The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

3 stars
231 Carondolet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
125 reviews
Great for the night!

We only stayed for one night , but the hotel staff was great! We had a great time! Very pleased!!... See full review

  • NicNJohn
  • Mar 24, 2014
Amazing getaway for anyone

Staff was amazing, the hot breakfast was greatly served every morning, an the location was perfect... See full review

  • toy toy
  • Mar 11, 2014
Located just one block from the historic French Quarter, the Cotton Exchange Hotel's decor pays tribute to the colorful palettes created by Degas and his fellow Impressionists. In addition to high ceilings and large windows which allow for vast amounts of natural light, all 223 rooms are decorated in vibrant colors, and the walls are hung with reproductions of Impressionist paintings.

Valet parking is $30 + tax per night per vehicle. A valid credit card is required for payment for valet. Cash is not accepted.Cotton Exchange Hotel does not accept pets.

Hotel Map

29.9524 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
MSY-Louis Armstrong International
Area description
Central business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel also booked these hotels.

The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
One queen bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard Double
Two double beds, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard King
One king bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Ice Queen
Business
New Orleans, LA
Mar 25, 2013

Weekend Stay

Hotel was ok. Staff seemed a bit stressed as they were busy when we checked in. No offer to help with luggage when we came in. The room cleanliness left a little to be desired. The toilet could have used another cleaning and the room would not cool down! We set it as low as it would go and it was still pretty warm. Also, we would have been very uncomfortable if it had been cold out as there were no blankets. Parking is outrageous expensive so we had to park about 4 blocks away. It is a good location for what we were going for, but do not think I will ever stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pickle
Business
Langhorne, PA, USA
Mar 25, 2013

Spring in N'awlins

For as little time we spent in the room it was a very clean, bright and comfortable room. We were out of the room on average 9 hours a day straight and then came back to freshen up then out again then came in late at night and collapsed on the most comfortable beds. The cafe on the main floor worked out well, plenty of breakfast food choices and FREE. The staff in the hotel were great and helpful. Location of the hotel was great, all in walking distance of just about everything. Our ONLY complaint was the hotel elevator was sooo slow. We would definitely book this hotel again when we return to NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aliceyu
Business
Nashville, TN
Mar 25, 2013

good location and price

Good price for a hotel located near CBD and French quarter. Need to improve amenities and breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STL Cards fan
Business
St. Louis, MO
Mar 25, 2013

Good for location and price

We were a little nervous staying here after reading bad reviews. The location was great, and the price was right for New Orleans. The hotel is only 1 1/2 blocks from the French Quarter, and we spent most of our time exploring NOLA. The hotel is nothing special. The rooms and beds are small. Ours had a refrigerator and microwave. The room was clean enough but not immaculate. We had hot water in the morning. So all in all the hotel was acceptable. However, when we checked out, another group was cancelling their reservation because they found a huge cockroach (which they had in a "to go" container). I don't know if I would stay again and risk having a bad experience, but it's a great value/location if you have realistic expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Laura senior mom
Business
Burlington, Vermont
Mar 23, 2013

Visiting New Orleans

We arrived at 1:45 p.m. and told check in was at 4:00 p.m. left bags with bell hop. Had a some what hard time with room and finding a Ice bucket , but the location made it all worth while. The breakfast was delicious and a tip get up early as seating is not always available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

24 hour restaurant close to location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bhodg
Business
Utah
Mar 19, 2013

Not Impressed

The room was not cleaned well. We found someone's dirty socks from a previous visit. Floor was stained. Bed had two sheets and a small blanket that didn't cover our feet. Entire room was tilted to the East (could see the water was not draining well from the tub as it gathered in the opposite end). Staff struggled to find our reservation but did finally find it after about 10-15 minutes of looking. She was also more interested in discussing her work schedule than focusing on finding my reservation. Overall, we were not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Superman07
Business
Natchez, Ms
Mar 18, 2013

Had a Great Time

Had a very good experience here. Would suggest it to people. People were really nice, room was super clean. Not very far from everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kamara10
Business
Illinois
Mar 14, 2013

It was worth the price

I read some online reviews after I booked my stay and I was really worried I made a big mistake, but my experience was not as depicted. During my stay, the elevators worked, there was hot water, room was adequately heated or cooled as needed, sheets and towels replaced, did not feel any bed bugs, and never had a cause to contact management. The location to my conference hotel and other cultural sites was perfect. If the review were currect, I would say the situation is much much better. I would say to them "Keep it up".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Superdome and French Quaters just stone throws away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ConferenceGoerNoLa
Business
Santa Barbara
Mar 10, 2013

FQ Adjacent

Relatively reasonable pricing for a good location and comfortable enough room. No window so dreary but good for sleeping in! Nothing fancy here but the place does the trick. Biggest issue was a lack of hot water for showering on two of the three days. Friendly staff who let us check in early after a red eye flight--much appreciated!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eng Man
Business
WCH, New Jersey
Feb 27, 2013

Was There For The R&R 1/2 Marathon

The location was great for getting to and from the race, only a few blocks from both. Very near the French Quarter for all your entertainment needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a market one block down that will meet your needs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top