$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2015 Check-out: Sep 18, 2015

The Hotel Modern New Orleans

4 stars
View map of 936 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
108 reviews
One-night stop in the coolest part of town

Our second time staying at Hotel Modern. Most appealing thing is the location. Staying right on Lee... See full review

  • Adrian A.
  • Apr 25, 2015
Couples getaway

Very modern comfy stay! Love the bar! And it's location. See full review

  • Coco and tio
  • Nov 28, 2014

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is a stylish smoke-free haven with tastefully decorated guestrooms designed with modern aesthetics. Tourists staying at this contemporary hotel can easily visit the historic collections at the nearby National World War II Museum. At The Hotel Modern New Orleans, guest can sample regional specialties at Tivoli & Lee

Location

The Hotel Modern New Orleans is ideally situated in the heart of New Orleans, just a short walk from galleries, shops and local museums. While in the area, guests can check out the restaurants and shopping stores at Riverwalk Marketplace or watch concerts at Lafayette Square.

Dining
Modern Southern Food + Drink or enjoy fine cocktail creations at Bellocq cocktail lounge on site.

Rooms

All 135 spacious rooms and suites at The Hotel Modern New Orleans blend old-world appeal and modern appointments. Aside from the vintage collections and books draped in the rooms, guests can also enjoy convenient amenities such as large LCD TV, iPod docking station, work desk, and free wireless Internet access.

Property features
  • New Orleans Union Passenger Terminal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • New Orleans Lakefront Airport (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
Transportation
  • National World War II Museum (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Ogden Museum of Southern Art (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Contemporary Arts Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Lafayette Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
Entertainment

The pet-friendly Hotel Modern New Orleans offers a cozy lounge area at Bellocq. Tivoli & Lee

Recreation
Modern Southern Food + Drink invites diners to feast on sumptuous farm-to-table menus made from fresh local ingredients. The hotel also provides room service, limousine service, valet parking (fees apply) and in-room spa treatments.

Breakfast is served from 7am – 11am, while lunch and dinner are from 11am – 11pm.

Fees
Modern Southern Food + Drink, is opening in March 2013. Until the restaurant opens, room service is available for breakfast (7:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m.) and dinner (5:00 p.n to 10:00 p.m). The hotel lounge, Bellocq, also serves small plates from 5:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m. daily.
  • The hotel has an ATM as well as a 24-hour fitness center on site.
  • This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Top hotels

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed The Hotel Modern New Orleans also booked these hotels.

    The Hotel Modern New Orleans Rooms

    Small
    (155 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2 through 9 and offer a Queen bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37" LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
    Medium
    (165 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 37 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
    Large
    (220 sq ft) Spacious guestrooms are located on floors 2-10 and offer a King bed. Most rooms have a window seating area. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.
    Double
    (215 sq ft) Guestrooms are located on floors 2-10, offer 2 Double beds and unobstructed views of Lee Circle and St. Charles Avenue, or downtown New Orleans. Features include custom furniture, luxurious down bedding and pillow-top mattress, 42 LCD TV, i-pod docking station and working desk. Guestrooms are accented with unique vintage artwork and an eclectic selection of books. Complimentary wireless internet is available.

    Amenities

    • WiFi
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Pet friendly
    Activities
    Fitness center or spa
    Spa
    Night club
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Doctor on call
    Internet
    WiFi
    Parking
    Parking
    Accessibility
    Accessible Rooms/Facilities
    Service dogs allowed
    Service animals allowed

    Nearby points of interest

    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
    • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
    • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
    • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
    • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
    • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
    • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
    • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.1 mi
    • Louisiana State Museum: 0.2 mi
    • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.5 mi
    • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.6 mi
    • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.7 mi
    • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.7 mi
    • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
    • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
    • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
    • Port of New Orleans: 0.9 mi
    • Jackson Square: 1.1 mi
    • Preservation Hall: 1.1 mi
    • Bourbon Street: 1.1 mi
    • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 1.2 mi
    • Algiers Point: 1.4 mi
    • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.7 mi
    • Bywater Historic District: 2.8 mi
    • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 3.2 mi
    • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3.3 mi
    • Riverbend: 3.3 mi
    • Carousel Gardens: 3.8 mi
    • Audubon Zoo: 3.9 mi
    • City Park New Orleans: 4.2 mi
    • Lakefront Arena: 6.1 mi

    Dining

    Tivoli & Lee
    Modern Southern Food and Drink, features a neighborhood focused, farm-to-table bistro with a heavy emphasis on the freshest local ingredients for their take on local regional southern food.
    Bellocq
    The cocktail lounge will also feature a rotating menu of drink specials.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    11:00 AM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Ratings and reviews for The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Overall score

    3.6 / 5
    5.01.0
    108 out of 108
    Amenities:
    3.4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    3.8
    Location:
    4.1
    Value:
    3.7

    81% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    chippy1625
    Business
    Miramar Beach
    Aug 23, 2015

    Arrogant lady at front desk

    I stayed there many times but this time was probably my last. I did a late check in and I asked if she could give me a higher floor with view to lee circle. That's what I had before. But no, just for me asking that, I ended up in a room for people with disabilities. Handicapped. I said I would come back in the morning to check if anything else was available she said in an arrogant tone: sure!. I was on a business trip again and I only came back late at night to be up early in the morning. So I didn't bother checking for a different room. And for 3 nights stay, I did not have my room serviced at all. In my last night I said I requested service by sticking that flyer on the door handle, they appologized and sent somebody with towels and new sheets. And yes, I had to change the sheets. Sadly, it was an awfull, terrible experience!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    1
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    diverpawl
    Business
    seabrook
    Aug 6, 2015

    Four Blocks From Train Station

    We travel by train. We are always looking for hotels that we can walk to from the train station. The Hotel Modern is always my first choice if traveling through New Orleans by train. The rooms are spotless and the staff accommodating. Late arrivals are never a problem. A quick unpack and it's time to grab a bite in the restaurant downstairs or in the french quarter which is approx. 15 minutes away on foot.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    JACQUES B.
    Couples
    N/A
    Jul 8, 2015

    Not so great

    The hotel was not so clean. I needed an iron and could not get ine. a guest called my room at 1am asking if i had an iron to give her. i called the front desk several times but they never picked up. The parking was too expensive. I was very disappointed with the restaurant.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    JACQUES B.
    Couples
    N/A
    Jul 8, 2015

    not Great

    The room was not so clean. The staff could not help me with gettin g an iron. A guest called me at 1 AM to ask if I had an iron to give her. I called the front desk several times and they never answered. The parking was expensive. I was vey disappointed with the restaurant

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    JesseCBrooks
    Couples
    Hammond
    Jun 2, 2015

    Great weekend

    I've stayed here twice now. It's somewhat of a go to for a weekend in New Orleans. The staff is fantastic. The atmosphere is sleek yet casual. It's an excellent location. It's right next to the St. Charles street car which is great for inexpensive scenic travel. Price here is good yet beds could be more comfortable for what you pay for.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Mike
    Couples
    N/A
    May 17, 2015

    Two day getaway

    The hotel was chosen since we wanted to go to the WWII museum around the corner and it was still close to the French quarter.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    gizmogidget
    Business
    Anaheim
    May 17, 2015

    Good location. 10 min walk to Bourbon St.

    Business trip. Good value for the person who needs to go to convention center. Parking on street was not my idea of convenience. But that's my only complaint.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Heike B.
    Couples
    Lancaster
    May 6, 2015

    great for Jazz Festival stay, gallery district great also the museums around the corner

    We liked the hotel. very modern and interestingly edgy. Breakfast: waitress was not very friendly. Our room needed better cleaning. Rug was stained and also needed a good vacuum cleaning which we requested with a note to the cleaning person, but she was not very good. forgot to give us soap, creamer and and paper cups which we requested also.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    Adrian A.
    Couples
    N/A
    Apr 25, 2015

    One-night stop in the coolest part of town

    Our second time staying at Hotel Modern. Most appealing thing is the location. Staying right on Lee Circle, you have access to both St. Charles streetcar lines (toward French Quarter and toward Garden District/Uptown). We are always lucky to find free street parking!!! And we never have to take the car anywhere to get where we need to go. Circle Bar, also on the Circle, is an awesome dive with live music almost every night. The best museums in the city - Ogden, CAC, WWII - are steps away. Staff was amazing, welcoming. The welcome cocktail was such a nice touch. And the rooms are clean, cool and just right.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Review of The Hotel Modern New Orleans

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Michael M.
    Couples
    Pensacola
    Feb 13, 2015

    Great Hotel and Location

    Awesome hotel. Steps away from trolly. Very clean and staff is awesome! Restaurant was always good

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Couples

    Back to menu Return to top