The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

3 stars
231 Carondolet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Great for the night!

We only stayed for one night , but the hotel staff was great! We had a great time! Very pleased!!... See full review

  • NicNJohn
  • Mar 24, 2014
Amazing getaway for anyone

Staff was amazing, the hot breakfast was greatly served every morning, an the location was perfect... See full review

  • toy toy
  • Mar 11, 2014
Located just one block from the historic French Quarter, the Cotton Exchange Hotel's decor pays tribute to the colorful palettes created by Degas and his fellow Impressionists. In addition to high ceilings and large windows which allow for vast amounts of natural light, all 223 rooms are decorated in vibrant colors, and the walls are hung with reproductions of Impressionist paintings.

Valet parking is $30 + tax per night per vehicle. A valid credit card is required for payment for valet. Cash is not accepted.Cotton Exchange Hotel does not accept pets.

Hotel Map

29.9524 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
MSY-Louis Armstrong International
Area description
Central business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel also booked these hotels.

The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
One queen bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard Double
Two double beds, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard King
One king bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs. Mink
Louisiana
Jul 22, 2013

I love this place

There a few good points of why I love this hotel. The location, its in walking distance to most of the attractions and a 24hr diner. The staff is very friendly they make you feel like you are their number one priority. I made reservations and the room I had was very noisy from the elevator, booked out night the clerk told me to go enjoy myself and she would work something out. I did just that when I got back she had another room for me and wanted to know if I was please with the new room. Just for a one night stay and the price is right me and my husdand stays here. Just to get away for the weekend with the kids we come here the staff made my kids love it here. Love the location of the outside pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

NOLA on Bourbon St.. its in walking distance and the food there is extremely good. I had the gumbo and crab cakes.

Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
freckle face fannie
New Orleans,Louisana
May 24, 2013

Great couples getaway

Great experience staff was really nice. Hotel was really clean great location good breakfast pretty quiet. We went just as a couple but I would take my kids also. Safe environment and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street

Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad like me
San Francisco, CA
Apr 21, 2013

Nice location

Although we only planned to visit Tulane University for this visit, I would say this hotel is at a perfect location if we come for fan in New Orleans, especially if to go french quarter. I read some reviews before coming. To my surprise, the room is very clean. I found everything I needed. Air conditioning was operating well. I had a good sleep in the room. The free breakfast helps to save us time for the second day, although it was brief and simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelMel RN
Wisconsin
May 16, 2013

love it

I loved the high ceilings and the room set up. A little small but fit me and a friend just fine. good location...couple blocks from bourbon st.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NicNJohn
Lucedale, MS
Mar 24, 2014

Great for the night!

We only stayed for one night , but the hotel staff was great! We had a great time! Very pleased!! IIt's extremely close to plenty of fun! Would absolutely book again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
toy toy
new orleans, louisiana
Mar 11, 2014

Amazing getaway for anyone

Staff was amazing, the hot breakfast was greatly served every morning, an the location was perfect for shopping an entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new orleans dave
toronto, ontario
Nov 20, 2013

great location, great staff

It is only a 2-3 minute walk to bourbon street and about 10-15 minutes to superdome.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jane Yell
NY
Jun 4, 2013

New Orleans Vacation

Staff is helpful and friendly. Hotel is in a great location. Very affordable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Natchez Jazz Cruise is great

Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pam I
Allegan, Mi
Mar 27, 2013

Would Stay again

Good loaction, price was good, very close to french quarters

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

very short walk

Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Explorer
Western Massachusetts
May 19, 2013

Great deal, great location, friendly staff

We were on a budget - My husband and I with our son and daughter-in-law in one room with 2 queen-sized beds. The room was lovely and we managed to make everything fit and still be able to move around. When we requested extra towels, a young man arrived within 5 minutes with 6 more of each size. When we asked if there was a way we could get our wine bottle opened, he took it next door to a bar and had it uncorked for us. All the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was good - a lot of variety. The pool was small and the pool area a bit cramped, but we enjoyed spending time there, up on a 6th floor terrace. Walking distance to the French Quarter and the superdome. I would definitely go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Court of Two Sisters Jazz brunch in the French Quarter.

Back to menu Return to top