$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
230 reviews
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (230)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Jul 5, 2011

Great Friendly Staff But...

We stayed here during the Essence Music Festival, the hotel is in a great location to everything however needs some work... The wonderful front desk agent [...] upgraded us to a suite upon arrival, however when we got to the room we realized that the AC was barely working. Once we mentioned it they explained that because it was so hot outside and the AC were so old they were doing the best they could. We dealt with it, because we had a powerful ceiling fan in the room that helped, however walking into my room on the second night to see a HUGE waterbug/roach in my bathroom I almost lost it. We tried to switch hotels but everything was sold out we were stuck. As mentioned earlier all of the staff were very friendly and honest, but the owners of this hotel need to get it together. The restaurant was closed the entire time, no business center, no fitness center and you had to fill out a form to have housekeeping come to your room. How tacky!On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable and they did have flat screen TV's in the living room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks away from Casino and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Essence Lover
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 8, 2010

Wouldn't stay again!

We were in town for the Essence Music Festival. The location was ok. The Housekeeping was not good at all. We had to wait for towels and ask for our room to be cleaned daily. The doorman and front desk staff were GREAT! This could be a very good hotel with a few modifications or remodeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Willie Wise
Business
New Haven, CT
Jul 6, 2010

St. James Hotel

The hotel was old and quaint. The room was nice, I would say average. We were in New Orleans for the Essence Music Festival. The Hotel was in walking distance from the Superdome where the event was held. There was a stench where the pool was located. There was moss growing and the water in the pool was dirty. The land scaping around the pool and court yard was hurrendous. The staff was extremely nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can taker the trolly and see many sites in the city. Go shopping or what ever you chose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wash dc
Apr 12, 2010

St. James Hotel- forget it

The bell and desk staff were friendly, but we were disappointed in the hotel management. A broken toilet seat was not fixed through our entire stay. Fees of $10 a day were charged for phone service and internet which did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami
Dec 5, 2009

fine but not awesome

the place is in a good location and quiet and the rooms are clean and fine but the hallways esp the carpets don't look very clean and great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love New Orleans
Business
Upstate New York
Dec 14, 2009

Good Location..

We travel to New Orleans twice a year and have become very familiar with the City. The location of the St.James is really nice, short walk to the French Quarter,we even walked to the WWII Museum. Our room was very small but that can be expected with older buildings. This was only a three day vacation the size of the room would be an issue for a longer stay. The staff, all but one, were very friendly and helpful. They have a nice idea using feather beds but really need to use sheets that will stay tucked in!!! We will go back to New Orleans but probably would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant Cuvee is attached to the Hotel it was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Appenine
Business
Bayside, Queens, NY 11361, USA
Jan 1, 2012

St James

The hotel was as picture on their website. Nothing outstanding about it. It was conveniently located in the Central Buisness Disrtict, about two blocks from Harrahs, 2 blocks from the French Quarter and 2 blocks from a couple of Trolly lines. There was no refreigerator in the room. The hotel coffee was good. I never went to the restaraunt. For what I needed it for, (a place to pass out and shower) it was more than adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Don't get completely caught up on Bourbon St. Many nice venues for great live entertainment exist off the beaten path within the Quarter and elsewheres.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RaginCajun
Business
Athens, GA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Good location, lacks amenities

I enjoyed its location in relation to the french quarter, and was a great deal for what it was. The hotel lacked a continental breakfast or a gym but with as much walking you will do and the plethora of great restaurants around the area it wasn't that big of a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashton
Business
Hattiesburg, MS
Mar 16, 2012

We've Had Better

The St. James wasn't a bad hotel. I'll break it down into Pros and Cons. Pros - Location was right off Canal St, near the French Quarter, and was relatively quiet. The room itself was decently sized. Not as small as many NOLA hotel rooms often are. The bathroom was a fair size. The decor was nice enough, and everything appeared clean. Cons - Valet service was very expensive ($30/day) and VERY VERY SLOW. Expect to wait nearly 30 minutes for your car, even in off times of day. The front desk staff wasn't exactly friendly. Each time we encountered them, they acted like we were an annoyance. The walls in the rooms REALLY need a paint job. Nearly every open wall space had big black scuffs all over them (I assume from luggage?) The sink faucets and handles leaked very badly in the bathroom. The mattress was very uncomfortable. It felt old. I could feel every single spring and woke up with my back and neck on fire each morning. The elevator needs repairs in a bad way. It skips the floor you select and goes a floor above. Ex: We stayed on the 3rd floor. So select 3 in the elevator. It goes (slowwwwwly) to floor 4. What? Hit 3 again. It eventually takes you down to your appropriate level. We tested this on other floors, and it works the same on each one. Expect to pay substantial charges over the price of the room, particularly if you have your own car. We stayed two nights and the additional charges for valet, phone, and internet amounted to $95 over the cost of the two nights and taxes ($190). We probably won't stay again. We had much better service and stay at the Maison DuPuy for the same price previously. Or if you can afford it, stay at the Monteleone instead. Both are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Ruby Slipper Cafe. It's a little hectic in the mornings, but absolutely worth any wait you run into. Amazing breakfasts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pawrow
Business
Berlin, CT
May 18, 2012

New Orleans: Friendly City

It was a pleasant hotel and staff were helpful and friendly...I loved the service and food at the restaurant next to the hotel (they were really great... they anticipated every need...before you asked : water, bread etc..) you felt like Queen for the day...The desk person highly recommended the restaurant and Iwas grateful for the great dining experience...THE WORLD WAR 2 MUSEUM and film is a must see...I walked too much the first day... it would have been better to take the trolley (several available)...the next day I could barely walk and missed some programs at the RE convention ...Great food...friendly ,helpful people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

World War 2 Museum...take the trolley...the exhibits are very well thought out ...the film across the street is very impressive...you could comfortably spend 4 hours...the day I was there they had several musical groups performing ( inspiring )...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top