$76 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-3410

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
27 reviews
french quarter fest fun

first room assigned left a lot to be desired. musty odor and the feeling that when i book onlini... See full review

  • GLB1956
  • Dec 6, 2014
nice and clean

very close to french quarter, museums and casino. Perferct location See full review

  • Lisa86
  • Feb 12, 2014
Simple and modern, The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection hotel is convenient to the financial and legal offices in the Central Business District and steps from the French Quarter, the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Harrah's Casino. The St. Charles Streetcar stops in front of the hotel's doors. A note to Mardi Gras revelers: The hotel is on the parade route.
Rooms

Each of the 122 king, queen and double-double rooms at The Blake Hotel New Orleans are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 37-inch flat-screen LCD TV, phones with voicemail, free Internet access, coffee maker and in-room safe. Blackout curtains help keep the light out when the partying is done. The King Rooms have micro fridge.

Property features
The on-site restaurant is now open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. The hotel also offers room service, 24-hour market place and business center with boarding pass kiosk. During free time, guests at The Blake Hotel New Orleans can work out at the  24-hour fitness center on site. Valet parking is available (fees apply). No pets are allowed.
Highlights
  • Convenient to business district and French Quarter
  • Budget friendly with pleasant rooms
  • On-site cafe and pub

 

Nearby attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Lafayette Square
  • Central Business District
  • Superdome
  • Garden District
Business
  • Meeting space up to 2,000 square feet and 200 people
  • Internet access included in resort fee
  • Event catering
Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport
  • St Charles Streetcar
Policies
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.2

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bovine
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 11, 2014

Great location, not much else to say

The room was awful. Shared a wall with the ice machine, and I could hear every cube. Hair on the floor in the bathroom. No window. Cold. I wanted to call about the lack of heat, but there was no phone. I had to walk to the front desk. They couldn't fix the heat so I was moved to another room. That one had a window, phone, refrigerator, microwave and it was much larger. Still dirty. Rooms shabby - need paint, upgrades. So, it made me think I got their worst room because I booked through Orbitiz. I will never stay at that hotel again and I wonder whether all hotels assign their worse rooms to people who book through a company like Orbitiz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deb820
Business
Houma
Oct 15, 2012

blake

room was very small, bathroom small no space or vanity to set personal items.Was in the right location for event we were attending. Would not stay there again more like 2 star staff at desk not pleasant door person excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
exhausted in New Orleans
Business
Scottsdale, Arizona
Oct 20, 2012

Great location - the hotel is not so good

This hotel was described as recently renovated. When I checked in, I mentioned this to the front desk clerk. She said that they were putting the finishing touches on some of the rooms. The first room I was given was totally unacceptable - dirty carpet with numerous tears, cigarette burns on the bathroom counter, gaping hole in the closet where the non-functional safe had been installed. After complaining, I was given a very small room that was in better condition. However, the bathroom wallpaper was peeling, and there was significant corrosion on the ceiling. I had paid in full prior to checking into the hotel. The clerk initially tried to charge me again for the full stay. When I presented paperwork showing the payment, she said that she needed to see my credit card for incidental charges. When I checked out, I confirmed that my bill was paid in full. However, I subsequently received a duplicate charge on my credit card for the hotel stay and an additional charge for some other item which I did not purchase. When I called the hotel, they acknowledged the errors and said that a credit would be promptly issued. Instead, they charged my credit card again for the hotel stay. I have spent hours trying to resolve the billing problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travel is My Thing
Business
Houston, TX
Feb 5, 2014

Great Location, But Old and Unimpressive

The hotel is extremely old, and you can tell. Good views are nonexistent in this hotel. The room I stayed in was dirty and the air conditioner didn't work well. The room never reached lower than 74 degrees, even though the system ran nonstop. I have the same digital thermometer at my house, so I definitely know how to work it, and I still couldn't get it cooled down (even though the outside temperatures never reached above 65 degrees). They don't offer pay per view movies. There is no on site parking. So you are required to pay to valet park at $29 (plus tax) per night. The elevator takes so long, that I often found myself giving up and just climbing 9 flights of stairs. On the up side, the restaurant was excellent, and the staff was friendly. The room also offered a free mini fridge and microwave, which was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The French Quarter is within walking distance. As are many great restaurants.

Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
exhausted in New Orleans
Business
Brentwood, California
Oct 15, 2012

The staff are great - the hotel is not!

This hotel was described as being "modern" and recently renovated. At check in, I was told that the hotel was just completing some finishing touches to the renovation. In the first room I was given, the carpet was filthy, with numerous tears. Although it is a non-smoking hotel, there was a large cigarette burn on the cheap bathroom counter. The wall safe did not work, and had been installed into a gaping hope in the closet, without being plastered into place. After a long discussion with a very pleasant front desk clerk and the maintenance man, I was given a very small room which was in much better condition. Although the wallpaper was peeling off the bathroom wall and there were obvious signs of corrosion on the bathroom ceiling, the carpet was clean, and the bedding seemed relatively new. Frankly, the helpful attitude of the staff was the only thing which prevented me from contacting the booking agent to request an immediate change to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Unhappy with stay
Business
Lafayette, Louisiana
Nov 18, 2012

Should have stayed somewhere else.

The reason for my stay in New Orleans was for a family member's wedding. Was told by Valet parking attendant and front desk that it would take 15 minutes to get my vehicle. After waiting an hour it still did not show. Was given two different reasons for the delay. Long story short, i missed the wedding. Other family members stayed at different hotels in the area and had no problems gettting their vehicles. Ended up not having to pay for parking after making a scene in front of the hotel. Also if you like a hot shower do not stay here. Water would not get above lukewarm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJ and CC
Business
California
Mar 5, 2013

Needs some TLC

The room and bathroom was a bit rundown and right off, we had to call for the ac to be fixed. The next day, the heat smelled. Because our room was on the side where the trolley runs, it was annoying at night. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Beatrice E.
Business
N/A
Feb 20, 2015

Great Location! Horrible Service.

The Location of this hotel was great! We were off St.Charles street where all the parades came through. 10 to 15 minute walk to Bourbon St. We were even allowed to get on the hotel balcony and view the parades and catch all the beads during Mardi Gras Weekend. The only thing I did not like was the hotel service. Our room was not the right room for the first night and we had to argue with the night staff to get our room changed for the rest of the time we were there. The room we moved in to after the fact smelled like vomit and the sheets and towels had stains on them. The only reason we did not change hotels was because we where barely there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Partying Traveler
Business
new jersey
Feb 19, 2014

no major complaints

No major complaints about this hotel. Location was pretty close to canal. Room was spacious but very basic. Only complaint is guests elevator was also service elevator so it took Forever and the only mirror was in the bathroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicole3298
Business
Illinois
Feb 25, 2014

Good hotel

Not the nicest , the lobby and restaurant is great. The staff is super nice, but the elevators are sooooo slow. And the rooms need updating. Pretty old and dusty and peeling paint. Great location especially during mardi gras they have a balcony on the 2nd floor you can use during the parades. I'll stay here again just during mardi gras for convience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top