$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
399 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wegiff
Northeast
Feb 1, 2013

Staying at the St James

I have nothing but great things about the St James Hotel. The front desk people were great taking care of our every need. The room was clean and up to date, especially the wood floors. The location was perfect, just far enough out of the Quarter to be peaceful but close enough to the action. When I go back to New Orleans, i will be staying at the St James!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MenesaK
Washington, DC
Jul 5, 2011

BED BUGS - Buyer Beware!!!

Two words: BED BUGS. Large puss filled blisters have developed on my hands, thigh, back and arm. A trip to the Tulane University emergency room resulted in a diagnoses of cellulitis which ultimately lead to me having been prescribed antibiotics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amandah
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Condemn this Hotel

This hotel (if you want to call it that) needs to be bulldozed. Its absolutely horrific and its on the back end of Magazine street. So if you think your in a good location on Magazine street with all the shops your dead wrong. The counter when you check in is sticky, the place smells of mildew, mold, musty decay, and moth balls. You cant even save this trainwreck of hotel with repairs it just needs to be condemned. Run away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmen street and check out the true New Orleans night life and clubs. Dance with the locals of NOLA and experience some amazing live music.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wanderingjourno
Business
Brooklyn NY
Feb 27, 2010

Not as billed

The location is ok, but this place is really on it's last legs and the website is frankly, a con. It needs a complete overhaul in terms of decoration and service. The staff are friendly but clearly have been abandoned by their management. It is being run on a shoestring. They ran out of toothpaste and paper cups for coffee in the room. Whoever is in charge of supplies is a disgrace. The hotel could do so much better if more attention were paid to it and there was a reasonable investment made in its future. I will certainly not ever stay here again, and I love the small-hotel vibe of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GWA123
Memphis, TN, USA
Jan 3, 2012

Bad Hotel In A Great City

This is a very bad hotel in a great city. The service was similar to that of a roadside motel. The facilities are poorly maintained. We would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
abcdefghiojklmnop
mn
Feb 20, 2012

awful place

there were carpet beatles all over the beds ,the curtains were stained with who knows what.i had to pay for vallet parking cause of no where to park and when i got my car back it had a parking ticket on the window,for the money it was awful!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jul 10, 2010

Terrible Experience

We stayed at the St. James Hotel as it was rated a 4 star on [...]. The pictures depicted a very cozy and intimate setting.When we arrived at the hotel, parking was scarce and we waited about 15 minutes for the one reception attendant to finish with a previous guest. The elevator (singular) was not working and we had to wait for approximately half an hour for the same reception attendant to fix it while we looked at the algae infested pool, which was about the size of a bath tub. If you look at the St. James website it depicts two individuls sitting in what looks to be a hot tub, this is in fact the pool. Our room was very small, and not up to date. The shower was corroded, and there were rings in the tub. We had a King bed, which had dusty covers, and the pillowcases smelled like they had been left in the washer too long. Needless to say we spent very little time in our room, the location was relatively close to Bourbon Street, however seemed a little sketchy at night. I will say that the staff was very polite, and that the convenience of being in the heart of NO was great. For a few dollars more you are considerably better off staying at a major chain of hotels. I regret passing up on the JW Marriott and Sheraton at about the same price point for the idea of a quaint feeling. This hotel should be rated at no more than a 2.5 star, I would liken it to an old La Quinta hotel/motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Davoo
Indianapolis
May 30, 2012

Most Horrible

1. The original details have changed. 2. Carpet was a mess, we were afraid to walk barefoot in the room. I couldn’t tell if it was a murder aftermath or what. Red stains everywhere, even in the hallway leading up to our room. 3. The pool was dirty and we would only put our feet into it. No circulation and I can’t imagine the last time it was cleaned. 4. Interior is in need of desperate painting. Holes filled and holes not filled, what a mess. 5 Vomit stains in the stairwells. 6. AC hardly existed and it happened to be 95 or better each day. 7. The staff seemed extremely bothered when you asked questions. Your Bellman and other staff were great. I went to them instead. 8. No coffee maker as promised. Not a huge deal breaker though. 9. If this was supposed to be a 4 star hotel, then the scale should be 1-10 thus a 4 would be about right (sub standard).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GSMummy
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Sep 7, 2011

St James Hotel

Just don't do it...Run down...Dirty.....only goog thing is location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

WWII Museum was Great!!!!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
foley, alabama
May 2, 2011

jazz fest

We were there to see the jazz fest.room was old,it smelt . door to T.V. cabinet was broken ,bathroom door handle was broken and door didn't completely shut.noise level was incredible.Some burnt out bulbs coulkd have been replaced.two small towels and one hand wash towel in the bathroom !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

if you are very young, single and drink like fish this hotel is the place to crash and pass out after a night of heavy drinking.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilliana
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 7, 2008

Poor Stay

I was very disappointed with the condition of the hotel. Very dirty bathrooms. Small rooms. No bell hop to help with luggage during the week. Very soiled wall behind the toilet, disgusting coffee area in room. AAA lists fridge in room and they had been removed. There is a fridge to use in the lobby. Was checked into a room to rest after insisting and was told to not unpack that we would be moved as soon as a room was ready. I finally called the front desk at five that night and they moved us to a room half the size. This is just an overview of what went wrong at this hotel. If you plan to book it, RUN!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty in walking distance.

Back to menu Return to top