$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
ann arbor
Jan 3, 2011

disappointed

This is not a four-star hotel. No room service, no restaurant. Dead bugs in dresser drawers and stains on towels. The average Holiday Inn has better amenities. However, the staff were all very nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 8, 2011

Could have been better

From checking in to checking out I found there was much lacking at the St James Hotel. The staff was not very welcoming and there was an unclean look to the loby floors and walls. The carpet in the hallways on most of the floors needed a major cleaning, ice machines were out of order, door locks were broken.And I was hearing this very same thing from other guests Considering there were many other hotels in the area I would not recommend staying at the St James to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta GA
Jul 12, 2011

Could have been better.

We arrived on a Thursday afternoon to a somewhat warm greeting. The gentleman at the front desk could have done a much better job of greeting us. Our room was warm when we arrived and continued to be that way for our two night stay. My husband had left his wallet in the car and unfortunately did not realize it until our car had been valeted. We called down to the front desk to have it brought back up and was answered by the same very annoyed fron desk man. He also told me to make sure and get everything I needed out of the car in a very rude way. The hotel was nice but in the future I will not return, I need to know i can sleep comfortably during the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murielles Restaurante, fabulous crab appitizer and Tuna dish. The Yo Mama bar and grill, best burger. Boondocks Bar, great local scene.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
brooklyn, ny
Jul 12, 2011

Out and About

Upon arriving at the St. James, the concierge was very welcoming and immediately gave us some tips and sites to see. We put our things in our room and headed out, not returning until the evening. When we returned and had the opportunity to examine the room, we found that its cleanliness was unacceptable. The shower (no bathtub) had hair in it, as did one of the beds. Additionally, the deadbolt on the door was broken and lamps were not plugged in. Due to the uncleanliness, specifically of the bed, we asked to switch rooms, and did so. The second room was satisfactory, but clearly grimy. All was well though, as we were out early each morning exploring the city--cemeteries, museums, nearby neighborhoods, and returned only to go to sleep. We found it hysterical that the pool is considered an amenity, as it should be described more as a large bird bath. Overall, our experience in New Orleans was wonderful, despite the higher expectations we had for the St. James. It offered a great location and allowed us to experience a wonderful city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas
Mar 1, 2010

The real st. james hotel

Parking very scarce. Valet service virtually required @ $30/day Also billed for phone and safe in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
May 31, 2009

St James Hotel: Good Budget Hotel

The Hotel was fine, no real issues. It's in a fantastic location, that's probably the biggest pro. It's not by any means a destination hotel or a hotel you want to stay at if you're looking for a hotel experience. But, if you're on a budget and you want to stay in that neighborhood (close to the French Quarter/Canal St.), it's a good option. The hotel and rooms overall are clean, but just dingy. The hotel could benefit from a remodeling to be honest. Also, the hotel doesn't really match up with what is conveyed online in terms of pictures, etc. For example, the pool, which looks fantastic online and I was kind of excited for, by the looks of it in person, I would never step foot in. But anyway, like I said - it's a good budget hotel and the staff was very friendly. If you're looking for a really nice experience and have the $$ to spend for it, go to the Windsor Court Hotel, or the W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Mar 16, 2010

great location, disappointing stay

enjoyed river walk, amazed by French Quarter, Mothers restaurant around corner felt like authentic real-life New Orleans

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BeCee
Business
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Nov 11, 2010

Somewhat disappointing

The lobby is exceptionally small and tight making desk activities difficult. Not especially clean (carpets and in general). The first day I left a list of things needing attention - burned out bulbs replaced, additional hangers and more towels. All were taken care of. After that I could not get the variety of towels I requested. A small detail but a frustrating one. The location of St. James Hotel was good for my convention activities as well as walking distance from lots of great food, the French Quarter and everything I wanted to do. At check in I was told I would have additional charges per day of $2.95 for the room safe and $4.95 for internet access, neither of which I intended to use. I was told that in booking through [...]those charges were not covered but ultimately the hotel graciously agreed to waive the charges.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bon Ton Cafe (not a cafe but fine dining) was right across the street and was wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Young-ish foodie
Dallas, Texas
Mar 20, 2010

Would not stay here again

This hotel is conveinently located between the warehouse district and the French Quarter. BUT, that's about all it has going for it. It was pretty inexpensive, but I'm certain you could find similarly-located, cleaner, nicer hotels for the same or less. Also, when looking at the price of the hotel, be sure to factor in a daily charge for wireless Internet and use of a safe, regardless of whether you use either. My biggest complaint is that it just wasn't clean. Also, when we went to check out, the desk clerk was super rude. When we came back to pick up our bags and call a cab for the airport, her boss was at the desk, too, and she was all sweetness and light. Very annoying. In a city of such amazing hospitality, there is no sense in paying to experience that kind of behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Cochon (full restaurant) for dinner, then go back to Cochon Butcher (small butcher and sandwich shop just around the corner) for lunch the next day. Amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mbquincy
Boston MA
Oct 22, 2010

Don't believe the 4 star rating

This was not a four-star hotel - the lobby and hallways were a bit on the shabby side. The room was not clean - sticky bathroom floors, rugs that had clearly not been vacuumed, etc.. We ended up moving to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search