The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

3 stars
231 Carondolet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
141 reviews
Great for the night!

We only stayed for one night , but the hotel staff was great! We had a great time! Very pleased!!... See full review

  • NicNJohn
  • Mar 24, 2014
Amazing getaway for anyone

Staff was amazing, the hot breakfast was greatly served every morning, an the location was perfect... See full review

  • toy toy
  • Mar 11, 2014
Located just one block from the historic French Quarter, the Cotton Exchange Hotel's decor pays tribute to the colorful palettes created by Degas and his fellow Impressionists. In addition to high ceilings and large windows which allow for vast amounts of natural light, all 223 rooms are decorated in vibrant colors, and the walls are hung with reproductions of Impressionist paintings.

Valet parking is $30 + tax per night per vehicle. A valid credit card is required for payment for valet. Cash is not accepted.Cotton Exchange Hotel does not accept pets.

Hotel Map

29.9524 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
MSY-Louis Armstrong International
Area description
Central business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel also booked these hotels.

The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
One queen bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard Double
Two double beds, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard King
One king bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.5 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Storyville: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.4 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (141)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
141 out of 141
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.2

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
geok
NJ
May 3, 2013

A great Jazzfest location!

This was my first trip to New Orleans and the big music festival, Jazzfest. The hotel location was terrific for access to the French Quarter (a short walk across Canal St) and transportation to the festival or anywhere else for that matter. The streetcars are wonderful and very close to the hotel. The room itself was great and the maid service was good. Certainly not a 5 star hotel but the price was great and the location could not have been better. All in all a great deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdufrene
galliano.la
Apr 24, 2013

Average cheap hotel just to spend the night

stayed at this hotel just to get away it was last minute and cheap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiwi75
MS
Apr 24, 2013

Don't Plan on getting any sleep here

Hotel has large rooms to rent for parties center of all floors and the hotel rooms surround. My night there a school was having a DJ'd party untill 3AM on my floor. Might as well been at the party it was so loud and the DJ every other word was a curse word. Called the front desk 3 times to complain and even the next morning when checking out. All I was told was sorry we did not know they would be that late. They did nothing to make up for this, I paid over $240 for a hotel room and eneded up staying in a teen age dance club. Made a complaint to the hotel website with zero response. Will never stay here again, would get more rest at a $40 motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dad like me
San Francisco, CA
Apr 21, 2013

Nice location

Although we only planned to visit Tulane University for this visit, I would say this hotel is at a perfect location if we come for fan in New Orleans, especially if to go french quarter. I read some reviews before coming. To my surprise, the room is very clean. I found everything I needed. Air conditioning was operating well. I had a good sleep in the room. The free breakfast helps to save us time for the second day, although it was brief and simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Allyson D
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 18, 2013

Comfortable stay

I was a bit apprehensive when I read a lot of reviews for this hotel but for the price, how bad could it be? I was pleasantly surprised by the staff's helpfulness when our toilet became clogged as well as when we needed to catch a taxi back to the airport. The continental breakfast was the usual fair (cereal, eggs, bagels, waffles with waffle maker) and included in the price of the stay. The maid service was the average you get pretty much anywhere. We received fresh towels every day and our beds were made up. Beds were pretty comfortable. The hotel is located 2 blocks from Bourbon St and is quiet at night. On a side note, my friend and I travel a bit and when we do, we don't stay much in our hotel. We only stay to sleep and shower. If you are looking for a hotel that will cater to more than your basics, you may want to consider paying a bit more for these luxuries. Overall, we were very happy with our stay and would come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon St is 2 blocks away.

Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cwc122184
wisconsin rapids, wi
Apr 16, 2013

Good value

hotel is within easy walking district of bourbon st and the french quarter. great value. room was clean but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jenny 700
chicago
Apr 6, 2013

good enough

Location was convenient, rooms were average. Would have been nice to have an indoor pool. Staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
local from la
la
Apr 3, 2013

Tolerable

Staff very unorganized rooms were not available at 5;00 pm had to wait and no one could tell you when or how long the wait would be!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LVCAT
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 30, 2013

New Orleans vacation

No heater and very few blankets, so was freezing at night. No hot water in the shower. Very thin walls. Pool was out of service. Gym only has two treadmill and a bike. Only thing good was the location. Room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pam I
Allegan, Mi
Mar 27, 2013

Would Stay again

Good loaction, price was good, very close to french quarters

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

very short walk

Back to menu Return to top