The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

3 stars
231 Carondolet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Great for the night!

We only stayed for one night , but the hotel staff was great! We had a great time! Very pleased!!... See full review

  • NicNJohn
  • Mar 24, 2014
Amazing getaway for anyone

Staff was amazing, the hot breakfast was greatly served every morning, an the location was perfect... See full review

  • toy toy
  • Mar 11, 2014
Located just one block from the historic French Quarter, the Cotton Exchange Hotel's decor pays tribute to the colorful palettes created by Degas and his fellow Impressionists. In addition to high ceilings and large windows which allow for vast amounts of natural light, all 223 rooms are decorated in vibrant colors, and the walls are hung with reproductions of Impressionist paintings.

Valet parking is $30 + tax per night per vehicle. A valid credit card is required for payment for valet. Cash is not accepted.Cotton Exchange Hotel does not accept pets.

Hotel Map

29.9524 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
MSY-Louis Armstrong International
Area description
Central business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel also booked these hotels.

The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
One queen bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard Double
Two double beds, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard King
One king bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ayame
Jacksonville FL
Nov 22, 2013

horrible customer service, dirty rooms and thievery!

Horrible customer service and dirty rooms! The carpets are gross and there was mold covering my shower curtain. The rooms are old and beat up looking. The first room I was given was scheduled for maintenance and they barged in on me five minutes after I got there. My second room had a window view of a cement wall. Unfortunately, I left my expensive iPhone charger case there and they actually stole it! Housekeeping refused to answer their phone or return my call when I left a voice mail. After a few days of calling the front desk would no longer even answer my calls until I called from a different number! As soon as I did, they picked up. And they claimed they did not find my stuff! Thieves...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
kja
houston, tx
Mar 19, 2011

don't stay here

great location but lousy service. internet was down for an entire day, rest room did not have a working fan, bed linens were never changed during our stay. Luckily with so much to do outside, we spent as little time at this place as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

great city to walk

Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clara P
Clay, KY 42404, USA
Oct 13, 2011

Severely Unhappy

They have two elevators though one is perpetually broken. The one good elevator broke down an hour or so after we checked in. It did not function again on our stay. The staff was rude. The bellhop did not help our elderly parents with luggage even though they clearly couldn't carry their own bags. This was a disaster. It's in a good location if you're a young person wanting to get drunk and party on Burbon St, otherwise don't waste your time and money. Also, don't expect the elevator to work or your room to be clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vacationer747
Louisiana
Apr 27, 2014

Very Disappointed !!

Very disappointing!! NO HOTEL PARKING !! Was given a choice to park at the hotel next door for $16 per day !! Hotel appliances, (t.v., microwave, mini refridge, etc). very old & dated. Bath room sink plugged up/ slow draining. Hotel house keeping bust into room @ 9:05 am announcing "house keeping" as she's entering the room, all while my wife & I lay nude...had to yell & tell her that we are still sleeping. Would NOT recommend anyone to stay there..and this is my 1st time ever writing a review..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
crawler8
mobile, al
Sep 5, 2012

Bad to worse

Definately not a good experience for oouur holiday weekend. Housekeeping staff did poor job, Had to beg for wash clothes and towels. Very little hot water, at times cold shower. No Ice, had to go across street to buy ice.Toilet ran constantly, Maid left big bag of trash in middle of room. Had to wait for almost hour for valet to return car. Will never stay in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Desert Girl
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Won't stay there again!

Southern hospitality is dead at the Cotton Exchange Hotel in New Orleans! The staff, with the exception of one manager, Elbert, were rude and to say not helpful would be a gross understatement. As is my way I would greet them with a smile and a hello only to be glared at. If I've ever felt unwelcome it was during my stay last week during Spring Break. Also, we had no soap in our room so when I asked them to send some up they handed me a credit card size bar of soap for the three of us. Luckily we had brought some body wash with us! Everytime we needed a towel we had to ask as they were not replaced as part of regular housekeeping which was non existent. Oh did I mention the air conditioning went out and it was about 80 degrees in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dwolfe7391
Houston, TX, USA
Mar 20, 2012

Cotton Exchange Hotel POOR REVIEW

The staff at the front desk are RUDE. the amenities were awful, ice machines did not work. One thin cover and a sheet covered the bed, the sink backs up with SEWER WATER, when the room next door runs their water, and the lobby smells like a combination of sewere and mold. The $30 valet parking that was advertised is bogus and i got told by the front desk that they didn't care what was on their website. So, Do not stay there, what a waste of money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
WDGUNTER
Dallas, Tx
Mar 19, 2012

No AC for Our Entire Stay

Upon checkin our room was 80 degrees. We went back to the front desk and they moved us to another room. Still 80 degrees. Front desk told us to wait for 45-60 minutes and it would cool down. IT DID NOT! Next morning we were told that techs were working on it and it would be fixed within an hour. That afternoon it was still hot and we were told that it was nearly fixed. IT WASN'T!! The AC never worked the whole time we were there. It would have been more comfortable to have either slept outside or in the car. I would have moved to somewhere else if I had known there would not be any AC for our entire stay. RUINED THE ENTIRE TRIP TO SWEAT ALL NIGHT AND WAKE UP EXAUSTED IN THE MORNING. Take a shower and you were covered in sweat before you could even get dressed and get out. Horrible Experience, but maybe they got it fixed after we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mothers for lunch or dinner.

Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
None work
Business
Columbus, OH, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Don't ever

Starting out with no valet parking when it was advertised they had it. Had to find my own spot. Took 45 minutes. Room smelled, outdated, dirty, old linen, very expensive. Staff was rude and unfriendly. Would rather stay in a tent. Never again believe reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of places to eat

Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MrConcrete
Opelousas, LA
Aug 7, 2012

Ok place, but the staff was horrible!!!

Valet Parking was horrible to say the least. And the guy working in that area seemed to be more lost than i was. The door man told me that i can't park in street while waiting for check in? Most hotels have parking for check in at least. Luckily i had my wife with me. What if i had been alone? Poor business on their part. Not to mention the ladies at front desk.. OMG!!! Service in a hotel can make or break your decisions. I will not be back to this hotel ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top