$105 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 2, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
113 reviews
One-night stop in the coolest part of town

Our second time staying at Hotel Modern. Most appealing thing is the location. Staying right on Lee... See full review

  • Adrian A.
  • Apr 25, 2015
Great location will be back !!!

the hospitality was awesome thanks again hotel modern See full review

  • Tanya D.
  • Mar 26, 2015
Old-world appeal and modern conveniences near Mississippi River

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is a stylish smoke-free haven with tastefully decorated guestrooms designed with modern aesthetics. Tourists staying at this contemporary hotel can easily visit the historic collections at the nearby National World War II Museum. At The Hotel Modern New Orleans, guest can sample regional specialties at Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink or enjoy fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge on site.

Highlights
  • Fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge
  • Complimentary wireless Internet in guestrooms
Location

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is ideally situated in the heart of New Orleans, just a short walk from galleries, shops and local museums. While in the area, guests can check out the restaurants and shopping stores at Riverwalk Marketplace or watch concerts at Lafayette Square.

Rooms

All 135 spacious rooms and suites at The Hotel Modern New Orleans blend old-world appeal and modern appointments. Aside from the vintage collections and books draped in the rooms, guests can also enjoy convenient amenities such as large LCD TV, iPod docking station, work desk, and free wireless Internet access.

Features

The pet-friendly Hotel Modern New Orleans offers a cozy lounge area at Bellocq. Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink invites diners to feast on sumptuous farm-to-table menus made from fresh local ingredients. The hotel also provides room service, limousine service, valet parking (fees apply) and in-room spa treatments.

Breakfast is served from 7am – 11am, while lunch and dinner are from 11am – 11pm.

Transportation
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Attractions
  • National World War II Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Contemporary Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Policies and fees
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • Valet parking is $30.00 plus tax.
  • $50 non-refundable pet cleaning fee
  • Complimentary wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel.
  • The hotel's modern restaurant, Tivoli & Lee |Modern Southern Food + Drink, is opening in March 2013. Until the restaurant opens, room service is available for breakfast (7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.) and dinner (5:00 p.n to 10:00 p.m). The hotel lounge, Bellocq, also serves small plates from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel has an ATM as well as a 24-hour fitness center on site.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Hotel Modern New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Hotel Modern New Orleans Rooms

Small
(155 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2 through 9 and offer a Queen bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37" LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Medium
(165 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Large
(220 sq ft) Spacious guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Most rooms have a window seating area. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
Double
(215 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10, offer 2 Double beds and unobstructed views of Lee Circle and St. Charles Avenue, or downtown New Orleans. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
  • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.7 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.8 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

Dining

Tivoli & Lee
Modern Southern Food and Drink, features a neighborhood focused, farm-to-table bistro with a heavy emphasis on the freshest local ingredients for their take on local regional southern food.
Bellocq
The cocktail lounge will also feature a rotating menu of drink specials.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
new york, new york
Sep 15, 2012

great hotel

this hotel was a great place to get around the areas of New Orleans from. Friendly & Helpful staff. If you need to get around they also offer a bike with lock. Will be back here when i stay in the CBD again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

you can take a streetcar , bus , cheap taxi ride or just walk to the french quater from the hotel

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike
Business
N/A
May 17, 2015

Two day getaway

The hotel was chosen since we wanted to go to the WWII museum around the corner and it was still close to the French quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gizmogidget
Business
Anaheim
May 17, 2015

Good location. 10 min walk to Bourbon St.

Business trip. Good value for the person who needs to go to convention center. Parking on street was not my idea of convenience. But that's my only complaint.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Heike B.
Business
Lancaster
May 6, 2015

great for Jazz Festival stay, gallery district great also the museums around the corner

We liked the hotel. very modern and interestingly edgy. Breakfast: waitress was not very friendly. Our room needed better cleaning. Rug was stained and also needed a good vacuum cleaning which we requested with a note to the cleaning person, but she was not very good. forgot to give us soap, creamer and and paper cups which we requested also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adrian A.
Business
N/A
Apr 25, 2015

One-night stop in the coolest part of town

Our second time staying at Hotel Modern. Most appealing thing is the location. Staying right on Lee Circle, you have access to both St. Charles streetcar lines (toward French Quarter and toward Garden District/Uptown). We are always lucky to find free street parking!!! And we never have to take the car anywhere to get where we need to go. Circle Bar, also on the Circle, is an awesome dive with live music almost every night. The best museums in the city - Ogden, CAC, WWII - are steps away. Staff was amazing, welcoming. The welcome cocktail was such a nice touch. And the rooms are clean, cool and just right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tanya D.
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Great location will be back !!!

the hospitality was awesome thanks again hotel modern

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jessica w
Business
Jersey City
Feb 23, 2015

Terrible stay!!!!

The only thing good about this hotel was the complimentary water at the front desk and the fact that it was right in front of the parade route for mardi gras. First off no one out of all three nights came to clean our room and when I called to ask what time does housekeeping come, some lady at the front desk gave me an attitude saying "I wouldn't have that information, what do you want ma'm?" So, me shocked just simply asked if they can send up housekeeping when they can but of course no one came. The room was small, there was no iron or ironing board. The towels leave white lint all over your body and to top it off the restuarant next door is terrible. We waited an hour and a half for dry cold food, and their excuse was Mardi gras was overwhelming. I'm sorry but if this event is the biggest you have all year you should prepare and have a full staff, at least that's what New York does on it's holiday months. Never again!!!! The only thing decent they had was good drinks but then again you can find that anywhere in New Orleans. So I give this hotel 1 star for terrible service and terrible restaurant quality. Don't waste your money!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael M.
Business
Pensacola
Feb 13, 2015

Great Hotel and Location

Awesome hotel. Steps away from trolly. Very clean and staff is awesome! Restaurant was always good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Dame
Business
Kew Garden Hills
Feb 11, 2015

Dirtiest hotel room I've ever stayed in

It was clear upon check in that their cleaning staff did not clean the bathroom. It was filthy. Luckily I had my own gloves and cleaning supplies. The room did not smell fresh and the furniture was dingy. Never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jessica F.
Business
Fayetteville
Jan 16, 2015

Quick Business Stay

I stayed here for only a single night as I was in and out for business pretty quickly. I would not recommend this hotel. While it was in a great location, particularly for Mardi Gras events, most other elements were disappointing. The decor seemed lacking, good idea to go a bit hipster, but everything looked haphazard. The mattress was sunk down in the middle and would be uncomfortable if more than owner person was sleeping there. The room did not have an iron/ironing board. I requested these items and the staff was quick to bring them, but the iron had junk melted on it. I had to request a second iron and the staff was again quick. I was appreciative of the in-room keurig, but found only decaf coffee options upon waking. Again, I called down to the front desk and they promptly brought additional options. After showering, I found that the blow-dryer was broken. So, again, I called down to the front for a replacement. This time the service was very slow. It took an hour for them to bring the blow dryer causing me to have to leave for work events with wet hair. Very unsatisfactory! Besides this, the bathroom was too dim for make-up application. If you want a place on Lee circle for Mardi Gras, but have no other standards, this might be the place for you. If you expect certain other amenities, maybe look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victoria C.
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 8, 2015

Great hotel good location

Hotel was great for its value good location, further from bourbon street

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top