$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary... See full review

  • BNMNW
  • Apr 4, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wegiff
Northeast
Feb 1, 2013

Staying at the St James

I have nothing but great things about the St James Hotel. The front desk people were great taking care of our every need. The room was clean and up to date, especially the wood floors. The location was perfect, just far enough out of the Quarter to be peaceful but close enough to the action. When I go back to New Orleans, i will be staying at the St James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GWA123
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Bad Hotel In A Great City

This is a very bad hotel in a great city. The service was similar to that of a roadside motel. The facilities are poorly maintained. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abcdefghiojklmnop
Business
mn
Feb 20, 2012

awful place

there were carpet beatles all over the beds ,the curtains were stained with who knows what.i had to pay for vallet parking cause of no where to park and when i got my car back it had a parking ticket on the window,for the money it was awful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big Ang
Business
New Jersey
Mar 19, 2012

Vacation

I would not stay at this hotel again. Lets start with the burlap drapes, bed skirts, and extremely heavy burlap blanket. I asked to have them removed since they were dirty and stained, and made the room extremely stuffy and musty. They looked at me like I had 2 heads. My daughter and I put all of that stuff onto one bed, and shared the other bed. I am sure those items never get cleaned. The bedspreads are too heavy for one person to lift. Lets not forget that the temperature outside is in the 80's, and the air conditioner never made the room comfortable, no matter how much you tried to adjust it. The rug was actually very dirty and moldy. Now for the best part. While getting ready for bed the first nite, I was sitting on the edge of the bed and suddenly a very large waterbed crawls out from under the burlap and into the bathroom. We switched rooms at that time, which was after midnite. After being up since 4:30 am, that was the last thing we wanted to do. We also used the stairs at all times since the elevators have a mind of their own, and open and close randomly. Loved the town, but will never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dr. SBJ
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Not Recommended

Overall this was not a great experience. While the staff tried hard (at least some of them) the facility was old and in need of repair and refurbishing. The first room we were given was not cleaned from the last guest and had no windows and a creepy looking bed. The room we stayed in was on the 4th floor and the elevator broke down. They charged a $150 incidental deposit and there were no amenities. Even worse they double charged my debit card so I am now out of $300 waiting to be reimbursed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Utilize the city trollies.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mafn
Business
Albany, NY, USA
Apr 18, 2012

st james infirmary

no trouble finding the room....just follow the black stain in the carpet. Room dirty, staff clueless. Plus =comfortable bed, decent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 blocks from Mother's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Davoo
Business
Indianapolis
May 30, 2012

Most Horrible

1. The original details have changed. 2. Carpet was a mess, we were afraid to walk barefoot in the room. I couldn’t tell if it was a murder aftermath or what. Red stains everywhere, even in the hallway leading up to our room. 3. The pool was dirty and we would only put our feet into it. No circulation and I can’t imagine the last time it was cleaned. 4. Interior is in need of desperate painting. Holes filled and holes not filled, what a mess. 5 Vomit stains in the stairwells. 6. AC hardly existed and it happened to be 95 or better each day. 7. The staff seemed extremely bothered when you asked questions. Your Bellman and other staff were great. I went to them instead. 8. No coffee maker as promised. Not a huge deal breaker though. 9. If this was supposed to be a 4 star hotel, then the scale should be 1-10 thus a 4 would be about right (sub standard).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Becca17215
Business
Newport
Jul 22, 2012

Not handicapped accessible & Dirty

For a hotel that claims handicap access it is very disturbing. It's on a one way street so my wheelchair ramp went out to the street. The front door. Isn't automated nor are the doors leading to 217 the so called accessible room. The shower had no bench. The shower nozzle couldn't hang up so it dropped soakin the floor. It was a very dirty dingy carpet through out the hallways and room. No handicapped accessible parking. Wheelchair had issues getting through doors even with attendant. If you want a hotel that gives you peace of mind and independence with handicapped accessibility this is not it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 10, 2010

Terrible Experience

We stayed at the St. James Hotel as it was rated a 4 star on [...]. The pictures depicted a very cozy and intimate setting.When we arrived at the hotel, parking was scarce and we waited about 15 minutes for the one reception attendant to finish with a previous guest. The elevator (singular) was not working and we had to wait for approximately half an hour for the same reception attendant to fix it while we looked at the algae infested pool, which was about the size of a bath tub. If you look at the St. James website it depicts two individuls sitting in what looks to be a hot tub, this is in fact the pool. Our room was very small, and not up to date. The shower was corroded, and there were rings in the tub. We had a King bed, which had dusty covers, and the pillowcases smelled like they had been left in the washer too long. Needless to say we spent very little time in our room, the location was relatively close to Bourbon Street, however seemed a little sketchy at night. I will say that the staff was very polite, and that the convenience of being in the heart of NO was great. For a few dollars more you are considerably better off staying at a major chain of hotels. I regret passing up on the JW Marriott and Sheraton at about the same price point for the idea of a quaint feeling. This hotel should be rated at no more than a 2.5 star, I would liken it to an old La Quinta hotel/motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tulane Law Student
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2010

Less than I expected

I will not stay at the St. James Hotel again. The place smelled of mold and dirt. There was an issue with towels. I continually had to ask for towels and was even told they won't have any until the morning. Also the air conditioner broke and our rooms never got cooler than 78 degrees. Can you believe that in New Orleans in summer. The pool actually looks like a pond. They should add fish to it. I wanted to try a quaint hotel but in the future I will stick with the national chains where I know the hotel will be clean and at least the air conditioner works. I felt as if they were having trouble staying in business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is close to the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, AL
Aug 8, 2010

did not live up to name

The hotel room was clean. However the toilet was broken, the shower head did not work properly, we were only given one set of towels. The air conditioning turned off when we left so when we would return the room was 80 plus and took 20 min to cool off. We decided to go swimming one morning and the so called pool was a garden fountain about 8 feet wide four feet long and four feet deep. It was green with algae-- seriously we were expecting to koi fish as this looked like a courtyard fish pond. Very dissappointed with hotel although front desk service was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top