$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
399 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Riverwalk Marketplace: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Crescent City Brewhouse: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Musee Conti Wax Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Storyville: 0.7 mi
  • Folklife and Visitor Center: 0.8 mi
  • Louisiana Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • East Tennessee Historical Center: 1.3 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Amistad Research Center: 3.1 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • State Capital Publishing Museum: 4.2 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi
  • Six Flags New Orleans: 10.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (399)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmonc
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Aug 19, 2012

Loved St James Hotel!

This was our first time at St. James Hotel, and we loved it! We like all of the older hotels in New Orleans like Olivier House Hotel and St Peter House, so we had to try St James out! The staff was extremely accomodating and very friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor, so it had the coolest ceilings and just a cozy feel. We loved everything about our room! Complimentary coffee in the morning was a plus! Definitely will stay here again for the Crescent City Classic Spring of 2013!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper was a great breakfast joint 2 blocks from the hotel. About a 2 minute walk!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mississippi
May 25, 2009

quaint, large room, nice courtyard

great place for the night, our doggies were happy with the little courtyard outside our room too. Good location, excellent restaurant next door, CUVE and very helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

connected to the hotel by a hallway, Cuve is a wonderful example of the fine dining in New Orleans.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kandi Lynn
Norman, OK
May 20, 2011

We absolutely loved it! Great room!

We would do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twinslove Jade
Miami, Florida
Aug 7, 2011

First Timers

It was a great hotel. The front desk personal helped us with great customer service and assisted us with great locations to dine and visit. Thank you so much...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Charles
Jul 28, 2008

xmas in July

this was a very nice place for the price even if it was $10 cheaper at the hotel. I actually stayed an extra night because I was late for my flight leaving New Orleans. In walking distance to everything I needed. I was very pleased with the hotel and the staff was very helpful and friendly...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

I'm leagally blind but had no problem walking short distance to little shops, Saks, a couple nice restraunts, and Harrahs Casino was only a couple blocks away. I felt safe and comfortable.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Costal Carolina
Sep 15, 2010

Nice people

[...] at hotel desk was a pleasure to deal with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Twinslove Jade
Miami, Florida
Aug 7, 2011

First Timers

It was a great hotel. The front desk personal helped us with great customer service and assisted us with great locations to dine and visit. Thank you so much...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GeekBrit
Rochester, NY
Oct 20, 2010

Affordable & friendly, comfortable hotel

The staff were very approachable and informative. This is a friendly city and the experience starts from the minute you check in. The building is pure New Orleans with quaint stone paved courtyards, but the room was far larger (and cleaner) than a more expensive hotel I've stayed in within the French Quarter. The location is perfect - about ten minutes walk from the restaurants of the French Quarter, a little more to the waterfront, Basilica and the Bourbon Street craziness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Audubon Aquarium & Imax is closed on Mondays!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 17, 2007

great value

Great location and great value for the money. The pool was small, but I didnt go to New Orleans to swim in a hotel pool. The room was nice appointed, clean and the hotel staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to everything

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2009

great experience

siteseeing, pre-Mardi Gras events, birthday celebration

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

numerous great restaurants within walking distance

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
southern Wisconsin
Feb 14, 2010

Unbelievably nice experience!

The room was clean, well-decorated and all around nice. The bathroom was spotless. The staff was genuinely friendly at all levels. The hotel location was safe and was extremely close to the action. The price was very reasonable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top