The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

3 stars
231 Carondolet Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
125 reviews
Great for the night!

We only stayed for one night , but the hotel staff was great! We had a great time! Very pleased!!... See full review

  • NicNJohn
  • Mar 24, 2014
Amazing getaway for anyone

Staff was amazing, the hot breakfast was greatly served every morning, an the location was perfect... See full review

  • toy toy
  • Mar 11, 2014
The old granite structure of the Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel was initially built to be a cotton exchange, but has since been remodeled into the Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel right in the heart of the downtown NOLA business district. The structure is registered as a National Historic Landmark, so a nostalgic feeling pervades the air. The high ceilings, vintage furniture, antique-style French artwork and mystique suit the Cotton Exchange Hotel perfectly. Travel-lusters will enjoy the comfortable beds and a tasty complimentary breakfast for early risers. The rooftop pool provides a great place to relax while enjoying the rooftop garden, which is a fine vantage point for gazing out over historic New Orleans and the famous Mississippi River.
Key facts
  • 222 guestrooms
  • 8 floors
  • Pool
  • Gym
  • Gift shop
  • Bar/lounge
  • Conference and event spaces
  • In-room child care
  • Limo and town car service available
  • 24-hour front desk
Neighborhood
If you're heading to New Orleans to explore Bourbon Street and the wonders of the French Quarter, the Cotton Exchange Hotel is within easy walking distance. You'll find Lafayette Square, Aquarium of the Americas and Riverwalk Marketplace within the neighborhood.
Hints and tips
The hotel was built more than a century ago, so expect to stay in rooms that are small but comfortable.

There are no on-site restaurants, but for those who don't wish to eat at many of the nearby restaurants, there is a shop next door where guests can purchase sandwiches, snacks and liquor.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9524 -90.071
Area served
New Orleans
Nearby airports
MSY-Louis Armstrong International
Area description
Central business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel also booked these hotels.

The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel Rooms

Standard Queen
One queen bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard Double
Two double beds, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.
Standard King
One king bed, AM/FM clock radio, Cable TV, coffee maker, dataport, hairdryer,iron and ironing board, Internet access,in room movies, free morning paper, AC, work desk with lamp.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.5 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.6 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.7 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.7 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.3 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.7 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (125)

Ratings and reviews for The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NJ Business Traveler
Business
Maplewood, NJ, USA
May 29, 2013

Good location, nothing special but adequate

Rooms are odd in that they are narrow and have REALLY high ceilings. If you can get a corner room, they are better than the unpredictable nature of other rooms. They skipped service on my room one night and never replenished supplies. Good price for the location though as it's an easy walk all over to the different areas of NOLA. Closest is Bourbon St & French Quarter. Hotel served my needs just fine but if you want something special you'll have to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Medium walk wasn't a choice, but the French Market is pretty close..a decent walk and so fun to explore.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YngMaji
Business
Washington, DC
May 28, 2013

Perfect location, Good rooms

The hotel is located a block and a half from Bourbon Street - close enough to crawl back to your room, no need to even try to stand up and stumble back! Besides the great location, the rooms are quite nicely appointed with comfortable, classically stylish furnishings. The vaulted ceilings and large, tall windows add to the historical antebellum architecture of the hotel. A couple of drawbacks, hotel bar patrons will tend to illegally park in the guest unloading zone; the valet parking is a bit on the high side; and the pool is very small. Overall, a very nice, comfortable hotel that is more than adequate for a trip to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
freckle face fannie
Business
New Orleans,Louisana
May 24, 2013

Great couples getaway

Great experience staff was really nice. Hotel was really clean great location good breakfast pretty quiet. We went just as a couple but I would take my kids also. Safe environment and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Explorer
Business
Western Massachusetts
May 19, 2013

Great deal, great location, friendly staff

We were on a budget - My husband and I with our son and daughter-in-law in one room with 2 queen-sized beds. The room was lovely and we managed to make everything fit and still be able to move around. When we requested extra towels, a young man arrived within 5 minutes with 6 more of each size. When we asked if there was a way we could get our wine bottle opened, he took it next door to a bar and had it uncorked for us. All the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Breakfast was good - a lot of variety. The pool was small and the pool area a bit cramped, but we enjoyed spending time there, up on a 6th floor terrace. Walking distance to the French Quarter and the superdome. I would definitely go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Court of Two Sisters Jazz brunch in the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelMel RN
Business
Wisconsin
May 16, 2013

love it

I loved the high ceilings and the room set up. A little small but fit me and a friend just fine. good location...couple blocks from bourbon st.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. GFT
Business
New Orleans
May 14, 2013

Don't Bother

The room we checked into was filthy! There was rust stains all over the toliet and the tub had black grime at the bottom. I reported the situation and they were to move us to another room. I went to look at two other rooms, which were equally filthy, before a suitable room was found. Then that room sprung a leak during a rainy day and we had to move again. I found out the hotel used to be a Holiday Inn, but lost the franchise because of a refusal to update to modern standards. Stay away from this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MGayle
Business
Hattiesburg,MS
May 13, 2013

Great Location

Great location for what we needed! Awesome continental breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindaa
Business
Texas
May 9, 2013

so close to french quarter

very clean, well maintained, so convenient, been to new orleans more than ten times and this is best hotel we have stayed in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jazz traveler from ny
Business
New Orleans
May 7, 2013

jazz feast

The Hotel was very nice.The staff was amazing,they also had a very nice set up for breakfast.Would definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Historic Cotton Exchange Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAN126
Business
CHICAGO, IL
May 6, 2013

TRUST ME, I TRAVEL ALOT!

THE STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL THE BREAKFAST WAS AMAZING (GET THERE EARLY) IT CHANGED EVERYDAY WE WERE THERE... WAFFLE MAKERS-EGGS BACON SAUSAGE-MUFFINS-BAGELS-ETC THE LOCATION WAS AMAZING... TECHNICALLY IT IS BOURBON ST... U CROSS A BLOCK/HALF (CANAL ST) AND IT TURNS INTO BOURBON ST... WHICH I WOULDNT WANT TO STAY ON ANYWAY W/ THE NOISE... GYM HAS A FLAT SCREEN, BIKE & TREADMILL BASIC BUT GETS IT DONE FOR CARDIO. DEF WOULD GO AGAIN... DEF WOULD RECOMMEND... ANY1 TELL YOU DIFFERENT THEY'RE JUST TO "HIGH CLASS" DAN-- CHICAGO

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

BOURBON ST, BLOCK HALF AWAY...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top