$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
In Love NOLA
AA, MD
Jul 6, 2011

NEVER AGAIN

Our air conditioning never worked the whole trip (90+ degree NOLA weather)! They had the maintence man come in the room numerous times (per our complaints) and nothing could be done. Instead of admiting that the AC did not work they just carried on with normal procedures. We were not offered to switch rooms, a refund of some sort. The room was not clean, we found a random pair of socks under the bed, the maid service was horrible. We didn't even want full service just empty the trash and provide additional towels was an issue. I would spend the extra money and stay at the Marriott or Sheraton. NEVER AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Louisiana resident
Shreveport, Louisiana
Feb 1, 2010

ROACH MOTEL!

Worst hotel experience ever! DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE...HOSTEL WOULD PROBABLY BE BETTER. [...] This was little better than a roach motel. No fitness center, no hot tub. When I closed the room door, discovered that you could see the hallway through a gap between the door and the moulding. Found a cigarette in our room (so room wasn't thoroughly cleaned after last guest), returned to room expecting nicely made beds and clean bathroom, but all we got was new towels. Refrigerator in room was missing. WORST OF ALL: WE DISCOVERED A ROACH SHARING THE ROOM WITH US AND WHEN WE CALLED THE FRONT DESK TO COME TAKE CARE OF IT, WE WERE TOLD WE WOULD HAVE TO WAIT AND ALSO THAT IT'S NOT UNUSUAL TO FIND BUGS IN THE SOUTH...GREAT, SO A ROACH MAY JUST CRAWL ACROSS MY FACE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT AND THE HOTEL WON'T CONSIDER THIS ANYTHING UNUSUAL!!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mafn
Albany, NY, USA
Apr 18, 2012

st james infirmary

no trouble finding the room....just follow the black stain in the carpet. Room dirty, staff clueless. Plus =comfortable bed, decent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Mother's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K B
Marietta, GA
Nov 8, 2009

Look elsewhere

The restaurant is a jacket and tie place, just a heads up on that one. THE BAD: The "pool" is better described as a 5 x 12 child's pool and the area it is in smelt much like rotting garbage, put it this way I open the door looked laughed then inhaled through my nose and closed the door as fast as possible. The room had no ceiling fan so it gets stuffy very quickly. The windows could not be opened, they were nailed shut no help their. As for lighting in the room, you get a standing lamp on the switch and small desk light and medium lamp on the bed table, all with weak bulbs, so forget reading. As for the bath room the shower head is lower than usual caused us to duck when showering, and to make it worse the pressure was very low so it took longer, and to make it all worse the showers were warm at best for a few minutes then went to cold. I can also say this 2 of us left with sinus issues every time we left the room, and I only get agitated by long haired cats and the other is allergic to mold, so who knows what was getting us both. More importantly there is NO PROVIDED PARKING!!! with a few options park it your self somewhere of 15 or more dollars a night or the valet which takes your car 2 blocks away (I asked) and charges 25 dollars plus 3 dollars tax per 24 hours. As for the extra "BS" charges at check out a safe fee of 2.95 per night is added but not listed here! THE GOOD: Next visit to New Orleans ... new place no question about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maurice Montpetit
Laval, Montreal, Quebec Canada
Nov 17, 2009

Whach out !!

Upon arrival the reception lady wanted us to sign a form where by we where consenting to pay extra charge daily for internet cable availibility and two other different service all of whicht we did not want. After insisting telling me it was mandatory, I clearly said that ''I will not sign'' '' this was not part of our deal with [...]'' ''clearly no''and so on....I had to take a firm stand and clearly the lady seems to us furious. We did not like this experience. All of the 5 days (exept monday morning at 4:00 AM before departure)we where entitled to 2 or 3 minutes of warm water when showering after that was icy cold !!! We reported this situation 2 times...they promised to fix the problem but to no avail....very very frustrating.We do not recommend this hotel.But New Orleans is very lively, special and unique...what a good time we had...music & music: blues jazz, dixieland, creole jazz. rock jazz. A city worth to see and visitMaurice Montpetit and Nicole Lemieux.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

eating and music: The Snug Harbour

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston
Jun 6, 2010

Good price and people, bad rooms.

Friendly staff and low rate however the room was incredibly small (I have stayed in larger at the budget inn) and the pool looked more like a swamp. The room had a musk smell to it and our view was a brick wall and alleyway. The carpet also had multiple stains and we didn't even have a refrigerator to keep sodas cold. The bathroom was small and the tub was microscopic. Also the ice machine is on the second floor just to let anyone know before you go on a scavenger hunt looking for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go check out the aquarium, it was phenomenal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jul 5, 2011

Great Friendly Staff But...

We stayed here during the Essence Music Festival, the hotel is in a great location to everything however needs some work... The wonderful front desk agent [...] upgraded us to a suite upon arrival, however when we got to the room we realized that the AC was barely working. Once we mentioned it they explained that because it was so hot outside and the AC were so old they were doing the best they could. We dealt with it, because we had a powerful ceiling fan in the room that helped, however walking into my room on the second night to see a HUGE waterbug/roach in my bathroom I almost lost it. We tried to switch hotels but everything was sold out we were stuck. As mentioned earlier all of the staff were very friendly and honest, but the owners of this hotel need to get it together. The restaurant was closed the entire time, no business center, no fitness center and you had to fill out a form to have housekeeping come to your room. How tacky!On a positive note, the beds were very comfortable and they did have flat screen TV's in the living room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a couple blocks away from Casino and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La
Oct 19, 2009

st. james hotel--magazine st. nola

I visit New Orleans very frequently & enjoy trying out different hotels, however, there were a lot of events going on this weekend in the city so my choices were rather limited. I went ahead and booked this hotel even though I thought the price was pretty high ($220 per night!!!) On top of that--valet parking is $30 and i was charged $5 for an internet fee whenever the internet was never used. I'm used to staying at 'the W' which isn't exacly cheap either but at least it's always clean and the people would bend over backwards for you. They do not act like they're swamped at the front desk and will kindly answer any questions//make suggestions. The location for the St. James is not bad--just a few blocks off of canal. I was disappointed because the room was really small & not cleaned at all. They had two packs of empty cigarettes (from the previous guests) near the window when i specifically booked a nonsmoking room. It didn't smell clean at all, either. But the decor is nice, I suppose--just needs dusting--i'm not sure if that's the theme they're going for though. Love the city--just wouldn't stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

house of blues, bourbon street, magazine street, etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lafayette, La.
Apr 25, 2011

The Good, Bad and really ugly.....

The St. James Hotel is in a very good location, but the pool is the size of a hot tube and should not even be allowed to say pool... the A/c was not working very well when we cheched in but it was fixed that day. The lock on the door was broken but was fixed and finally the room was cleaned but no towels were left and the dirty ones were picked up... oh and the elevator was broken one night... over all it was just Ok....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Drago's Restrant in the hilton on the river was excellent...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pegleg61
Hamilton, OH, USA
Sep 14, 2011

just average

there was mold on the tile in the shower and we had sugar ants bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search