$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middie
Business
Middletown, Ohio
May 9, 2014

Perfect for my short stay.

Location, location, location... This hotel met my travel needs perfectly. Great location! Tivoli and Lee Cafe served me wonderful breakfasts, too. I had a very fine experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a one day trolly pass. For $3 you can travel all over town on New Orleans wonderful trolly system.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Love 3
Business
Pensacola, FL
Apr 29, 2014

Very helpful staff

This hotel isn't too far from downtown New Orleans. The street car conveniently stops right by the hotel so it's easy to get downtown. The room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The staff was kind and more than helpful. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JJBranch
Business
Memphis, TN
Apr 21, 2014

Great place to stay in New Orleans

Easy access to streetcar. With in walking distance of nice restaurants, nice,clean rooms, quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visiting Tulane U.
Business
New York, New York
Apr 14, 2014

Too expensive for what you get!

The veneer of new, hip decor is as thin as the walls. Cool building, great location, but needs a deeper-level renovation to be as cool as it's trying to be. Not terrible, but minor annoyances (noise, no remote for the tv, no coffee cups in the room the second morning) made it not worth the $250/night I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NOLA visitor 2014
Business
San Francisco
Mar 23, 2014

Horrible Experience

I stayed here for 5 nights and had to move to a different room twice! 1st room: Light was emitting a loud buzzing sound, shampoo/conditioner rack was broken so I couldn't squeeze content out (showered the first night w/o shampoo and conditioner). Lastly, found an opened soda bottle in the mini frig!! Gross!!! 2nd room: People next door was loud and inconsiderate. At 1am, they were partying as if it was their own home. I had to wake up early next morning for a conference so I had to call and request to move to another room. Again, packed all my belongings and moved out. 3rd room: Everything was actually good, except the bathroom faucet drain was clogged up. Next time I'm in NOLA, I think I would book something better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ricardo On the Go
Business
Philadelphia
Mar 11, 2014

Not so bad if you don;t mind the commute

I happened to arrive right when a parade was coming down St Charles Street, so getting through the Police Barricades was a challenge. Once there, the clerk was pleasant but the bell hops did not even hold door open for you as you dragged your luggage in. The room was pleasant, the window small with a higher than average sill. There was no iron! Housekeeping did not empty coffee or refresh until I left a tip. I found that the trash cans without bags was not sanitary. Location is good if you are a city person who does not mind taking trolley into French Quarter. The hotel is right next to art museum so that is a plus. I did not think the price matched the experience - I paid premium due to time of year. The restaurant is good but pricey as is all of New Orleans eateries. The Beet Salad was to die for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Art Museum/ St Charles Trolley

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JesseCBrooks
Business
Hammond, LA
Jan 2, 2014

Interesting

Very unique hotel. Both stylish and comfortable. My negative to take from it is that it seemed understaffed and getting help at the front desk or valet can sometimes be complicated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
philosan
Business
Lawrence, Kansas
Oct 5, 2013

Good hotel, little bit far, nice bar

The hotel is nice and clean, everything is neat, but simple. A little bit far away from all the bars and convention center. But there are 2 bars inside the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MyPointofView
Business
Houston
Oct 5, 2013

Nice hotel in nice location - good value

I enjoyed my stay. The staff is very nice, the hotel is located in a good spot to downtown museums, and the price was right. However they seemed to be going through a management change...while I got there at 9 - room was not ready till 10 because of laundry, towels for my room didn't arrive till 11 one night, and the halls had the same trash in them 3 days in a row. Given that the bar tender was nice, the front desk, helpful and everyone friendly. Also the small room is truely small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to the World War II and Civil War Museums.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RJPWWP
Business
New Orleans, La
Oct 4, 2013

Convenient and comfortable

Nice experience no problems close to the convention center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top