$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 3, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
229 reviews
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
229 out of 229
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jul 8, 2011

Close to everything

It was close to everything, which was the best part! The hotel was ok, the worst part about it was the housekeeping. We literally had to beg for towels and for someone to come daily and change our sheets. The hotel had charm which was a great feature since we didn't want to stay somewhere "commercial." For the most part it served its purpose: somewhere to sleep, close to everything and New Orleans charm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

*Bourbon is streets away and everything is at your finger tips

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Apr 2, 2010

Good location - Few downfalls

We got in late the first night so they did not have a non-smoking room available for us that night. The guy at the front desk was extremely friendly and said that we could switch rooms the next morning. When we called down to inquire about switching the room the woman was very nasty ([...]). We had spoken to her a few times throughout the trip and she was cold and unfriendly. The last day there as we were getting ready we saw a HUGE roach running around the room. SOOOOOOOOO GROSS! Other than that everything else was good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ms
Jun 20, 2010

Tiny!

The staff was wonderful! However, the pool appeared to be a goldfish pond, but was out of service anyway. Rooms were very small. We were charged for the optional safe though it wasn't used as well as for the telephone. Very close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria Aria
Business
Austin, TX
Dec 13, 2009

Not a 4 Star hotel.

I guess I need to move up to lower end 5 star hotels to get what I think of as true 4 star quality. I chose the hotel for it's historic nature [...]; I expected some pride in ownership. There was a ceramic dish in the bathroom with a broken lid and hair in it. There was hair on the tub. There weren't enough hangers. We asked to get a cab and were told it would be an hour. Good hotels have cabs available for their guests. The room we were given did have a private balconey but the planters were full of cigarette butts. I won't be staying at the St. James again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
Feb 22, 2010

Central location for a decent price

The hotel is really charming, with a cute lobby, and great front desk help. The rooms are small, but comfortable enough with nice bathrooms. The location was absolutely great, just a 5 minute walk into the French Quarter, and a few blocks away from the trolley. Only complaints are that it feels a little gloomy in the hotel, and it could be a bit cleaner in the rooms. Overall, for the price: you're getting your money's worth in a great city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out ACME seafood! Zagat rated, great price, and amazing experience. Also, the Central Grocery and Cafe Du Monde are must-sees in the French Quarter. Very cheap and just insanely good food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
i'm awesome
Business
miami, fl
Jul 19, 2010

Cute and just right

This place was really cute. Me and my partner are from Miami so it was a nice experience to stay here. It set the tone for the entire trip. The only downside is that the pool was more like a wishing pond and it wasn't maintained. It would have been nice to have a clean big pool since it was very humid outside. Also, they don't have a continental breakfast.Location was fine. Either take a cab or rent bicycles because it is a very good walk to places. Rent a bicycle from [...]. He was really nice. Overall, I give this hotel a 3 only because of tiny pool and no continental breakfast. I've stayed at tons of hotels so a 3 is very good in my book. I would definitely recommend this place to a couple that plans to be hitting the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bicycle from [...]. He's really nice. It was about $25 a day for a bike. Put down a $50 but you get it back. Saved us a bunch of money and time to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Jan 7, 2011

Almost Decent Hotel

The hotel looked good and was in a perfect spot but we had 5 incidents happen. 1) The toilet was clogged the first night we arrived. They unclogged it but it clogged back up again. They brought US a plunger to plunge it ourselves and after we discovered the plunger was broken, we asked the front desk to do it. Needless to say, he couldnt get it either so we had to pack up and switch rooms on NYE evening. Ah 2) The door in the new room was broken so we had to wait for someone 3) We found a cockroach in the bathroom 4) There was no mattress pad on the bed 5) The maids did not come the first day- and there was no soap in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is is a great location, close to Harrahs, Canal St, Bourbon St, everything!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 25, 2010

St. James

First off, the front desk informed me that I should have booked through them directly since their standard room rate is 40% less when you do that. [...] Annoying. Also found a cockroach and there was one small lamp that lit up the room. Lucky for us we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel. I will not visit this hotel again nor [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the quarter but the area is technically the Warehouse District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mack10
Business
Somewhere in ,Alabama
Nov 1, 2010

No late check out? $200 a night?

When we first arrived the party in front of us was told that their reservation was not coming up. It took over 30 minutes to clear it up and I had to wait because there was only one person working the front desk and it was Halloween weekend!!! What!? Not only that, it was awkward and freaked the other party out because its Halloween in New Orleans and everything is booked up. We paid for a $75 a night hotel the night before and got a late check out, no problem but not somewhere where I pay $200 a night and we survived Halloween in New Orleans the night before? What!?On the plus side it really is a beautiful, cool hotel close to everything. We caught the street car down to the quarter in no time. And [...] is the man!!! If you need something done, he will get it done!!! He should totally be promoted!!! He took care of everything we needed while waiting 30 min from our car, directions, and all the paper worked signed just needed the key tot the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lincoln48
Business
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Aug 31, 2011

good value,nice location

excellent value, 2 blocks to french quarter, happy with hotel. ac not working in 1st room, was moved to another, staff helpful. would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top