$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
229 reviews
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
In Love NOLA
Business
AA, MD
Jul 6, 2011

NEVER AGAIN

Our air conditioning never worked the whole trip (90+ degree NOLA weather)! They had the maintence man come in the room numerous times (per our complaints) and nothing could be done. Instead of admiting that the AC did not work they just carried on with normal procedures. We were not offered to switch rooms, a refund of some sort. The room was not clean, we found a random pair of socks under the bed, the maid service was horrible. We didn't even want full service just empty the trash and provide additional towels was an issue. I would spend the extra money and stay at the Marriott or Sheraton. NEVER AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
silly aunt Sue
Business
Jacksonville Fl
Sep 13, 2010

Very much less than acceptable!

We were highly disappointed in the lack of cleaning staff. We left a requset for service that was ignored; after confronting the desk service was promised within a hour that never showed. We were to the point where we had to go back to the deskfor a 3rd time to get towels and coffee in order to bathe and have morning coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out brochures(available at any tour stand) and time your activities. Many tours overlap on the time schedule and some are only offered once a day.Highly recommend the Magri Gras tour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
melmax
Business
atlanta
Aug 8, 2011

stay away

At checkin, we were given a key card to get into someone else's room. Their things were there, but they were not. The pool is dirty. The cleaning staff does not do a good job. Over all, the staff does not care for the hotel and it shows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilliana
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 7, 2008

Poor Stay

I was very disappointed with the condition of the hotel. Very dirty bathrooms. Small rooms. No bell hop to help with luggage during the week. Very soiled wall behind the toilet, disgusting coffee area in room. AAA lists fridge in room and they had been removed. There is a fridge to use in the lobby. Was checked into a room to rest after insisting and was told to not unpack that we would be moved as soon as a room was ready. I finally called the front desk at five that night and they moved us to a room half the size. This is just an overview of what went wrong at this hotel. If you plan to book it, RUN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty in walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GSMummy
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Sep 7, 2011

St James Hotel

Just don't do it...Run down...Dirty.....only goog thing is location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

WWII Museum was Great!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amandah
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Condemn this Hotel

This hotel (if you want to call it that) needs to be bulldozed. Its absolutely horrific and its on the back end of Magazine street. So if you think your in a good location on Magazine street with all the shops your dead wrong. The counter when you check in is sticky, the place smells of mildew, mold, musty decay, and moth balls. You cant even save this trainwreck of hotel with repairs it just needs to be condemned. Run away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmen street and check out the true New Orleans night life and clubs. Dance with the locals of NOLA and experience some amazing live music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Louisiana resident
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Feb 1, 2010

ROACH MOTEL!

Worst hotel experience ever! DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE...HOSTEL WOULD PROBABLY BE BETTER. [...] This was little better than a roach motel. No fitness center, no hot tub. When I closed the room door, discovered that you could see the hallway through a gap between the door and the moulding. Found a cigarette in our room (so room wasn't thoroughly cleaned after last guest), returned to room expecting nicely made beds and clean bathroom, but all we got was new towels. Refrigerator in room was missing. WORST OF ALL: WE DISCOVERED A ROACH SHARING THE ROOM WITH US AND WHEN WE CALLED THE FRONT DESK TO COME TAKE CARE OF IT, WE WERE TOLD WE WOULD HAVE TO WAIT AND ALSO THAT IT'S NOT UNUSUAL TO FIND BUGS IN THE SOUTH...GREAT, SO A ROACH MAY JUST CRAWL ACROSS MY FACE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT AND THE HOTEL WON'T CONSIDER THIS ANYTHING UNUSUAL!!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayland,Mass
Mar 2, 2011

Worst Hotel experience EVER

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was located on a block that did not feel very safe. There were several homeless people that were always hanging out. To begin with the room was tiny and not very clean. Pillows were stained and beds not comfortable. The pool was horrible. It was in a dark courtyard and it was very dirty. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything in the next room including their alarm which went off at 5:00 AM and did not stop. The fire alarms went off three times. The first two occurred in the middle of the night. The third one was an actual wire on fire. When we called the front desk to see what was going on no one answered the phone. We then had to evacuate for a period of time again with no expanation. The room was not cleaned any of the days that we were there even after multiple requests to have it cleaned. WE requested a wake up call and did not receive it. When we repeatedly complained to the front desk he encouraged us to write to management since he agreed with all our complaints but management would do nothing. This experience was so disappointing. We had looked forward to this hotel based on the website and it was far different than promised. I would never consider staying in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the worst staff
Business
Spain
Nov 29, 2009

the treatment was very bad

We had reserved a special double room and gave us a single. We explained the reasons for change. We speak Spanish, French, German or Italian and they told us that only spoke English. We ask for complain form but they don´t give us it. We ask for the manager but they also refused. The worst experience I remember.Please excuse me, my English is very bad. I Call ahead for claims in this respect and [...] attended me excellentment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
prisoner of zenda
Business
boston ma
Apr 19, 2011

Not what you want

We got in late, and were given room 302, which had no closet, no windows, only one of two in-room lamps working, and a bathroom with two of five lights working, although it did have a 45 inch big screen TV. On the way: there was only a dim bulb working in the elevator, which made all the spookier the blood-red stain in the carpet leading...to our room. There was a foul smell in the hall, which we learned later was a result of some unspecified "work" going on...blood removal? Maybe, since the stain was gone by the third day of our stay. On day two, the staff very efficiently and helpfully found us another room which had two windows, a closet, a much smaller TV (the big screen in 302 evidently a payback for the sucky room) and in fact the rest of the stay was pleasant enough. The guy on the desk actually went home to find us a corkscrew since a previous guest had absconded with the hotel's official corkscrew. The cleaning staff was not that interested in fixing minor flaws in our behavior, so every single thing of ours was untouched, and if that caused the room to look like debaucherie centrale, that wasn't their problem. Oh, by the way, part of the decision making process included the free internet and the swimming pool. The internet never worked, although I kind of gave up after one foray to talk to the guy at the desk, and the pool was outside, really small (my probably inaccurate guess: 16 feet by 6 feet by 3 feet deep), and had stuff floating in it. The accurate elements of the presentation: it was quiet, centrally located, the staff was friendly and helpful, the Ruby Slipper a block away was a great breakfast place, and the airport shuttle found us there and back...The coffee in the lobby was dark and robust in the morning, If you make sure not to book room 302 and ask if the elevator light has been replaced, you could do worse than the St.James. Now my wife has another view: she claims she'd stay in the gutter before going back to the Mello J., but I think that's a bit harsh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Ave has the best galleries. Stay away from Bourbon street, especially if you have kids. It's gotten grosser and grosser over time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top