$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
230 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (230)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 18, 2010

Good Location, lacking otherwise

The Hotel was easy to find, and in a good location for experiencing our first time to New Orleans/Mardi Gras weekend. However, the rooms were small, and upon check-in were told that unless we requested services, our room would not be serviced by the housekeepers. Yet we were also told we were being charged additional fees of about 9$ for services, so that didn't make sense. On our second to last night we discovered a cockroach in our room, and immediately told the front desk. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
ann arbor
Jan 3, 2011

disappointed

This is not a four-star hotel. No room service, no restaurant. Dead bugs in dresser drawers and stains on towels. The average Holiday Inn has better amenities. However, the staff were all very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul Kent
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 2, 2008

St. James Hotel

This hotel is in a fine CBD location, near some good restaurants, but our stay was not a pleasant one - there is a venue next to the hotel that regularly hosts weddings - and this venue shares an inner courtyard with the St. James - there were weddings both nights we were there, and the noise was awful - not just the band playing until 1am, but all the screaming partygoers in the courtyard, and then everyone returning to the hotel afterwards - i honestly don't know how they can run a hotel in this location - there seemed to be A LOT of complaints - there is no way that anyone in the hotel who was trying to sleep could. I would NEVER stay here again. I know this is New Orleans, but if I'm going to stay up late partying, I want it to be on my own terms. Were it not for this problem, it would be a fine, standard hotel with limited amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La
Oct 19, 2009

st. james hotel--magazine st. nola

I visit New Orleans very frequently & enjoy trying out different hotels, however, there were a lot of events going on this weekend in the city so my choices were rather limited. I went ahead and booked this hotel even though I thought the price was pretty high ($220 per night!!!) On top of that--valet parking is $30 and i was charged $5 for an internet fee whenever the internet was never used. I'm used to staying at 'the W' which isn't exacly cheap either but at least it's always clean and the people would bend over backwards for you. They do not act like they're swamped at the front desk and will kindly answer any questions//make suggestions. The location for the St. James is not bad--just a few blocks off of canal. I was disappointed because the room was really small & not cleaned at all. They had two packs of empty cigarettes (from the previous guests) near the window when i specifically booked a nonsmoking room. It didn't smell clean at all, either. But the decor is nice, I suppose--just needs dusting--i'm not sure if that's the theme they're going for though. Love the city--just wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

house of blues, bourbon street, magazine street, etc.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mhaken
New Orleans
Jan 13, 2014

Enjoyable

Friendly staff. Bathroom needs a deep clean. AC wasn't working properly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
miami
Dec 5, 2009

fine but not awesome

the place is in a good location and quiet and the rooms are clean and fine but the hallways esp the carpets don't look very clean and great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love New Orleans
Upstate New York
Dec 14, 2009

Good Location..

We travel to New Orleans twice a year and have become very familiar with the City. The location of the St.James is really nice, short walk to the French Quarter,we even walked to the WWII Museum. Our room was very small but that can be expected with older buildings. This was only a three day vacation the size of the room would be an issue for a longer stay. The staff, all but one, were very friendly and helpful. They have a nice idea using feather beds but really need to use sheets that will stay tucked in!!! We will go back to New Orleans but probably would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant Cuvee is attached to the Hotel it was wonderful.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Appenine
Bayside, Queens, NY 11361, USA
Jan 1, 2012

St James

The hotel was as picture on their website. Nothing outstanding about it. It was conveniently located in the Central Buisness Disrtict, about two blocks from Harrahs, 2 blocks from the French Quarter and 2 blocks from a couple of Trolly lines. There was no refreigerator in the room. The hotel coffee was good. I never went to the restaraunt. For what I needed it for, (a place to pass out and shower) it was more than adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Don't get completely caught up on Bourbon St. Many nice venues for great live entertainment exist off the beaten path within the Quarter and elsewheres.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RaginCajun
Athens, GA, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Good location, lacks amenities

I enjoyed its location in relation to the french quarter, and was a great deal for what it was. The hotel lacked a continental breakfast or a gym but with as much walking you will do and the plethora of great restaurants around the area it wasn't that big of a deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ashton
Hattiesburg, MS
Mar 16, 2012

We've Had Better

The St. James wasn't a bad hotel. I'll break it down into Pros and Cons. Pros - Location was right off Canal St, near the French Quarter, and was relatively quiet. The room itself was decently sized. Not as small as many NOLA hotel rooms often are. The bathroom was a fair size. The decor was nice enough, and everything appeared clean. Cons - Valet service was very expensive ($30/day) and VERY VERY SLOW. Expect to wait nearly 30 minutes for your car, even in off times of day. The front desk staff wasn't exactly friendly. Each time we encountered them, they acted like we were an annoyance. The walls in the rooms REALLY need a paint job. Nearly every open wall space had big black scuffs all over them (I assume from luggage?) The sink faucets and handles leaked very badly in the bathroom. The mattress was very uncomfortable. It felt old. I could feel every single spring and woke up with my back and neck on fire each morning. The elevator needs repairs in a bad way. It skips the floor you select and goes a floor above. Ex: We stayed on the 3rd floor. So select 3 in the elevator. It goes (slowwwwwly) to floor 4. What? Hit 3 again. It eventually takes you down to your appropriate level. We tested this on other floors, and it works the same on each one. Expect to pay substantial charges over the price of the room, particularly if you have your own car. We stayed two nights and the additional charges for valet, phone, and internet amounted to $95 over the cost of the two nights and taxes ($190). We probably won't stay again. We had much better service and stay at the Maison DuPuy for the same price previously. Or if you can afford it, stay at the Monteleone instead. Both are great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Ruby Slipper Cafe. It's a little hectic in the mornings, but absolutely worth any wait you run into. Amazing breakfasts.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search