$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 18, 2014 Check-out: Dec 19, 2014

The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-3410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
26 reviews
Great location

We enjoyed are mini vacation in the city we live in. See full review

  • Maureen Philips
  • Feb 1, 2014
perfect hotel

Excellent place to stay, and only minutes away from the casino. See full review

  • Adrianclark
  • Aug 9, 2013
Convenient location and modern amenities in a budget hotel
Simple and modern, The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection hotel is convenient to the financial and legal offices in the Central Business District and steps from the French Quarter, the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Harrah's Casino. The St. Charles Streetcar stops in front of the hotel's doors. A note to Mardi Gras revelers: The hotel is on the parade route.
Highlights
  • Convenient to business district and French Quarter
  • Budget friendly with pleasant rooms
  • On-site cafe and pub

 

Rooms

Each of the 122 king, queen and double-double rooms at The Blake Hotel New Orleans are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 37-inch flat-screen LCD TV, phones with voicemail, free Internet access, coffee maker and in-room safe. Blackout curtains help keep the light out when the partying is done. The King Rooms have micro fridge.

Features
The on-site restaurant is now open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. The hotel also offers room service, 24-hour market place and business center with boarding pass kiosk. During free time, guests at The Blake Hotel New Orleans can work out at the  24-hour fitness center on site. Valet parking is available (fees apply). No pets are allowed.
Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport
  • St Charles Streetcar
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Lafayette Square
  • Central Business District
  • Superdome
  • Garden District
Business
  • Meeting space up to 2,000 square feet and 200 people
  • Internet access included in resort fee
  • Event catering
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 26
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4
Value:
3

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moyo
Business
Kansas city
Mar 26, 2014

family vacation

We enjoyed our stay except for parking and the elevators were very slow

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JasTiger
Business
McComb,MS
Mar 21, 2014

Much needed time alone

The staff was very professional and on point. The room was perfect for the short amount of time we stayed. And we lovr the fact that it was walking distance to certain attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daze77
Business
modesto, california
Nov 15, 2013

great location, friendly staff

we enjoyed at our stay at the Blake, it was centrally located, walking distance to French Quarter, Bourbon Street, Street car, etc. The room was great, only problem was the stop in the bath drain didn't work, so that was annoying. The elevator was fidgety as well, we had to use the second elevator constantly, which was nearby, but again, just inconvenient. Overall, it was a great, nice place to stay and I would stay at the Blake again if I ever go back to NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larrywhite
Business
Alexandria, LA
May 21, 2013

Excellent choice

We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay at your hotel and we will consider staying there again when we come to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan to spend a few hours at the French Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJ and CC
Business
California
Mar 5, 2013

Needs some TLC

The room and bathroom was a bit rundown and right off, we had to call for the ac to be fixed. The next day, the heat smelled. Because our room was on the side where the trolley runs, it was annoying at night. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Activ8
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Mar 3, 2013

okay if you're on a budget, otherwise spend a bit more and get a better place

Decent place, but underwhelming after seeing the reality which is not what you expect from the pictures online. Breakfast is not included like most places and the rooms have a musty odour. Not a hotel you can relax in or that would allow you to enjoy your stay because there were no lounges or public area apart from the lobby. If you strictly need a bed for the night, then this is okay, but then the price is a bit high for just that. I was not too happy with my choice - I'll take a higher price with some better options next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j rod
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jan 2, 2013

Great Location

Nice hotel in a great location. highly recommend for any weekend stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy with stay
Business
Lafayette, Louisiana
Nov 18, 2012

Should have stayed somewhere else.

The reason for my stay in New Orleans was for a family member's wedding. Was told by Valet parking attendant and front desk that it would take 15 minutes to get my vehicle. After waiting an hour it still did not show. Was given two different reasons for the delay. Long story short, i missed the wedding. Other family members stayed at different hotels in the area and had no problems gettting their vehicles. Ended up not having to pay for parking after making a scene in front of the hotel. Also if you like a hot shower do not stay here. Water would not get above lukewarm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just a travelin gal
Business
mobile, Alabama
Oct 29, 2012

nice weekend trip

We had a great stay for the weekend. The hotel was literally within walking distance of everything: within blocks of bourbon street and a doable walk to the French Quarter as well. The hotel itself was average but the location is what makes this hotel special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deb820
Business
Houma
Oct 15, 2012

blake

room was very small, bathroom small no space or vanity to set personal items.Was in the right location for event we were attending. Would not stay there again more like 2 star staff at desk not pleasant door person excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top