The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

3 stars
231 Carondolet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
125 reviews
Great for the night!

We only stayed for one night , but the hotel staff was great! We had a great time! Very pleased!!... See full review

  • NicNJohn
  • Mar 24, 2014
Amazing getaway for anyone

Staff was amazing, the hot breakfast was greatly served every morning, an the location was perfect... See full review

  • toy toy
  • Mar 11, 2014
Located just one block from the historic French Quarter, the Cotton Exchange Hotel's decor pays tribute to the colorful palettes created by Degas and his fellow Impressionists. In addition to high ceilings and large windows which allow for vast amounts of natural light, all 223 rooms are decorated in vibrant colors, and the walls are hung with reproductions of Impressionist paintings.

Valet parking is $30 + tax per night per vehicle. A valid credit card is required for payment for valet. Cash is not accepted.Cotton Exchange Hotel does not accept pets.

Hotel Map

29.9524 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
MSY-Louis Armstrong International
Area description
Central business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel also booked these hotels.

The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
One queen bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard Double
Two double beds, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard King
One king bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 125
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.1

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
justtrustme81
Business
Houston TX
May 11, 2014

Great location for value

Under construction. Great location. Staff needed little touch up on customer service skills. Nice size rooms but put a down low and it stayed warm/cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tiffany had fun
Business
atlanta,georgia
Jun 8, 2013

Nice and really close

This hotel was nicer than i though by reading the reviews. It was small rooms but clean. It is really close to bourbon st. and i really enjoyed staying here. The free breakfast was good. The pool could have been cleaner and bigger.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Notice
Business
Southside, VA
Jun 6, 2013

While cheap, not a value

I will say the staff was helpful, which was good because there were so many issues we had to call staff multiple times. The room was filthy. The sheets had crumbs in them so they never changed the sheets between guests. For three guests they gave us only 2 large towels. No smaller towels and the towels were threadbare and stained. All the furniture was broken or stained. The bathroom had hair in it when we checked in- they never washed the bath. We heard other guests complain of the same thing. Limited hot water, shower before 6 am or wait until the after noon. Pealing wallpaper and the toilets did not flush. Be sure to ask for self park which will save you 15 per day, but they do not offer this information up front. The continental breakfast was the high point, must better than the rest of the hotel by far. Oh and a moldy pool. We were there for four days and they only cleaned to room once even though we asked and then they never vacuumed. A very noisy place. Lets say it was memorable, but not in a good way. We wish the Hampton had had space!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Yell
Business
NY
Jun 4, 2013

New Orleans Vacation

Staff is helpful and friendly. Hotel is in a great location. Very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natchez Jazz Cruise is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Explorer
Business
Western Massachusetts
May 19, 2013

Great deal, great location, friendly staff

We were on a budget - My husband and I with our son and daughter-in-law in one room with 2 queen-sized beds. The room was lovely and we managed to make everything fit and still be able to move around. When we requested extra towels, a young man arrived within 5 minutes with 6 more of each size. When we asked if there was a way we could get our wine bottle opened, he took it next door to a bar and had it uncorked for us. All the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was good - a lot of variety. The pool was small and the pool area a bit cramped, but we enjoyed spending time there, up on a 6th floor terrace. Walking distance to the French Quarter and the superdome. I would definitely go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Court of Two Sisters Jazz brunch in the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. GFT
Business
New Orleans
May 14, 2013

Don't Bother

The room we checked into was filthy! There was rust stains all over the toliet and the tub had black grime at the bottom. I reported the situation and they were to move us to another room. I went to look at two other rooms, which were equally filthy, before a suitable room was found. Then that room sprung a leak during a rainy day and we had to move again. I found out the hotel used to be a Holiday Inn, but lost the franchise because of a refusal to update to modern standards. Stay away from this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindaa
Business
Texas
May 9, 2013

so close to french quarter

very clean, well maintained, so convenient, been to new orleans more than ten times and this is best hotel we have stayed in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiwi75
Business
MS
Apr 24, 2013

Don't Plan on getting any sleep here

Hotel has large rooms to rent for parties center of all floors and the hotel rooms surround. My night there a school was having a DJ'd party untill 3AM on my floor. Might as well been at the party it was so loud and the DJ every other word was a curse word. Called the front desk 3 times to complain and even the next morning when checking out. All I was told was sorry we did not know they would be that late. They did nothing to make up for this, I paid over $240 for a hotel room and eneded up staying in a teen age dance club. Made a complaint to the hotel website with zero response. Will never stay here again, would get more rest at a $40 motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad like me
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 21, 2013

Nice location

Although we only planned to visit Tulane University for this visit, I would say this hotel is at a perfect location if we come for fan in New Orleans, especially if to go french quarter. I read some reviews before coming. To my surprise, the room is very clean. I found everything I needed. Air conditioning was operating well. I had a good sleep in the room. The free breakfast helps to save us time for the second day, although it was brief and simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jenny 700
Business
chicago
Apr 6, 2013

good enough

Location was convenient, rooms were average. Would have been nice to have an indoor pool. Staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top