$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2014 Check-out: May 8, 2014

Super 8 New Orleans

2 stars
6322 Chef Menteur Highway, New Orleans, LA 70126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
58 reviews
Inexpensive getaway for a short period of time

The receptionist at the front desk was very nice at my arrival. The rooms were very clean. The beds... See full review

  • Boss Lady J
  • Feb 28, 2013
I was worried, but there was no need.

If you're going to stay here the biggest issue is transportation. It's just far enough a way that... See full review

  • femmenoire
  • Jan 10, 2013
The Super 8 New Orleans is conveniently located off I-10 at exit 240 A or B, and is the closest Super 8 to the French Quarter. We are located within minutes of the French Quarter, Bourbon Street, the Convention Center, business district, Cruise Port, Superdome and many other iconic Big Easy attractions. We invite you to come stay with us at the Super 8 and enjoy our southern hospitality at its best while enjoying some of New Orleans best and finest. Business Center available for use of guests. We are within minutes of all major city attractions making it easy for you to indulge in what the city has to offer. Special Events- New Years Eve - Annual Allstate Sugar Bowl - Mardi Gras - Jazz and Heritage Festival - Essence Music Festival - Voodoo Music Festival - Bayou Classic. For a complete list of all major city wide festivals, please visit the NOMCVB. Special Event Policy. 1st Night Deposit . Room And Taxes. Charge On The Credit Card You Provide. It Will Be Charged 2 Weeks In Advance Of Your Reservations. Cancellation Is 72 Hours Before Arrival Date. If You Cancel Before Deadline The Deposit Will Be Credit Back To Your Credit Card.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 New Orleans also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

30.0105 -90.0151
Area description
Entertainment district

Nearby points of interest

  • Lakefront Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 3.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 4.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 4.4 mi
  • Algiers Point: 4.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 4.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 4.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 4.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.7 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 4.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 5 mi
  • Storyville: 5 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 2.5 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 3.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 4.1 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 4.4 mi
  • Algiers Point: 4.5 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 4.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 4.7 mi
  • Jackson Square: 4.7 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 4.7 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 4.7 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 4.8 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 4.9 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 5 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 5 mi
  • Storyville: 5 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 5.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 5.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 5.2 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 5.2 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 5.3 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 5.5 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 5.5 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 5.7 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 5.7 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 5.7 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 5.8 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 5.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 5.9 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 6.3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 8 mi
  • Riverbend: 8.3 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 9.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 New Orleans

Overall score

3.6 / 5
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.1
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Jines
Oakland, CA, USA
Jan 31, 2012

Personal

The staff was very helpful, 5min drive from down town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
hot tody
pleasanton,ca
Nov 30, 2011

filled the the bill

the location was perfect for to/from the French Quarter on Route 10. Valuewise...my friends paid $200+ with an additional parking fee and NO Breakfast :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

several parking lots were very close to almost everything

Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Baduche
Lafayette, LA
Nov 16, 2011

Family Wedding

Our stay at your hotel was very nice. It was clean, had plenty of towels and the AC worked great!!!! The bed was also comfortable. I would definately stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
fish1534
Florida
Nov 15, 2011

Cheap and convenient to downtown

Cheap hotels don't exist in downtown New Orleans. We were looking for a hotel that was cheap, safe and convient to the city. While it may be a pain to drive into the city and pay for parking, it is a lot cheaper than staying downtown. This hotel was only about a five minute drive to the French Quarter (on the weekend and without traffic). The hotel is located in a rough industrial looking area with abandoned buildings but from our exploration of New Orleans, the entire city is the 'bad part of town'. The room was basic and a little run down but clean enough. We had plenty of hot water and the room had a small fridge. The beds were springy, if thats a word, not hard, not soft but springy, like sleeping on a trampoline. When we turned the heat on, it gave the usual warm heater smell but this set of the smoke detector so we just left the heater off. Becasue of the location and the large homeless population of New Orleans, I was worried about someone breaking into the room or car, but that was just New Orleans in general. These problems were not isolated to the Super 8, we saw homeless people urinating on the nicest hotels downtown too. You have to take those worries as part of the experience when you visit a third world country.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit Madri Gras world; it's a place that would be fun to be locked in overnight. how many places can you say that about?

Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
chrisR
Maine, USA
Oct 18, 2011

No complaints

As long as you are fine with being in Slidell and don't come or go from the city at peak hour you are fine. I-10 is a little confusing to get on and off of. Owners were real nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Baton Rouge,LA
Jun 7, 2011

"Nice for the price"

My husband and I were there for the R.Kelly concert, so we wanted to find somewhere affordable but near the Lakefront Areana and the business district. The hotel was nothing fancy but I will say, it was clean and in a great location for a good price. If you're looking for a clean place to sleep that's close to things, this is the spot for you!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

popeyes, Rally's, Wendy's and lots of other fast food places right over the overpass.

Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

3
Joelbaker
Keller,Tx
May 24, 2011

Super 8 New Orleans.

Great trip, The hotel was old, in a bad part of town but comfortable and secure. I got a smoking room but dont smoke. I could not tell it was a smoking room! The place had a very comfortable air to it. Location was only minutes away from downtown and freeway access was simple. The staff was great and it showed they took pride in their work. Thank you [...] for the warm welcome and very helpfull maps and parking tips. All came in very usefull! the parking was fery comforting there, it felt safe. All in all, I will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont judge a book by its cover.

Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
los angeles,ca
Apr 9, 2011

alright

it was ok, nothing especial. too far from bourban st. nothing around walking distance. i dont think i would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
AndraBohnet
Business
Mobile, AL
Mar 27, 2011

Just fine!

This was a great, inexpensive option for a one night stay in New Orleans. Conveniently close to I-10, but certainly not in the most glamourous of neighborhoods! However, the parking was covered and secure and the staff was nice. I would use this place again for an overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 New Orleans

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
MILTON, FL
Feb 28, 2011

GREAT HOTEL FOR WEEKEND GET AWAY!!

My girlfriend and I went to NOLA for the weekend. We checked in a little early on Sat. afternoon, took a 12 minute cab ride into the city, ($20.00), returned late in the eavning, slept great till 9 in the morning, and checked out. The room was very clean. The shower had plenty of room and water pressure. The staff was VERY FRIENDLY AND INFORMATIVE. We had plenty of privacy and it was very quiet. The only slightest little thing that could've been better was to have more options at the continental breakfast. The price was great and by staying just out of the city it was nice not to fight city traffic or waste time trying to find parking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go to Dragos and try the char grilled oysters!!! OMG!! Freakin YUMMY!!!

Back to menu Return to top