$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scotty L.
Bastrop, LA
Apr 5, 2011

Great Location, not so great hotel.

My partner and I went down to the Big Easy so that I could attend a business meeting, and then we stayed the weekend. While the king sized bed that I had requested was present, it took up basically the entire room. The air conditioning did not work well, the sheets were filthy, and there were lots of articles left in the room from previous guests, i.e. clothing, etc. The ice machine in the building where our room is (there are three separate buildings in this hotel) did not have a functioning ice machine. The hallway carpet was filthy and the walls are thin. Also, despite its advertisement, the attached restaurant is closed for business, which means no room or food service of any kind. On a positive note, the hotel is located a very short walking distance from the French Quarter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Eggs Cochon at the Red Slipper Cafe, only a couple of blocks from the St. James Hotel, are a surprisingly delicious breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Willie Wise
New Haven, CT
Jul 6, 2010

St. James Hotel

The hotel was old and quaint. The room was nice, I would say average. We were in New Orleans for the Essence Music Festival. The Hotel was in walking distance from the Superdome where the event was held. There was a stench where the pool was located. There was moss growing and the water in the pool was dirty. The land scaping around the pool and court yard was hurrendous. The staff was extremely nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can taker the trolly and see many sites in the city. Go shopping or what ever you chose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul Kent
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 2, 2008

St. James Hotel

This hotel is in a fine CBD location, near some good restaurants, but our stay was not a pleasant one - there is a venue next to the hotel that regularly hosts weddings - and this venue shares an inner courtyard with the St. James - there were weddings both nights we were there, and the noise was awful - not just the band playing until 1am, but all the screaming partygoers in the courtyard, and then everyone returning to the hotel afterwards - i honestly don't know how they can run a hotel in this location - there seemed to be A LOT of complaints - there is no way that anyone in the hotel who was trying to sleep could. I would NEVER stay here again. I know this is New Orleans, but if I'm going to stay up late partying, I want it to be on my own terms. Were it not for this problem, it would be a fine, standard hotel with limited amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Feb 2, 2011

Not Great.

We guess for the price of the St. James Hotel that we should not have thought that it was going to be the best or have many amenities, but we did expect it to be clean and accomodating per a friend's recommendation. When we got there in the late afternoon and were assigned our room, it was not clean with smashed raisins on the carpet, wine tops on the bathroom floor and the sheets did not seem to be clean when we got into bed that night. The light in the entry was out and the room was dark to begin with. The soap, shampoo,etc had not been replinished and the hair dryer was broken. The coffee supplies in our room had never been replenished or cleaned (coffee brewed left in the coffee pot). After three times of telling the front desk about these things, they finally fixed the light in the entry and replenished the coffee and bathroom supplies on the morning that we were departing while we were at breakfast (we were there for three nights and two full days). There was no newspaper in the lobby, yet they did have freshly brewed coffee each morning which was appreciated. The front desk tried calling a taxi for us the final night of our stay because it was raining, but none ever showed up so we just went ahead and walked (that was okay because we love to walk, even in the rain). Cuvee, the great restaurant next door, is a big drawing point in the advertising for the St. James but it had closed down. Nonetheless, we found great places to eat in the Square. No refrigerator in the room or on the floor to store water, left overs, etc. The ice machine on our floor was broken. The location of the St. James Hotel was wonderful and the people who worked there were very nice. Isaac, in particular, did recommend some wonderful places to eat and mapped out for us where we wanted to go. We might possibly recommend the St. James to a friend if we were certain some improvements had been made.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

When we first arrived, our friend took us to Domilises where we got a wonderful po boy. Grand Isle (wonderful dinner) and The Ruby Slipper (great breakfast) were very close to our hotel and were delicious with great service! We enjoyed eating a Coop's, grabbing beignets at Cafe Du Monde, and dinner at some little place at the bottom of a hotel on Bourbon Street. We wanted to go to Gallatoire's our last night but could not get the taxi, so we will have to go there on our next visit. Other than the food, the St. Louis Cathedral is beautiful and the happenings and great music in the Square were very fun and entertaining!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SMF loves New Orleans
Pikesville MD
May 8, 2012

They claim renovated in 2006...

That's only one building. The other one has not been renovated in 30 years. Hall carpet so old and dirty, your feet would stick to it. Almost no "amenities", not even a bathmat, only shampoo and soap. No tissues, only plastic cups - wow can't they spend any money at all? AC works very poorly. Rooms damp and smelly. Not that cheap either

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellent breakfast located a bit towards canal (the ruby slipper) and all round excellence especially for oysters at Mothers on Poydras

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alliegata
San Jose, CA, USA
Jan 6, 2012

good location, nothing special

Let's put it this way... I wouldn't stay at this hotel again. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the location was great, but there was nothing fantastic about this place. My room was less than average. The bed was very hard and the pillows were the worst. Although there was space for a mini-fridge, there wasn't one! I found this disappointing since my husband and I had planned on buying some breakfast foods to store in our room to save a little. Worst of all, the room was very dirty. There was blood dripped on a wall... not like anything gory, just something kind of gross. I also watched for six days a earring back on the floor that never seemed to be vacuumed up. I am not snoooty when it comes to hotels. I'm okay with a cheap hotel, if that's what I'm expecting. I just was expecting much more from this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
MILWAUKEE
Jul 5, 2011

st James Hotel

Hotel was a bit dank, needed more fresh air, room had broken furniture and smelled. Ice machine out of order .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Does anyone downtown own a power sprayer?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TulaneParent
Seattle, WA
Jun 26, 2012

Not terrible but

Not the best...I give it 2 stars because... The maintenance of the room and most public areas was lacking. There were a few repairs that should be done just to make it ok...Most of the staff were friendly. Parking was ok, they don't have a designated lot so it's a shot in the dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Palace and Mother's very close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
janoregon
Cornelius oregon
Jul 1, 2012

janoregon

Had to pay $25.00 a night for parking, swimming pool was the size of an oversized hot tub, it was between large buildings that did not allow very much sun in. The bathrooms had no counter space.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Squint 1
FL
Jan 31, 2012

Dissappointing

No ice available, dirty linen. Hidden charges for safe & internet that were not wanted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search