$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 15, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
225 reviews
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 22, 2014

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Property features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Nearby attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Policies
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

★★★★★
$111
4.4 / 5 632 reviews
★★★
$79
3.5 / 5 57 reviews
★★★
$87
3.2 / 5 259 reviews
★★★★
$94
3.9 / 5 201 reviews
★★★★
$111
4.2 / 5 14 reviews
★★★
$66
3.8 / 5 44 reviews
★★★
$134
4.0 / 5 33 reviews

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 225
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jamie L.
Friends
Bolingbrook
Aug 19, 2015

Go Somewhere Else!

The room was small. Air conditioner didn't work. It was 85+ degrees in our room. No ceiling fan. Front desk said that they would bring us a box fan for the inconvenience, which was never brought up. The windows didn't open at all. Then they had the nerve to call my room at 1am, telling us to keep it down, right after I got off the phone with them about the heat issue. The pool looked like nothing more than a filthy green swamp, where everyone went to go smoke. The location is decent, but after walking the main strip, we found PLENTY of nicer places for even less money. DO NOT GO HERE!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat V.V.
Friends
New Jersey
Nov 4, 2013

perfect for a weekend in the quarter

friendly, small but clean, historic atmosphere, close to quarter (easy 2 block walk)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tricia 240
Friends
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Apr 13, 2013

Nice Location

Nice location and convient to almost all city activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenna noelle
Friends
denver, co
Mar 24, 2013

great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the st. Charles streetcar

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ghpt
Friends
new york, ny
Mar 17, 2013

Great, no frills place

Great for a nice clean hotel that is about a 10 minute walk from the heart of the quarter. Amenities wise, there's free wireless internet, but no breakfast or a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spring Travalers
Friends
Spring Texas
Feb 6, 2012

Great Stay

Was just great staff could not be better or more helpfull the location was great would never think about staying any where else in New Orleans Great charm

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Appenine
Friends
Bayside, Queens, NY 11361, USA
Jan 1, 2012

St James

The hotel was as picture on their website. Nothing outstanding about it. It was conveniently located in the Central Buisness Disrtict, about two blocks from Harrahs, 2 blocks from the French Quarter and 2 blocks from a couple of Trolly lines. There was no refreigerator in the room. The hotel coffee was good. I never went to the restaraunt. For what I needed it for, (a place to pass out and shower) it was more than adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Don't get completely caught up on Bourbon St. Many nice venues for great live entertainment exist off the beaten path within the Quarter and elsewheres.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
GJC3303
Friends
Lake Charles, LA, USA
Dec 7, 2011

Perfect Location. Friendly Staff.

I've stayed in New Orleans on numerous occasions, and I can't recall ever staying at a hotel with a better location. It's directly in the center, and mere blocks away, from: The French Quarter, Bourbon Street, The Mercedes-Benz Superdome, Harrah's, The Riverwalk, etc. The staff was wonderful. Like I said, I've been to NOLA several times, and this was the friendliest and most helpful staff, by far. Any questions that I had were answered knowledgeably and any request that I had was met quickly. I also have to add that I was very impressed with their valet service. I called 10 minutes before I walked down to check out, and when I arrived downstairs, my car was waiting on me. The previous time that I had traveled to New Orleans, I stayed at a hotel on Camp street (one block away), and when my boyfriend and I checked out, we had to wait over two hours for our car! This will always be the hotel that I stay at when I travel to New Orleans in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Palace Cafe on Canal Street is highly recommended. Great New Orleans cuisine. Wonderful environment.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jilly
Friends
Wisconsin, USA
Oct 29, 2011

GREAT HOTEL TO RELAX ON YOUR VACATION

Great location for anything you want to do. The hotel was old and charming. The best part was the staff, Hard working and on top of everything. The staff remembered your name and every morning would say hello and make you feel like you were at home. I would go back and tell my friends. thanks St, James for making my vacation great. Girl from Wisconsin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

look around for food. the best deals and the best food are the little diners that are small and unknown.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Amandah
Friends
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Condemn this Hotel

This hotel (if you want to call it that) needs to be bulldozed. Its absolutely horrific and its on the back end of Magazine street. So if you think your in a good location on Magazine street with all the shops your dead wrong. The counter when you check in is sticky, the place smells of mildew, mold, musty decay, and moth balls. You cant even save this trainwreck of hotel with repairs it just needs to be condemned. Run away from this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Frenchmen street and check out the true New Orleans night life and clubs. Dance with the locals of NOLA and experience some amazing live music.

Back to menu Return to top