$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary... See full review

  • BNMNW
  • Apr 4, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Debzilla
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 14, 2014

I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be perfect, just the other side of Canal from the French Quarter, in the CBD. From the moment I walked into the hotel lobby, I was impressed with the decor and the friendliness of the staff. My room, although small, was perfect, although I have to admit that the height of the windows threw me off - almost 5 feet from the ground, but still provided enough light. The amenities were comfortable, and the shower pressure and water temp were great. The hotel was quiet, and I never heard a bit of ambient noise from the other rooms. Christine and the other ladies at the front desk were always there to greet you with a smile and take care of my every need, from calling a cab to giving me walking directions and street car information to recommending a great restaurant for breakfast or dinner. I would not hesitate to recommend the St. James to family and friends, and plan to make this lovely hotel my "go to" when in New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ruby Slipper Restaurant - 1 1/2 blocks from the St. James - excellent food and waitstaff!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GWA123
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Bad Hotel In A Great City

This is a very bad hotel in a great city. The service was similar to that of a roadside motel. The facilities are poorly maintained. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abcdefghiojklmnop
Business
mn
Feb 20, 2012

awful place

there were carpet beatles all over the beds ,the curtains were stained with who knows what.i had to pay for vallet parking cause of no where to park and when i got my car back it had a parking ticket on the window,for the money it was awful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big Ang
Business
New Jersey
Mar 19, 2012

Vacation

I would not stay at this hotel again. Lets start with the burlap drapes, bed skirts, and extremely heavy burlap blanket. I asked to have them removed since they were dirty and stained, and made the room extremely stuffy and musty. They looked at me like I had 2 heads. My daughter and I put all of that stuff onto one bed, and shared the other bed. I am sure those items never get cleaned. The bedspreads are too heavy for one person to lift. Lets not forget that the temperature outside is in the 80's, and the air conditioner never made the room comfortable, no matter how much you tried to adjust it. The rug was actually very dirty and moldy. Now for the best part. While getting ready for bed the first nite, I was sitting on the edge of the bed and suddenly a very large waterbed crawls out from under the burlap and into the bathroom. We switched rooms at that time, which was after midnite. After being up since 4:30 am, that was the last thing we wanted to do. We also used the stairs at all times since the elevators have a mind of their own, and open and close randomly. Loved the town, but will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. SBJ
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Not Recommended

Overall this was not a great experience. While the staff tried hard (at least some of them) the facility was old and in need of repair and refurbishing. The first room we were given was not cleaned from the last guest and had no windows and a creepy looking bed. The room we stayed in was on the 4th floor and the elevator broke down. They charged a $150 incidental deposit and there were no amenities. Even worse they double charged my debit card so I am now out of $300 waiting to be reimbursed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize the city trollies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mafn
Business
Albany, NY, USA
Apr 18, 2012

st james infirmary

no trouble finding the room....just follow the black stain in the carpet. Room dirty, staff clueless. Plus =comfortable bed, decent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Mother's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Davoo
Business
Indianapolis
May 30, 2012

Most Horrible

1. The original details have changed. 2. Carpet was a mess, we were afraid to walk barefoot in the room. I couldn’t tell if it was a murder aftermath or what. Red stains everywhere, even in the hallway leading up to our room. 3. The pool was dirty and we would only put our feet into it. No circulation and I can’t imagine the last time it was cleaned. 4. Interior is in need of desperate painting. Holes filled and holes not filled, what a mess. 5 Vomit stains in the stairwells. 6. AC hardly existed and it happened to be 95 or better each day. 7. The staff seemed extremely bothered when you asked questions. Your Bellman and other staff were great. I went to them instead. 8. No coffee maker as promised. Not a huge deal breaker though. 9. If this was supposed to be a 4 star hotel, then the scale should be 1-10 thus a 4 would be about right (sub standard).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Becca17215
Business
Newport
Jul 22, 2012

Not handicapped accessible & Dirty

For a hotel that claims handicap access it is very disturbing. It's on a one way street so my wheelchair ramp went out to the street. The front door. Isn't automated nor are the doors leading to 217 the so called accessible room. The shower had no bench. The shower nozzle couldn't hang up so it dropped soakin the floor. It was a very dirty dingy carpet through out the hallways and room. No handicapped accessible parking. Wheelchair had issues getting through doors even with attendant. If you want a hotel that gives you peace of mind and independence with handicapped accessibility this is not it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amandah
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Condemn this Hotel

This hotel (if you want to call it that) needs to be bulldozed. Its absolutely horrific and its on the back end of Magazine street. So if you think your in a good location on Magazine street with all the shops your dead wrong. The counter when you check in is sticky, the place smells of mildew, mold, musty decay, and moth balls. You cant even save this trainwreck of hotel with repairs it just needs to be condemned. Run away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmen street and check out the true New Orleans night life and clubs. Dance with the locals of NOLA and experience some amazing live music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Louisiana resident
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Feb 1, 2010

ROACH MOTEL!

Worst hotel experience ever! DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE...HOSTEL WOULD PROBABLY BE BETTER. [...] This was little better than a roach motel. No fitness center, no hot tub. When I closed the room door, discovered that you could see the hallway through a gap between the door and the moulding. Found a cigarette in our room (so room wasn't thoroughly cleaned after last guest), returned to room expecting nicely made beds and clean bathroom, but all we got was new towels. Refrigerator in room was missing. WORST OF ALL: WE DISCOVERED A ROACH SHARING THE ROOM WITH US AND WHEN WE CALLED THE FRONT DESK TO COME TAKE CARE OF IT, WE WERE TOLD WE WOULD HAVE TO WAIT AND ALSO THAT IT'S NOT UNUSUAL TO FIND BUGS IN THE SOUTH...GREAT, SO A ROACH MAY JUST CRAWL ACROSS MY FACE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT AND THE HOTEL WON'T CONSIDER THIS ANYTHING UNUSUAL!!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayland,Mass
Mar 2, 2011

Worst Hotel experience EVER

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was located on a block that did not feel very safe. There were several homeless people that were always hanging out. To begin with the room was tiny and not very clean. Pillows were stained and beds not comfortable. The pool was horrible. It was in a dark courtyard and it was very dirty. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything in the next room including their alarm which went off at 5:00 AM and did not stop. The fire alarms went off three times. The first two occurred in the middle of the night. The third one was an actual wire on fire. When we called the front desk to see what was going on no one answered the phone. We then had to evacuate for a period of time again with no expanation. The room was not cleaned any of the days that we were there even after multiple requests to have it cleaned. WE requested a wake up call and did not receive it. When we repeatedly complained to the front desk he encouraged us to write to management since he agreed with all our complaints but management would do nothing. This experience was so disappointing. We had looked forward to this hotel based on the website and it was far different than promised. I would never consider staying in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top