$121 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2014 Check-out: Sep 10, 2014

St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
330 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2425
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
227 reviews
I've found my New Orleans Homebase

I travel quite a bit, and like smaller, boutique hotels. I found the St. James location to be... See full review

  • Debzilla
  • Feb 14, 2014
great place

Close to transportation, nice inside, helpful staff, will definitely go again! See full review

  • jenna noelle
  • Mar 24, 2013
Downtown boutique hotel celebrates West Indian spirit in Creole City

The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, honors the legend of West Indian immigrant and merchant, Che, who died in 1851 near the hotel. The portal opened by voodoo priestesses to guide his spirit to the Caribbean is said to have helped Civil War soldiers enter death peacefully. The St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, harkens to its Caribbean roots with elegant West Indian decor, brick and stone work, ornate iron work and lush plantings. Every room at this boutique hotel is slightly different.

Highlights
  • Boutique hotel with West Indian flair
  • Dipping pool and courtyard
  • Pet friendly up to 30 pounds (fees apply)
Rooms

All 86 rooms and suites are comfortably outfitted with down feather beds and the usual array of in-room perks such as safes, coffee makers and hair dryers. What is not usual is the decor and room layout.  Rooms vary in shape and design with Caribbean details such as painted designs of monkeys, parrots and palm trees.  Marble baths and a cozy feel remind visitors why they chose a small, privately owned hotel over a chain. A pool and fourth floor sun terrace add appeal.

Features

New Orleans Magazine says Cuvee is among the best restaurants in town. The on-site restaurant boasts an impressive wine list and serves nouveau Creole and continental cuisine. A cavernous dining room is warmed by handiwork in wood, leather and iron. Lunch is served Monday to Friday, dinner Monday to Saturday. The hotel will help to arrange local tours.

Transportation
  • Louis Armstrong New Orleans International Airport (12 miles)
Attractions
  • Bourbon  & Royal streets
  • ·French Quarter
  • Harrah's Casino
  • Riverwalk
Business
  • Two phones in each room
  • Wi-Fi (fees apply)
  • Same day valet laundry service

 

Policies and Fees
  • Pets allowed with a one-time, non-refundable deep cleaning fee of $ 50. If the pet causes damage greater than $50, the guest is liable for replacement or repair.
  • Must be 21 years of age to purchase a room.
  • Children under 12 stay free with adult.
  • The hotel requires a valid I.D. and credit card at time of check-in. A hold may be placed on the credit card to cover the security deposit and incidental charges.
  • There is a $4.95 per day fee for unlimited local and long distance calls within the U.S. and wireless Internet.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

29.9502 -90.0677
Nearby airports
New Orleans Int'l Airport, (MSY), 12.10, MI, W; Lakefront Airport, (NEW), 8.70, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I10 Exi253B/243B

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Multilingual
FAX
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • New Orleans School of Glass Works: 0.1 mi
  • Entergy IMAX Theater: 0.3 mi
  • Outlet Collection at the Riverwalk: 0.3 mi
  • Aquarium of The Americas: 0.3 mi
  • Louisiana State Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Contemporary Arts Center: 0.5 mi
  • Jackson Square: 0.6 mi
  • Preservation Hall: 0.6 mi
  • Bourbon Street: 0.6 mi
  • New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Mercedes Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • Mercedes-Benz Superdome: 0.8 mi
  • New Orleans Arena: 0.9 mi
  • Algiers Point: 1.1 mi
  • Port of New Orleans: 1.1 mi
  • American Aquatic Gardens: 1.2 mi
  • Bywater Historic District: 2.3 mi
  • Sydney & Walda Besthoff Sculpture Garden: 2.9 mi
  • New Orleans Museum of Art: 3 mi
  • Carousel Gardens: 3.5 mi
  • Riverbend: 3.6 mi
  • City Park New Orleans: 3.9 mi
  • Audubon Zoo: 4.3 mi
  • Lakefront Arena: 5.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tmonc
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Aug 19, 2012

Loved St James Hotel!

This was our first time at St. James Hotel, and we loved it! We like all of the older hotels in New Orleans like Olivier House Hotel and St Peter House, so we had to try St James out! The staff was extremely accomodating and very friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor, so it had the coolest ceilings and just a cozy feel. We loved everything about our room! Complimentary coffee in the morning was a plus! Definitely will stay here again for the Crescent City Classic Spring of 2013!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Ruby Slipper was a great breakfast joint 2 blocks from the hotel. About a 2 minute walk!

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gulf Coast traveler
Business
Florida Panhandle
Jun 25, 2010

Mixed Bag

The location of the St. James was great for both the business and leisure locations of NOLA. The evening staff was friendly and helpful. The morning staff was markedly unfriendly. Air conditioning was not adequate for NOLA in the summer; also, the a/c vent in the bathroom leaked continuously. Dollar for dollar value was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liana22370
Montrose, NY
Mar 24, 2011

Great Location

St. James Hotel was 2 blocks out of the French Quarter, which made it perfect... close enough to all the action, yet far enough away for a quiet night sleep! Everything was in a short walking distance, the casino was 2 blocks away, as was the Streetcar Lines. I would have liked a mini fridge in the room to keep drinks in and to my disappointment, there was only a pedestal sink in the bathroom and no shelving to put your toiletries. Other than that, I had no other complaints about the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The St. James Hotel is a short walk from everything you want to do and see in New Orleans.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 25, 2010

St. James

First off, the front desk informed me that I should have booked through them directly since their standard room rate is 40% less when you do that. [...] Annoying. Also found a cockroach and there was one small lamp that lit up the room. Lucky for us we didn't spend a lot of time at the hotel. I will not visit this hotel again nor [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the quarter but the area is technically the Warehouse District.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AB- Illinois
Chicago, IL
May 19, 2009

Quiet, off the beaten path

The St. James is a quiet hotel, but almost too much so. Close to everything, but not close enough to get a bite to eat for breakfast. Rooms well appointed, but not as clean as others I have stayed in recently. Would like to have had a computer in the lobby to check emails, etc. as we didn't want to bring our own laptop. A good value when combined with the car and flight, but probably won't be back,will try for a larger hotel instead. The pool is sized for koi, not people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

New Orleans is home to fantastic evening dining, but to get a quick bite for breakfast it is a very long walk.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Apr 23, 2009

Nice hotel, good location

We paid for an up-grade in room. Reception said they did not have more rooms and that they did not guaranty the up-grade that it was Orbitz responsibility. It wasn't nice since it was our 1 year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

To have a great experience take a traveler book with you.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joigurl[@]
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 7, 2009

Great room, few amentities

The hotel was quaint, very quiet and conveniently located within walking distance of the Superdome, Convention Center and French Quarters. The staff was friendly and helpful. We did notice that a bit more thorough cleaning was needed as there was hair and dust that aggravated one of our party's allergies. Also, no refrigerator in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look into dining facilities before arriving.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ACC cardio
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 5, 2011

average experience

I went there for a conference, in general its ok, service kinda of slow and "may forget to clean the room' kinda of service! I would go there again since I prefer 5 star hotels for my short stays. its kinda of cute, french style but probably wouldnot stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emeril's...excelnt restaurent

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maria Aria
Austin, TX
Dec 13, 2009

Not a 4 Star hotel.

I guess I need to move up to lower end 5 star hotels to get what I think of as true 4 star quality. I chose the hotel for it's historic nature [...]; I expected some pride in ownership. There was a ceramic dish in the bathroom with a broken lid and hair in it. There was hair on the tub. There weren't enough hangers. We asked to get a cab and were told it would be an hour. Good hotels have cabs available for their guests. The room we were given did have a private balconey but the planters were full of cigarette butts. I won't be staying at the St. James again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rook
Forsyth
Oct 2, 2011

Close enough to everything

We decided on this because of location, which was perfect, like a short walk to everything and far enough away that you can park your car across the street and not let the valet take it somewhere else. The room was decent, old building, it worked with what it had. The staff was very knowledgable of the area, and also gave you details of where to avoid. Believe me, you will need this info!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take plenty of cash. Everything on Bourbon St is cash only. This place is like a carnival, with no open container law.

Review of St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lake Charles, LA
Apr 25, 2011

It was great!!

Location was great! We walked a few blocks to the quarter and had dinner and cocktails!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The House of Blues is a short walk from the hotel. Great food and good music!!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search