$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
500 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70130-3410
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
27 reviews
Great location

We enjoyed are mini vacation in the city we live in. See full review

  • Maureen Philips
  • Feb 1, 2014
perfect hotel

Excellent place to stay, and only minutes away from the casino. See full review

  • Adrianclark
  • Aug 9, 2013
Convenient location and modern amenities in a budget hotel
Simple and modern, The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Collection hotel is convenient to the financial and legal offices in the Central Business District and steps from the French Quarter, the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center and Harrah's Casino. The St. Charles Streetcar stops in front of the hotel's doors. A note to Mardi Gras revelers: The hotel is on the parade route.
Highlights
  • Convenient to business district and French Quarter
  • Budget friendly with pleasant rooms
  • On-site cafe and pub

 

Rooms

Each of the 122 king, queen and double-double rooms at The Blake Hotel New Orleans are outfitted with iron and ironing board, hair dryer, full-length mirror, AM/FM clock radio, 37-inch flat-screen LCD TV, phones with voicemail, free Internet access, coffee maker and in-room safe. Blackout curtains help keep the light out when the partying is done. The King Rooms have micro fridge.

Features
The on-site restaurant is now open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week. The hotel also offers room service, 24-hour market place and business center with boarding pass kiosk. During free time, guests at The Blake Hotel New Orleans can work out at the  24-hour fitness center on site. Valet parking is available (fees apply). No pets are allowed.
Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong International Airport
  • St Charles Streetcar
Attractions
  • French Quarter
  • Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Lafayette Square
  • Central Business District
  • Superdome
  • Garden District
Business
  • Meeting space up to 2,000 square feet and 200 people
  • Internet access included in resort fee
  • Event catering
Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.4 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.4 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.4 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.5 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.7 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.7 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.2 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.4 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 2.9 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.5 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.1 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.2

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Adrianclark
Business
atl,, GA.
Aug 9, 2013

perfect hotel

Excellent place to stay, and only minutes away from the casino.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Casino

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maureen Philips
Business
Louisiana
Feb 1, 2014

Great location

We enjoyed are mini vacation in the city we live in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Just a travelin gal
Business
mobile, Alabama
Oct 29, 2012

nice weekend trip

We had a great stay for the weekend. The hotel was literally within walking distance of everything: within blocks of bourbon street and a doable walk to the French Quarter as well. The hotel itself was average but the location is what makes this hotel special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FUN DAY
Business
BELLE GLADE, FLORIDA
Nov 13, 2012

FUN TIME

CHECK IN WAS GREAT, I WAS ABLE TO GET IN MY ROOM 2 HOURS BEFORE CHECK-IN TIME. THE RIVERWALK IS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE FROM THE HOTEL. HAVE A GREAT TIME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

WEAR COMFORTABLE SHOES

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
j rod
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jan 2, 2013

Great Location

Nice hotel in a great location. highly recommend for any weekend stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tely Esp
Business
Dallas tx
Feb 12, 2013

last minute Mardi Gras night

we loved the front desk staff, they went above and beyond to get us a room Ryan and the front desk manager! Mardi Gras parades were right in front of hotel, great location as we had children and were able to see parades and take breaks in our room. There was also a bathroom located in the lobby. They had security. Great stay that night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

very close to Cana St and French Quarter was walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mmmmmmbeer
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Apr 26, 2013

Great value in CBD

I was looking for a decent place to stay while in NOLA. I didn't want to break the bank, but also didn't want to stay at a noisy dive. The Blake is a great value for people like me who want a nice, classy joint for a fair price. Although certainly not luxurious, the room was clean, modern, and comfortable. I had a small room (single queen) which might be a problem for some, but I thought it was rather cozy and roomy enough. I was on the 8th floor, so the only city noise I would occasionally hear was the trolley running on St. Charles street. Bed was clean and comfortable. My only complaints were that the AC was incredibly noisy, and the shower head shot 7 or 8 weak streams of water in all different directions. The location is decent enough - very safe, and a short 5-10 minute walk to the French Quarter, 5 minute walk to Harrah's, and accessible by bus and trolley. I spent most of my time in Marigny/Bywater so I felt this was a little far from the action. However, if you're in town for business or for the French Quarter, this is probably an ideal spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit Frenchmen Street at night for a taste of real New Orleans!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Larrywhite
Business
Alexandria, LA
May 21, 2013

Excellent choice

We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay at your hotel and we will consider staying there again when we come to New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Plan to spend a few hours at the French Market

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GypsyMoth
Business
Navarre, FL
Oct 15, 2013

Girl's Getaway

I took my Mom here for Mother's Day. This hotel felt very safe, inside and out. Mostly business travelers, so not heavy partying and noise in the hotel. The small bar and restaurant and their staff was very comfortable and friendly. We enjoyed unwinding at the bar and talking to the staff, who made us feel like friends. The one meal we had there, fresh crab cakes, was GREAT! The free valet parking was awesome and just took a few minutes longer than if you parked yourself. The park is on one side, and has concerts or craft shows that close down before bedtime; it's also right next door to a Name coffee shop (excellent coffee and staff there too). It is a short drive or 20 minute walk to the French Quarter or Casino. We will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the free valet parking. It takes a few extra minutes to get your car, but saves $20.00 a day in parking fees. Hotel bar has great Happy Hour prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Blake Hotel New Orleans, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
daze77
Business
modesto, california
Nov 15, 2013

great location, friendly staff

we enjoyed at our stay at the Blake, it was centrally located, walking distance to French Quarter, Bourbon Street, Street car, etc. The room was great, only problem was the stop in the bath drain didn't work, so that was annoying. The elevator was fidgety as well, we had to use the second elevator constantly, which was nearby, but again, just inconvenient. Overall, it was a great, nice place to stay and I would stay at the Blake again if I ever go back to NOLA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top