$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 4, 2015 Check-out: Jun 5, 2015

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

4 stars
View map of 330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
236 out of 236
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jenna noelle
denver, co
Mar 24, 2013

great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from the st. Charles streetcar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lincoln48
Business
Pinehurst, NC, USA
Aug 31, 2011

good value,nice location

excellent value, 2 blocks to french quarter, happy with hotel. ac not working in 1st room, was moved to another, staff helpful. would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davidmad1
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 21, 2010

Nice, clean, minimal amenities.

Arrived to check in and there is no parking. Across the street for $15 a night, or use hotel valet, for $25. Check was quick and easy, no wait. The room was clean, but the only view I had was of the partnering building about 15 ft away. Clean, quiet. Would have liked to see the price a little lower. But over all a decent experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to Bourban street if you must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bufflo52
Business
massachusetts
Aug 31, 2011

New Orleans is supposed to be cool

Tthe city is......the St. James not so much. AC is locked at 75 degees. You cannot override the thermostat. Walking into the room after being out for a couple hours is walking into a hot stuffy room. The room is pleasantly decorated, but not necessarily squeaky clean......the corners in the bathroom had a ditreous buildup that should be taken care of with a little attention to detail. Our room was separated from the main hotel by a pleasant appearing courtyard, but the courtyard smelled of rotting garbage from the adjacent restaurant. The odor is not constant but it it could be a problem for those with sensitive olfactory tendencies. It is not to say the place is all that bad. We would stay there again....it does have it's charm. It is affordable, close to the French Q uarter, Harrad's, and the Riverwalk. . The staff is great. They are friendly and helpful. All in all it was. A fun long weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Jul 21, 2010

Hotel Stay for 1 night

The experience was fine. Like everyone says, the whole "hidden fees" aren't really so hidden, but they are at the same time. If you want your car parked with them, they charge you 28 dollars a night. Plus they add on the 2.96+4.95 for services you won't use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

As soon as you get to bourbon from this hotel(by hustler hollywood), DO NOT stop walking, crackheads will try to clean your shoes then charge 60 bucks for it. Just keep walking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACC cardio
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 5, 2011

average experience

I went there for a conference, in general its ok, service kinda of slow and "may forget to clean the room' kinda of service! I would go there again since I prefer 5 star hotels for my short stays. its kinda of cute, french style but probably wouldnot stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeril's...excelnt restaurent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 14, 2011

Nice location building for reasonable $

Nice room. Friendly personnel. My only complaints are the air conditioned system that did not work well and noise from people speaking outside that woke me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many places to eat at walk distance: two blocks from the French quarter.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Charles, LA
Apr 25, 2011

It was great!!

Location was great! We walked a few blocks to the quarter and had dinner and cocktails!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The House of Blues is a short walk from the hotel. Great food and good music!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Solitary business class
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 19, 2010

Walking distance to everything

Very simply, it was clean and comfortable. No frills, but I didn't need them. The French Quarter is a short walk, as are the Riverwalk and Convention Center, and there are plenty of food choices close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lykacory
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 2, 2011

Mixes feeling on the St. James Hotel

I would recommend the St. James to travelors if they get a good deal. If not, probably go elsewhere. The room was small, the safe didn't work, the shower flooded the bathroom everytime we took a shower, the maid service was not great. (She only came twice in our 4 day stay) not enough towels (especially with the flooding) and we found a few cockroaches. The dipping pool is kinda dirty. I wouldnt get it in. But on the bright side, the staff was really nice. And really, in New Orleans we just needed a place to crash.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Huck Finns had GREAT food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 2, 2011

Great minus the smell

The St. James has a great location, and the set up for the rooms are awesome. However, our room smelled like someone died in there, or that it hadn't been aired out in forever. The clock was an hour wrong too, so we figured maybe no one HAD been in the room since Daylight Savings kicked in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top