$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
230 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (230)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 230
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BNMNW
Business
Baltimore, MD
Apr 4, 2014

Good Job

Very friendly staff, large room, clean bathroom and great cup of coffee with their complimentary continental breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
intowntraveler
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 22, 2013

Nice Enough Hotel

The staff were friendly enough but this hotel offers very little in the way of amenities. There is not a crumb of food available on premises - not even a vending machine. I was unprepared for the rain we had one day and asked if there was an umbrella I could borrow, no (not holding it against them just saying don't expect much in the way of services). The room was kept nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The curtains shut fully at night and I was able to get a really good night's sleep each night. The decor is a little dated. The nightstands and furniture a little bit dingy and older but not the worst I have seen. The location was very good and convenient to everything I need to do while there for a conference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just half a block up the street is the Ruby Slippers cafe. Had fantastic brunch here and highly recommend

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A couple travelers
Business
California
Apr 22, 2013

Business Trip

My stay was quite comfortable, but the carpet had a large dark red stain in the middle of the floor that was somewhat disturbing. I put a towel over it each day I was there so I wouldn't feel like I was staying in a crime scene. However, the front desk staff were nice and the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper cafe is one block away and is great for breakfast. Noisy and busy, but good food and service.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lalo76
Business
Miami
Jul 27, 2012

Old building

The hotel seems to be very old, worn carpets, smell to humidity. There is no fitness center. The amenities in general are poor or even missing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pawrow
Business
Berlin, CT
May 18, 2012

New Orleans: Friendly City

It was a pleasant hotel and staff were helpful and friendly...I loved the service and food at the restaurant next to the hotel (they were really great... they anticipated every need...before you asked : water, bread etc..) you felt like Queen for the day...The desk person highly recommended the restaurant and Iwas grateful for the great dining experience...THE WORLD WAR 2 MUSEUM and film is a must see...I walked too much the first day... it would have been better to take the trolley (several available)...the next day I could barely walk and missed some programs at the RE convention ...Great food...friendly ,helpful people

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

World War 2 Museum...take the trolley...the exhibits are very well thought out ...the film across the street is very impressive...you could comfortably spend 4 hours...the day I was there they had several musical groups performing ( inspiring )...

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
von hauser
Business
salt lake city
Apr 10, 2012

location was great-walking to anywhere

hotel was great. but the valet parking stole my brand new phone. the hotel made no effort to recover it. that speaks "volumes" about integrity or lack of

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Austin Business Traveler
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Local charm minus the charm

I've stayed in this hotel twice now because it's two blocks from my company headquarters in the Central Business District, and because I like to try to support independent local businesses. I won't stay here again, though, until they improve the experience. On the positive, sheets and towels have been fresh and clean. But on the negative, they give only 1 bar of soap and a sample packet of Fructis shampoo/conditioner. On this last trip the hallway and room smelled like something had flooded and was not quite dry, and had been doused with a cheap deodorizer. The desk clerk seemed unhappy to be there. This building and location has a lot of potential. I hope the owners and management can give it the charm it deserves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikkirs
Business
Seattle, WA
Jun 9, 2011

Enjoyed my stay

I was in New Orleans to attend a national conference. St James Hotel was very reasonably priced (when compared the conference hotels) and was within walking distance of the Convention Center. The hotel is also close to the French Quarter and the River Walk. I like small hotels, so this hotel suited me. I didn't spend much time in the hotel (who would when you're in New Orleans), but I found the Hotel staff very customer friendly and helpful. I did miss having a refrigerator in the room. I couln't really bring home leftovers. I'd stay again at St James.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

French Quarter only a couple of blocks away.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern Maine
Jun 7, 2011

Boutique Hotel

This is a charming small hotel in a historic building just a short walk from the French Quarter. The room was spacious and the decor was both attractive and fun. There were two court yards and one had a small "lounging" pool. June 2011 they are opening an onsite restaurant with additional court yard space. The staff was terrific, the rates were very reasonable, and I had a wonderful time. Tim D. from Maine

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mr. B's Bistro on Royal has great food and atmosphere. The Beignet Cafe also on Royal offers fun and tasty breakfast and lunch options. For budget minded food options try Popeye's and Arby's on Canal just a few blocks from the St. James. Bon appetite!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B from Midpac
Business
Honolulu, HI
May 24, 2011

Centrally Located and Comfortable

I attended a conference that was within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel was centrally located and convenient. The room lighting could be improved as well as the amenities. Same class hotels at other destinations were a bit better in terms of amenities and lighting and equally good in terms of location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make reservations in advance. Select a restaurant where you can have leisurely dining

Back to menu Return to top

Change search