
New Orleans, La
Oct 4, 2013

Convenient and comfortable

Nice experience no problems close to the convention center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lockwave
Business
pensacola fl
Sep 18, 2013

It was okay considering

We arrived and check in was easy. Valet parking is $30 a day, and the first time I called them To bring my car around, I went downstairs and waited 20 minutes, no car.. The valet attendant was told the wrong Valley number by the desk clerk... Toilet bowl flushed and shop water out of toilet bowl onto floor... The rest of the room was nice, But the pictures on the Internet are not the same as the room. I called valet the second day, and went downstairs and there was no car... I had to wait an additional 15 minutes, Desk clerk forgot to tell valet to get my car. In the middle of the second night we stayed, the fire alarm went off. We were all removed out of the building at 2:30 in the morning... It was a false alarm. This hotel Needs to get their act together Before Allstate again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hoshun Japanese open till 2 am. Awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fariha
Business
Edison, NJ
Sep 2, 2013

Great Stay

The hotel is beautiful, well decorated with art and a parrot! The staff was very helpful. We opted for a small room and there was plenty of space. They had CO Bigelow products (shampoos and wash, lotion, shower cap) which are always great. The courtyard is pretty and a pleasant, shaded place to relax. We didn't have a chance to try to the restaurant, but it looked good. We really liked the location. It was our first time to NOLA and we went during Labor Day weekend. We initially wanted to stay in the French Quarter, but everything was booked. We ended up finding a deal for Hotel Modern and previous reviews said it was in a safe area so we took it. Once we got here, we realized we made the right choice. The French Quarter is a lot of fun, but we were happy to be able to sleep in a quieter neighborhood. It's also right between the French Quarter, which is a very easily walkable distance away (we only cabbed it at night just to be on the safe side) and the Garden District with all the beautiful homes and Lafayette Cemetery. And if you want to experience the trolley, it's right on the green line which can take you in either direction. I would definitely stay here again. The one thing it was missing was an iron.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The trolley is fun to experience as a one time sort of thing, but it's also pretty slow because it makes frequent stops. if you are up for a nice walk during the daytime, you can easily walk to the French Quarter or in the opposite direction towards the Garden District to some of the restaurants along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Deltaboy2
Business
Madison,MS
Aug 19, 2013

Picture perfect

They gave me a early check in @12:30 pm, walked right into the WWII museum at 2pm. The staff was friendly and courteous, room was comfortable. Good food and drinks. Weather was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
vince manuel
Business
texas
Jul 29, 2013

good room

Very good. Staff was excellent! !!! Ckean rooms.staff was very helpful on places to eat and party.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Daddy
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 23, 2013

Great getaway for the weekend

The rooms were well kept and the bed was comfortable. It was not like normal hotel hard matrices. There was a hint of mildue in the air. It wasn't strong though. The bathroom was clean and had good water pressure. If you don't want to pay the fee for vallee parking, it is only a 2 block walk which is 5 mins. The trolley runs right infront of the hotel and only costs $3 for an all day pass. It will take you straight to Bourbon St./French Quarter and several other destinations. The staff was quick to give good recommendations on places for whatever we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Be careful down Bourbon St. with kids, they have several strip clubs. I say that because I saw quite a few kids there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top