$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 18, 2015 Check-out: Feb 20, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
229 reviews
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 23, 2014
Excellent and Charming

This is a great little hotel. clost to the Quarter, but away from the congestion and noise. the... See full review

  • Harry Q.
  • Dec 22, 2014
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
  • On-site parking (at cost)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Parking fee for a regular day is $34 USD plus tax per night, while parking fee for a day with special event is $45 USD plus tax per night.
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $50 USD. If the pet causes damage greater than $50 USD, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 USD per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (229)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 229
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noles Traveler
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Mar 4, 2014

Mardi Gras 2014

The hotel staff was excellent and very friendly! The location was great; walking distance to Canal St. and Bourbon St. Had a great time at Mardi Gras 2014 and would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fish Doctor
Business
Greensboro, AL
Feb 17, 2014

Great New Orleans Stay

Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. Hotel experience helped give us a very good overall experience while visiting New Orleans. We are already making plans to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Antique/ art section of the French quarter is really fun to walk through especially at night. Tons of police on the street. Never felt unsafe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mhaken
Business
New Orleans
Jan 13, 2014

Enjoyable

Friendly staff. Bathroom needs a deep clean. AC wasn't working properly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grandma from Arizona
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Oct 17, 2013

Enjoyable 1st trip to New Orleans

There were rats in the courtyard while I was sitting out there. We had no coffee cups or decaf coffee our 4th morning. There was an error on our bill that the desk person could not fix. Had to call my credit card company who contacted the hotel manager to have the bill corrected. The hotel staff was very friendly and got me extra clothes hangers when I asked for them. Coffee and water in the lobby was nice. The beds were very comfortable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Getting a cab was very easy and affordable. We stayed 5 days and only rented a car for 2 of them to drive out to see the plantations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lizzylou la femme fatale
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 21, 2013

Rebecca was the best!

The hotel was in a great spot downtown, very near the french quarter making walking back and forth several times a day easy. Our room was nice, a little dark, but no big deal because we really went to New Orleans to see New Orleans and not hangout in our hotel room. With that said, however, each day after walking or biking around till 5 or so, we headed back to the hotel for a few drinks (we made ourselves with supplies picked up from the corner store) in the hotel's outside area and chatted with another couple staying at the hotel, and it was very pleasant. The real shiner was Rebecca, the front desk attendant that greeted us the day we arrived, and whom we saw everyday when we came back. Rebecca was super helpful, funny, and great spirited making our initial encounter with someone from New Orleans very memorable. Hats off to her!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KingJamsI
Business
New Paltz, NY
Mar 18, 2013

Great Hotel, Great Location

I was a bit let down when we first got to St. James Hotel... The descriptions and pictures gave the impression that this was a unique, funky and different hotel. I guess due to renovations, the hotel now looks pretty much like any hotel... No interesting voodoo portals or West Indian influences so far as I could see. That said, everything was clean, staff was helpful and pleasant, and the location is fantastic if you are trying to be on that part of town. Never did find the standing pool they spoke of though..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmonc
Business
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Aug 19, 2012

Loved St James Hotel!

This was our first time at St. James Hotel, and we loved it! We like all of the older hotels in New Orleans like Olivier House Hotel and St Peter House, so we had to try St James out! The staff was extremely accomodating and very friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor, so it had the coolest ceilings and just a cozy feel. We loved everything about our room! Complimentary coffee in the morning was a plus! Definitely will stay here again for the Crescent City Classic Spring of 2013!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper was a great breakfast joint 2 blocks from the hotel. About a 2 minute walk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jaime R
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 17, 2012

Weekend getaway

Overall I think that the quality of the hotel was very average. The two big downers for me related to the hotel were the parking situation where you had to either pay $35 a day to park with the hotel or try to find the difficult task of finding parking the street and the lack of a pool at the hotel. The location was good enough to make it to the french quater and casino in about 5 mins of walking and along with the pricing of the hotel it made up for the lack of amenities of the hotel. This hotel will do if you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel within walking distance of all the main attractions but don't expect to be impressed with the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TinaandRichard
Business
Mobile, AL
Jul 5, 2012

Overnight get away

About 3 blocks (a little further than I thought) from French quarter. Great, clean room and very dark in the morning with drapes closed (got to sleep in a bit). Entire experience and value was worth it. Hate that valet is over $30 but car was well taken care of. Will definitely go back! Great experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food and music very close by at Riverwalk, French Market & French quarter-Perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Izzy peanut
Business
Prairieville, LA
Jul 3, 2012

You pay for what you didn't get

The first room the AC didn't work. They moved us to another one, AC worked excellently, but had no window. That was good for us we were able to sleep in. Park around the block, it is much cheaper than paying almost $40 a night. Staff amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

On Decatur st. There is a 4 star Restaurant, Star Steak and Lobster. Excellent food for breakfast lunch and dinner. Price was even better.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top