The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
99 reviews
Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was... See full review

  • Carri the travelista
  • Jun 2, 2014
Great place to stay in New Orleans

Easy access to streetcar. With in walking distance of nice restaurants, nice,clean rooms, quiet. See full review

  • JJBranch
  • Apr 21, 2014
Old-world appeal and modern conveniences near Mississippi River

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is a stylish smoke-free haven with tastefully decorated guestrooms designed with modern aesthetics. Tourists staying at this contemporary hotel can easily visit the historic collections at the nearby National World War II Museum. At The Hotel Modern New Orleans, guest can sample regional specialties at Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink or enjoy fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge on site.

Highlights
  • Fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge
  • Complimentary wireless Internet in guestrooms
Location

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is ideally situated in the heart of New Orleans, just a short walk from galleries, shops and local museums. While in the area, guests can check out the restaurants and shopping stores at Riverwalk Marketplace or watch concerts at Lafayette Square.

Rooms

All 135 spacious rooms and suites at The Hotel Modern New Orleans blend old-world appeal and modern appointments. Aside from the vintage collections and books draped in the rooms, guests can also enjoy convenient amenities such as large LCD TV, iPod docking station, work desk, and free wireless Internet access.

Features

The pet-friendly Hotel Modern New Orleans offers a cozy lounge area at Bellocq. Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink invites diners to feast on sumptuous farm-to-table menus made from fresh local ingredients. The hotel also provides room service, limousine service, valet parking (fees apply) and in-room spa treatments.

Breakfast is served from 7am – 11am, while lunch and dinner are from 11am – 11pm.

Transportation
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Attractions
  • National World War II Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Contemporary Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • Valet parking is $30.00 plus tax.
  • $50 non-refundable pet cleaning fee
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
  • The hotel's modern restaurant, Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink, is opening in March 2013. Until the restaurant opens, room service is available for breakfast (7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.) and dinner (5:00 p.n to 10:00 p.m). The hotel lounge, Bellocq, also serves small plates from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel has an ATM as well as a 24-hour fitness center on site.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Hotel Modern New Orleans Rooms

Small
(155 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2 through 9 and offer a Queen bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37" LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Medium
(165 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Large
(220 sq ft) Spacious guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Most rooms have a window seating area. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Double
(215 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10, offer 2 Double beds and unobstructed views of Lee Circle and St. Charles Avenue, or downtown New Orleans. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Hotel Map

29.9437 -90.0719
Area served
New Orleans, Kenner, Metairie, Westbank, French Quarter
Nearby airports
Louis Armstrong International Airport - 15 miles (20 minutes) Cab Fee $33.00 (one way) Airport Shuttle $20.00 (per person-one way).
Area description
New Orleans' Warehouse-Arts district is an exciting, newly revitalized neighborhood. Attractions include the Contemporary Arts Center, The Ogden Museum of Southern Art and The National World War II Museum, in addition to Julia Street's thriving gallery scene. Restaurants and bars continue to open in the neighborhood, joining mainstays such as Emeril's from renowned chef Emeril Lagasse. The Hotel Modern New Orleans is located at Lee Circle, home to the monument of American Civil War general Robert E. Lee. The St. Charles Avenue Streetcar stops at Lee Circle, offering hotel guests a quick ride to and from the legendary French Quarter.

Nearby points of interest

  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Tivoli & Lee
Modern Southern Food and Drink, features a neighborhood focused, farm-to-table bistro with a heavy emphasis on the freshest local ingredients for their take on local regional southern food.
Bellocq
The cocktail lounge will also feature a rotating menu of drink specials.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
aarongza2000
Dallas, Texas
May 6, 2012

Tiny room & very expensive valet

The valet is very expensive ($40) per day. The hotel can charge whatever they want because there is no public parking lot close by. My room is 155 square feet with no windows. It was like sleeping in a match box. My suitcase took up the little available walking space by the bed. The room was clean though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lockwave
pensacola fl
Sep 18, 2013

It was okay considering

We arrived and check in was easy. Valet parking is $30 a day, and the first time I called them To bring my car around, I went downstairs and waited 20 minutes, no car.. The valet attendant was told the wrong Valley number by the desk clerk... Toilet bowl flushed and shop water out of toilet bowl onto floor... The rest of the room was nice, But the pictures on the Internet are not the same as the room. I called valet the second day, and went downstairs and there was no car... I had to wait an additional 15 minutes, Desk clerk forgot to tell valet to get my car. In the middle of the second night we stayed, the fire alarm went off. We were all removed out of the building at 2:30 in the morning... It was a false alarm. This hotel Needs to get their act together Before Allstate again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hoshun Japanese open till 2 am. Awesome

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bbnbr
Baton Rouge, LA, USA
Sep 19, 2011

hotel renovation??

Not very happy when we got to the hotel to find that entire bottom floor was under construction. We stayed at the hotel based upon raving reviews from a friend that lives in NOLA, said the bar was great. Well, we would have loved to know that our stay would be "without" bar ahead of time. Deal or not, I should have known about the construction. I would have paid a higher price to stay somewhere that would have been better suited to my wants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jwilly
phila
Jul 9, 2012

a Modern experience

The room was very small hence small room so make sure you booked the appropriate size. Too many items offered at ridicoulous costs especially with a gas station across the street with the same things for much less-overall the experience was fine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss O
Dallas, Texas
Mar 16, 2013

Great family visit

My experience at the hotel was great overall. The service is what made it enjoyable. I travel with my son all the time so it is important that the hotel possess children-friendly attributes. The staff here were great with accomadting any needs. I had a few issues with my first room but the staff gladly switched me to another room. Parking was $30 a night, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FemmeJr
Business
New York, NY
May 10, 2013

Not centrally located but great bar and restaurant

Pros: -Lovely boutique hotel -Close to the convention center -Excellent bar and restaurant (Tivoli & Lee; Bellaoq) -Friendly bellhops and front desk staff -Friendly parrot roams the front desk and lobby! Cons: -Can't check in before 3 PM -Not close to the French Quarter or downtown area; cabs are a must -Tiny rooms and shower - I had to call more than once when ordering room service or toiletries -Advertises complimentary wine and water at front desk, but either wasn't there or no glasses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely enjoy cocktails at Tivoli & Lee and Belloq.

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Horizon407
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Comfortable Hotel

Hotel was under construction when I was there. No room service. Room was comfortable and freshly painted. Not a lavish hotel by far, but a nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Junghwan
Clinton, MS
Feb 12, 2013

Great location but understaffed for events

I went during Mardi Gras weekend and they were severely understaffed. The rooms were fairly clean and the beds were extremely comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Minivacay superhero
Baton Rouge
Mar 30, 2013

Lovely location for authentic New Orleans

Overall I enjoyed my stay for a one night trip. The staff was friendly and the feel of the hotel is nice. The room was could have used more cleaning concerning the bed. There were stains on the pillow cases and fuzz in the bed when covers where pushed back. The location is perfect and far enough from the bourbon riff raff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daisy Dukes!!!!

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
albertsulfur
Alpen, Germany
Jan 16, 2012

simple but ok.

The hotel changed it´s name, so it was not to find at the first attempt. But there was a friendly staff waiting outside to catch the guests who got astray. The first View was quite nice - a small and personally looking hotel. Staff at the reception was also extraordinary friendly. The Hotel seemed to be under new and young management here and there on the floors not finished but quite clean. 10 Minutes walk to Burbon Street was ok for me. The Room was also ok, comfortable king size bed, but had only a small window. My grade of room comfort is caused by a noisy maschine which startes running outside somewhere on the floor every few minutes. In total it is a quite good Hotel if you don´t need special luxury. But in case of the comfort the rate was little to high.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

historic streetcar stoppes near the hotel

Back to menu Return to top