$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Louisiana resident
Business
Shreveport, Louisiana
Feb 1, 2010

ROACH MOTEL!

Worst hotel experience ever! DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE...HOSTEL WOULD PROBABLY BE BETTER. [...] This was little better than a roach motel. No fitness center, no hot tub. When I closed the room door, discovered that you could see the hallway through a gap between the door and the moulding. Found a cigarette in our room (so room wasn't thoroughly cleaned after last guest), returned to room expecting nicely made beds and clean bathroom, but all we got was new towels. Refrigerator in room was missing. WORST OF ALL: WE DISCOVERED A ROACH SHARING THE ROOM WITH US AND WHEN WE CALLED THE FRONT DESK TO COME TAKE CARE OF IT, WE WERE TOLD WE WOULD HAVE TO WAIT AND ALSO THAT IT'S NOT UNUSUAL TO FIND BUGS IN THE SOUTH...GREAT, SO A ROACH MAY JUST CRAWL ACROSS MY FACE IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT AND THE HOTEL WON'T CONSIDER THIS ANYTHING UNUSUAL!!! [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wayland,Mass
Mar 2, 2011

Worst Hotel experience EVER

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. It was located on a block that did not feel very safe. There were several homeless people that were always hanging out. To begin with the room was tiny and not very clean. Pillows were stained and beds not comfortable. The pool was horrible. It was in a dark courtyard and it was very dirty. The walls were paper thin and we could hear everything in the next room including their alarm which went off at 5:00 AM and did not stop. The fire alarms went off three times. The first two occurred in the middle of the night. The third one was an actual wire on fire. When we called the front desk to see what was going on no one answered the phone. We then had to evacuate for a period of time again with no expanation. The room was not cleaned any of the days that we were there even after multiple requests to have it cleaned. WE requested a wake up call and did not receive it. When we repeatedly complained to the front desk he encouraged us to write to management since he agreed with all our complaints but management would do nothing. This experience was so disappointing. We had looked forward to this hotel based on the website and it was far different than promised. I would never consider staying in this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
the worst staff
Business
Spain
Nov 29, 2009

the treatment was very bad

We had reserved a special double room and gave us a single. We explained the reasons for change. We speak Spanish, French, German or Italian and they told us that only spoke English. We ask for complain form but they don´t give us it. We ask for the manager but they also refused. The worst experience I remember.Please excuse me, my English is very bad. I Call ahead for claims in this respect and [...] attended me excellentment

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
prisoner of zenda
Business
boston ma
Apr 19, 2011

Not what you want

We got in late, and were given room 302, which had no closet, no windows, only one of two in-room lamps working, and a bathroom with two of five lights working, although it did have a 45 inch big screen TV. On the way: there was only a dim bulb working in the elevator, which made all the spookier the blood-red stain in the carpet leading...to our room. There was a foul smell in the hall, which we learned later was a result of some unspecified "work" going on...blood removal? Maybe, since the stain was gone by the third day of our stay. On day two, the staff very efficiently and helpfully found us another room which had two windows, a closet, a much smaller TV (the big screen in 302 evidently a payback for the sucky room) and in fact the rest of the stay was pleasant enough. The guy on the desk actually went home to find us a corkscrew since a previous guest had absconded with the hotel's official corkscrew. The cleaning staff was not that interested in fixing minor flaws in our behavior, so every single thing of ours was untouched, and if that caused the room to look like debaucherie centrale, that wasn't their problem. Oh, by the way, part of the decision making process included the free internet and the swimming pool. The internet never worked, although I kind of gave up after one foray to talk to the guy at the desk, and the pool was outside, really small (my probably inaccurate guess: 16 feet by 6 feet by 3 feet deep), and had stuff floating in it. The accurate elements of the presentation: it was quiet, centrally located, the staff was friendly and helpful, the Ruby Slipper a block away was a great breakfast place, and the airport shuttle found us there and back...The coffee in the lobby was dark and robust in the morning, If you make sure not to book room 302 and ask if the elevator light has been replaced, you could do worse than the St.James. Now my wife has another view: she claims she'd stay in the gutter before going back to the Mello J., but I think that's a bit harsh.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Royal Ave has the best galleries. Stay away from Bourbon street, especially if you have kids. It's gotten grosser and grosser over time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
foley, alabama
May 2, 2011

jazz fest

We were there to see the jazz fest.room was old,it smelt . door to T.V. cabinet was broken ,bathroom door handle was broken and door didn't completely shut.noise level was incredible.Some burnt out bulbs coulkd have been replaced.two small towels and one hand wash towel in the bathroom !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

if you are very young, single and drink like fish this hotel is the place to crash and pass out after a night of heavy drinking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
wanderingjourno
Business
Brooklyn NY
Feb 27, 2010

Not as billed

The location is ok, but this place is really on it's last legs and the website is frankly, a con. It needs a complete overhaul in terms of decoration and service. The staff are friendly but clearly have been abandoned by their management. It is being run on a shoestring. They ran out of toothpaste and paper cups for coffee in the room. Whoever is in charge of supplies is a disgrace. The hotel could do so much better if more attention were paid to it and there was a reasonable investment made in its future. I will certainly not ever stay here again, and I love the small-hotel vibe of New Orleans.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MenesaK
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 5, 2011

BED BUGS - Buyer Beware!!!

Two words: BED BUGS. Large puss filled blisters have developed on my hands, thigh, back and arm. A trip to the Tulane University emergency room resulted in a diagnoses of cellulitis which ultimately lead to me having been prescribed antibiotics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
K B
Business
Marietta, GA
Nov 8, 2009

Look elsewhere

The restaurant is a jacket and tie place, just a heads up on that one. THE BAD: The "pool" is better described as a 5 x 12 child's pool and the area it is in smelt much like rotting garbage, put it this way I open the door looked laughed then inhaled through my nose and closed the door as fast as possible. The room had no ceiling fan so it gets stuffy very quickly. The windows could not be opened, they were nailed shut no help their. As for lighting in the room, you get a standing lamp on the switch and small desk light and medium lamp on the bed table, all with weak bulbs, so forget reading. As for the bath room the shower head is lower than usual caused us to duck when showering, and to make it worse the pressure was very low so it took longer, and to make it all worse the showers were warm at best for a few minutes then went to cold. I can also say this 2 of us left with sinus issues every time we left the room, and I only get agitated by long haired cats and the other is allergic to mold, so who knows what was getting us both. More importantly there is NO PROVIDED PARKING!!! with a few options park it your self somewhere of 15 or more dollars a night or the valet which takes your car 2 blocks away (I asked) and charges 25 dollars plus 3 dollars tax per 24 hours. As for the extra "BS" charges at check out a safe fee of 2.95 per night is added but not listed here! THE GOOD: Next visit to New Orleans ... new place no question about that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 10, 2010

Terrible Experience

We stayed at the St. James Hotel as it was rated a 4 star on [...]. The pictures depicted a very cozy and intimate setting.When we arrived at the hotel, parking was scarce and we waited about 15 minutes for the one reception attendant to finish with a previous guest. The elevator (singular) was not working and we had to wait for approximately half an hour for the same reception attendant to fix it while we looked at the algae infested pool, which was about the size of a bath tub. If you look at the St. James website it depicts two individuls sitting in what looks to be a hot tub, this is in fact the pool. Our room was very small, and not up to date. The shower was corroded, and there were rings in the tub. We had a King bed, which had dusty covers, and the pillowcases smelled like they had been left in the washer too long. Needless to say we spent very little time in our room, the location was relatively close to Bourbon Street, however seemed a little sketchy at night. I will say that the staff was very polite, and that the convenience of being in the heart of NO was great. For a few dollars more you are considerably better off staying at a major chain of hotels. I regret passing up on the JW Marriott and Sheraton at about the same price point for the idea of a quaint feeling. This hotel should be rated at no more than a 2.5 star, I would liken it to an old La Quinta hotel/motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bourbon Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tulane Law Student
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 28, 2010

Less than I expected

I will not stay at the St. James Hotel again. The place smelled of mold and dirt. There was an issue with towels. I continually had to ask for towels and was even told they won't have any until the morning. Also the air conditioner broke and our rooms never got cooler than 78 degrees. Can you believe that in New Orleans in summer. The pool actually looks like a pond. They should add fish to it. I wanted to try a quaint hotel but in the future I will stick with the national chains where I know the hotel will be clean and at least the air conditioner works. I felt as if they were having trouble staying in business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is close to the French Quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top