$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Croix Falls, WI
Nov 16, 2009

Satisfied

My partner and I stayed at the St. James from Thursday afternoon until Sunday morning; it was our first visit to NOLA. The hotel itself was nothing really special--the rooms were nice but dark and kind of noisy. We were in room 209 which was right across from the elevator and the ice machine--not the best location in the place. The pool is TINY and should actually be called a pond and they do not offer continental breakfast. The bright spots were the staff (VERY friendly and helpful) and the location. Technically, the St. James is located in the Central Business District, but it is only about 2 city blocks from the start of the French Quarter and right around the corner from Mothers. Also, a bonus was that Chuck's bar was kitty corner and it proved to be a great little dive bar to watch the Saints game on Sunday (also open "d*** near 24 hours" which we loved!) All in all, I would be happy to stay at this hotel the next time we visit NOLA. The benefits outweighed the drawbacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle, WA
Jun 8, 2011

GREAT place to stay

This was my first time visiting New Orleans and I couldn't have had a better stay. The staff is all very friendly and helpful (have a chat with [...], it'll perk up any travel-weary person), it was within a short walking distance to the French Quarter but far enough away from all the noise, the business/art district, and a nice stroll from the trolly cars. The room was great, very spacious; the beds are a little firm, but that's a matter of personal preference. I'll definitely stay here again if I'm lucky enough to go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Oct 21, 2009

Back to the past at the St. James

We stayed at two hotels, one was an upscale well known chain. Though it was very nice, it is pretty much the same in any city. The St. James was very unique, full of charm. All of the staff were friendly, cheerful and very helpful. The Bellman even had a "ghost story" for us, which added to the ambiance. It is a little rough around the edges, but has two great restraunts acrossw the street and next door. We are going to bring our kids and visit again. Hopefully the Deluxe or family type room is a little larger, but we were very comfortable and enjoyed outselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous 'Mothers' resaurant is right around the corner. It is a short walk to Canal St. There are two well known local favorite restraunts just steps away........Cuvee and BonTon.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
May 19, 2009

Good location, excellent service.

My wife and I went to New Orleans for a destination wedding. We went early (Wed) and stayed extra (Mon). The St. James was a couple of blocks from Canal St., the edge of the French Quarter. It was also an easy walk to the Riverwalk, Mother's restaurant, the St. Charles St. Streetcar, and the Quarter. The service was without equal, but the beds were a little lumpy and one of the sheets had a rip in it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mother's restaurant is a landmark, but expect the line to get in to be out the door and down the ramp.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chevy chase, md
Apr 11, 2011

Charm just outside of the quarter

Service was solid and the room charming and spacious

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
canada
Jun 13, 2011

Sweet hotel!

Great location to Canal St. Quiet, nicely decorated rooms. Hotel was not overly clean, toothpaste on the mirror, throw pillows were somewhat stained but for the price, location and quaintness of the hotel I would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bought a three day streetcar pass but only used the streetcar once to go to the garden district. Wouldn't buy it again.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ghpt
new york, ny
Mar 17, 2013

Great, no frills place

Great for a nice clean hotel that is about a 10 minute walk from the heart of the quarter. Amenities wise, there's free wireless internet, but no breakfast or a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, Texas
Mar 16, 2011

Value hotel

We had a good experience at the St. James. We are 24-27 year olds in town for a wedding, and our priorities were: cheap and in the French Quarter. The St. James met both of these. It wasn't an outstanding property, but it was the perfect place to crash after a long night of blues. The shower handle did break while we were there -- but the it still worked, and we weren't there to spend a long time in the room anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

skip Bourbon and go to Frenchman Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveltoonsbymp
Vancouver Canada
Jun 13, 2011

Great location!

We came to see the french quarters and experience New Orleans. The hotel was in the best location, close, safe and quiet. This is an older hotel with aging carpeting, but a fun travel theme and classy antique furniture. We chose a standard basic room as we wanted to spend our time visiting New Orleans. The room was very clean and quite spacious. The beds comfortable and the linen spotless. There were not enough towels but came on request. All in all all we were very pleased with the hotel and found it to be completely adequate for our needs. Staff was helpful and mostly friendly. We are however still laughing about the pool, which was the smallest we have ever experienced. Very refreshing though, after a long day of walking and visiting. But tiny! More of a fountain than a pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Muriel's in the french quarters. Great food and the restaurant is haunted!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Travalers
Spring Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Great Stay

Was just great staff could not be better or more helpfull the location was great would never think about staying any where else in New Orleans Great charm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search