$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jason C.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Good stay

We were in town for thd sugar bowl and stayed here. The only problem we had was a delay in check in. Room was good. Location is not a bad walk to Bourbon street and other amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coco and tio
Business
Houma louisiana
Nov 28, 2014

Couples getaway

Very modern comfy stay! Love the bar! And it's location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Yummy food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yo Daddy666
Business
Tucson, AZ
Nov 20, 2014

Nice, small room, great service

The room is nice, but small and minimalistic. I think that is what the "modern" is code for. The service was great. Very helpful, great attitudes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to several dining establishments.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tryler
Business
Sydney, Australia
Nov 6, 2014

Would Happily Stay Longer

The name "Modern" is suitable. I only stayed one night and whilst the room wasn't big it was comfortable and clean. I't didn't have an iron and ironing board which I may have needed for a longer stay but these may be available on request. I appreciated the easy to use coffee maker and adequate number of well place power outlets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It's located right on the border of Uptown and Downtown and very handy to a few museums. It's on the route of the Hop on Hop off city sights bus which stop at the WW2 Museum nearby. Tickets are reasonable and last for three days for the standard price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
merryvarr
Business
rhode island
Oct 14, 2014

Not bad

Small, boutique feel. Rooms small and minimal but clean. Bathrooms are nice. Location was good, close to Julia street and walk to French Quarter. Staff was pleasant. Restaurant was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Roadtripper rebel
Business
Around
Sep 29, 2014

Meh

The hotel looked charming on the website, and although it is not too bad when you get there, after the first night we realized it was not a four star hotel. When they made the room, they forgot to take out the trash, restack toilet paper and although we did not ask for new towels (they say they have that green approach), they took our old towels and didn't leave enough in their place. We weren't sure how many nights we'd be staying, but when we wanted to check for availability for another night or two, they said they'd get back to us but didn't. Also, the description in the app says there is a spa, well, there isn't. And parking was very problematic. On the upside, their soaps smell great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DynamicDuo
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 15, 2014

Modern people use irons right?

The Hotel Modern has a welcoming ambience. Scarlet the parrot was a nice touch. Couldn't get towels in middle of the night. There was no iron

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good selections

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike PNS
Business
Pensacola, FL
Sep 4, 2014

Great Labor Day Weekend

Staff at this place are wonderful! Only if other hotels had these type of workers. The hotel is unique and upscale for a very reasonable price. The location was perfect as we could get on the street car out front and in 5 minutes be on canal st. Quiet rooms, low traffic and walking places is no problem. This will be my Favorite hotel to stay in New Orleans for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The restaurant is wonderful. Full service with bar. Breakfast was awesome !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Roast
Business
Louisiana
Jun 9, 2014

Great Location

This hotel is located a few blocks away from the noisy French Quarter. The World War II museum is a block away. The historic St. Charles Streetcar line runs right in front of the hotel. $3.00 will get you a day pass on the streetcars that will give you all sorts of options for traveling around the city. The brunch and build your own Bloody Mary bar are great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

WWII Museum

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carri the travelista
Business
Evansville, IN
Jun 2, 2014

Birdie at the front

There was a bird at the front desk. I thought that was the cutest thing ever. Everyone was friendly, easy to get around the city from this hotel. My room was in front of the elevator but very quiet. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

20 minute walk to bourbon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top